ARCHIVED - Environment Canada 2007-2008

WarningThe Standard on Web Usability replaces this content. This content is archived because Common Look and Feel 2.0 Standards have been rescinded.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

 Report Card 2007–2008
Environment Canada

Factors and Criteria

Summary of Substantiating Data

Rating

Management (15%)

(a) An accountability framework, an action plan and accountability mechanisms are in place (5%)

Environment Canada’s Management Committee approved Guiding Principles on the Roles and Responsibilities concerning the Official Languages Act (the Act) in September 2007. This document outlines the roles and responsibilities regarding official languages (OL) and helps clarify accountabilities. It is complemented with the department’s Official Languages Management Framework, which also sets out a series of roles and responsibilities, and additionally prescribes how the obligations under Parts IV, V, VI and VII of the Act are to be fulfilled.

In January 2006, the Management Committee approved the Department’s OL Strategy and Action Plan. However, during the next fifteen months, the Department underwent an important transformation, with significant organizational changes, a results-based management system, and changes to more than half of the Executive Management Committee. The Department created the Official Languages Champions network to update and implement the Strategy and Action Plan. While the Action Plan is still valid, the updated version will better reflect the new horizontal structure, the coordination mechanisms, the manner in which those in charge are held accountable, and amendments to the Act. The Committee expects to complete the Strategy in the next fiscal year so that it will be truly strategic, attainable, practical and properly communicated. The Action Plan includes objectives, describes activities, sets deadlines, identifies those in charge and establishes the appropriate performance indicators.

The Department takes the Action Plan’s objectives into account in its annual report to the Canada Public Service Agency (CPSA) and during discussions with the Executive Management Committee.

A

(b) Visibility of official languages in the organization (5%)

Neither the Departmental Performance Report nor the Report on Plans and Priorities make mention of OL. According to the 2007–08 to 2009–10 Departmental Audit and Evaluation Plan, an internal audit will be conducted in 2008–09 on compliance with the Treasury Board’s Official Languages Policy. The importance accorded to OL by the Department can be seen in its new, results-based management structure, as well as in its creation of results management teams.

Several discussions regarding OL have been held in the past year by the Executive Management Committee. More specifically, the new guiding principles on roles and responsibilities, as well as Part VII of the Act were discussed, along with issues surrounding language of work. In addition, the project on bilingualism within the horizontal results-management structure was presented to senior management in January and February of 2007. This structure involves outcome-focused project teams comprising members and leads from the NCR and the regions.

Environment Canada has identified three members of the Executive Management Committee as champions for the implementation of the Official Languages Act. They are an assistant deputy minister and a regional director general, co-champions responsible for Parts IV, V, and VI, and an associate assistant deputy minister, responsible for Part VII.

In 2007, a new OL Champions Network composed of EC managers from all regions was created. The network collaborates in updating and preparing an action plan relative to the various parts of the Act to enhance the organization’s linguistic agenda. It coordinates the implementation of the initiatives coming under Parts IV, V, VI and VII of the Act.

B

(c) Complaints and follow-up (5%)

The Senior Departmental OL Advisor within the Human Resources Branch, with the assistance of the HR/OL Coordinators Network, handles all OL-related complaints, while the appropriate managers help develop lasting solutions. The ADM responsible for the point of service involved is kept informed of the outcome of the complaints. Complaints are discussed during departmental HR/OL Coordinators Network meetings to provide information and follow-up, and to prevent similar problems from recurring.

B

Subtotal:

B

Service to the public — Part IV (25%)

(a) Bilingual services advertised to the public and sufficient bilingual staff (3%)

Environment Canada informs the public and official language minority communities (OLMCs) of its points of service by publishing them in Burolis. Examples of such services include toll-free and recorded weather forecast telephone services as well as services available in person, on site. In addition, Environment Canada advertises bilingual telephone services in the blue pages of the local directories. Significant changes at offices serving the public are advertised or notices are posted online.

A total of 93% of employees in bilingual positions serving the public meet the language requirements of their position (Source: Position and Classification Information System [PCIS], March 31, 2007).

OCOL conducted an audit on services to the public provided in both official languages through the automated telephone system of Meteorological Services Canada. The audit was held between June and October of 2007.

B

(b) Observations on active offer and service delivery
(15%)

According to observations of in-person service made by OCOL between mid-June and mid-July 2007, an active visual offer was present in 89% of cases, and an active offer by staff was made in 13% of cases, while service in the language of the linguistic minority was adequate in 65% of cases.

According to observations of service on the telephone made by OCOL between mid-June and mid-July 2007, an active offer by staff or by an automated system was made in 49% of cases, while service in the language of the linguistic minority was adequate in 64% of cases.

E

(c) The service agreements delivered by third parties or in partnership provide for the delivery of bilingual services (2%)

Environment Canada’s Departmental Guideline on Service to the Public states that provisions regarding linguistic obligations for service to the public must be included in agreements signed by third parties on behalf of the Department. The Guideline also stipulates that review mechanisms must be in place to ensure that this commitment is fulfilled. Service contracts and partnership agreements are drafted using a template that includes a standard clause providing for the delivery of bilingual services where required. The manager responsible for the contract or agreement is also responsible for identifying the relevant OL requirements and ensuring quality control.

