Language obligations

Page 4 of 14

When the Government of Canada grants funding to a non-governmental organization for an event where the two official language communities are brought together, it must comply with Parts IV and VII of the Official Languages Act by ensuring that agreements governing its funding clearly describe the language obligations of the recipient organization. These obligations cover areas such as communications with and services to the public and the promotion of linguistic duality.

Under the terms of Part IV of the Act, members of the public have the right to obtain services from the federal government in the official language of their choice. These services must be of equal quality in both official languages, in terms of access to the service as well as content, regardless of whether the person chooses to use English or French.

To ensure that members of the public feel comfortable using the official language of their choice, there must be an active offer of services in both languages, either verbally (“Hello, bonjour,” for example) or visually (through pictograms or bilingual posters).

Part VII of the Act sets out federal institutions’ obligation to enhance the vitality and support the development of official language minority communities and to foster the full recognition and use of both English and French in Canadian society. In the context of major national and international sporting events, this responsibility implies that cultural and artistic performances will fully reflect the country’s linguistic duality by showcasing Canada’s two official languages as well as both official language communities, English- and French-speaking.



Previous Page | Table of Contents | Next Page

L’origine des obligations linguistiques

Page 4 de 14

Quand le gouvernement du Canada accorde une contribution à un organisme non gouvernemental pour un événement qui rassemble les deux collectivités de langue officielle, il doit, pour se conformer aux parties IV et VII de la Loi sur les langues officielles, s’assurer de décrire clairement, dans les ententes encadrant sa contribution, les obligations linguistiques de l’organisme bénéficiaire. Ces obligations ont trait aux services et aux communications avec le public, de même qu’à la promotion de la dualité linguistique.

Selon la partie IV de la Loi, le public a le droit de recevoir du gouvernement fédéral des services dans la langue officielle de son choix. Ces services doivent être de qualité égale dans les deux langues officielles, sur les plans tant de l’accès au service que du contenu, peu importe si la personne choisit d’utiliser le français ou l’anglais.

Pour que les membres du public se sentent à l’aise d’employer la langue officielle de leur choix, les services doivent être offerts activement dans les deux langues, que ce soit au moyen d’interactions verbales (« Bonjour, hello », par exemple) ou d’indications visuelles (grâce à des pictogrammes ou des affiches bilingues notamment).

Par ailleurs, la partie VII de la Loi établit l’obligation des institutions fédérales d’appuyer le développement et l’épanouissement des communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire, et de promouvoir la pleine reconnaissance et l’usage du français et de l’anglais dans la société canadienne. Dans le contexte d’événements sportifs d’envergure nationale et internationale, cette responsabilité suppose, notamment, que les manifestations culturelles et artistiques reflèteront pleinement la dualité linguistique du pays en mettant en valeur les deux langues officielles du Canada ainsi que les deux communautés de langue officielle, francophone et anglophone.



Page précédente | Table des matières | Page suivante