B

(d) Policy on service to the public and bilingual services quality monitoring (5%)

The Guideline on Service to the Public addresses all the obligations related to the subject, including active offer, signage, use of the media, national and international events and Web sites. The Guideline is available to all personnel through the Department’s national intranet site. Inquiries from managers provide the Human Resources Branch with an opportunity to inform them of their obligations. The HR Branch plans to review the Guideline over the coming months, along with other policy instruments, with a view to updating them and making them more user-friendly.

Managers are informed of upcoming OCOL audits and are reminded of their official languages responsibilities. HR also provides advice when corrective measures are required. Over the past year, the HR Branch completed its annual review and update of Burolis in order to ensure its accuracy.

C

Subtotal: 

D

Language of work — Part V (25%)

(a) Language of work policy and adequate bilingual supervision (12.5%)

The Department uses the CPSA’s Policy on the Language of Work. This policy is complemented by sections of the OL Management Framework dealing with language of work.

The Department adopted a policy on learning in 2007 that reiterates entitlement to second-language training. The current departmental directive on access to language training for career development purposes is under review. 

Environment Canada has widened access to internal translation, brokering and editing services.

A series of reference tools developed to assist managers in conducting bilingual meetings was published during the summer of 2007. These include a “Bilingual Meetings Reminder,” a “Checklist for Chairs,” a “Checklist for all Participants.” a document titled “Suggested wording for the Chair” and another titled “Conducting a Meeting in both Official Languages,” which is to be used by horizontal teams.

All of these tools are available on the Intranet site and are therefore easily available to all managers and employees.

In total, 87% of senior management and 93% of supervisors in bilingual positions in bilingual regions meet the language requirements of their position (Source: PCIS, March 31, 2007).

B

(b) Use of each official language in the workplace (12.5%)

The Deputy Minister and the OL Champion, through various communications, informed EC employees about OL issues, including language of work. For example, on July 18, 2007, the Deputy Minister and Associate Deputy Minister wrote to members of the Leadership Management Council and National Team Leads in order to seek their cooperation in helping the Department achieve better results in meeting its obligations under the Act. In particular, they informed the members of actions being taken in response to the OCOL report card, such as promoting the use of the tools on the conduct of bilingual meetings within their respective programs, and by doing so, set an example. In addition, members were asked to encourage their employees to prepare any briefing notes addressed to senior management in the official language of their choice. 

Also, on August 1, 2007, the Official Languages Champion wrote to senior managers reminding them of the importance of promoting linguistic duality and encouraging them to assist the Department in this area as part of their leadership role. She also encouraged anyone interested to join the new Departmental Champions Network. 

Executive Management Committee meetings take place in both OL.

The Department sees complaints as a driving force for change and seizes opportunities to take action in situations where the language of work issue is neglected.

The survey conducted by Statistics Canada on behalf of OCOL showed that overall, 65% of Francophone respondents in the National Capital Region (NCR), New Brunswick and bilingual regions of Ontario "strongly agreed" or "mostly agreed" with the language of work regime. In Quebec, 85% of Anglophone respondents "strongly agreed" or "mostly agreed" with the language of work regime.

C

Subtotal: 

C

Equitable participation — Part VI (10%)

(a) Percentage of Francophone participation throughout Canada (5%)

Overall, the workforce is 29.6% Francophone (Source: PCIS, March 31, 2007).

A

(b) Percentage of Anglophone participation in Quebec (5%)

In Quebec, the workforce is 10.6% Anglophone (Source: PCIS, March 31, 2007).

A

Subtotal: 

A

Development of official language minority communities and promotion of linguistic duality — Part VII (25%)

The OL Management Framework, which will be reviewed, sets out the Department’s commitment to enhancing the vitality of OLMCs and to promoting linguistic duality within the Department’s planning process.

The OL Champions network, set up in 2007, is developing an action plan supporting the development of regional OLMCs and promoting linguistic duality.

In 2007, a pilot project was launched by the Atlantic region based on an initiative brought forward by the Fédération acadienne de la Nouvelle-Écosse (FANE), which is developing a new theme around the environment and sustainable development. The main focus at this time is education and engagement/outreach. As part of this pilot project, the Department has identified a contact person to liaise with the OLMCs, and is considering other initiatives, including collaboration with Canadian Heritage. Meetings were held with representatives of various OLMCs in Nova Scotia regarding establishing initial contact, exploring the needs of the groups and brainstorming on possibilities for collaboration. Following a meeting with Canadian Heritage to explore funding and collaboration options for OLMC environmental groups, an EC Atlantic representative was invited to sit on the Nova Scotia Federal Council Official Languages Sub-Committee (NSFEDC OL). A network was also established within EC Atlantic to look into initiatives the Department could undertake to better respond to the needs of OLMCs and promote linguistic duality. It is expected that as a result of this pilot project, other regions will benefit from lessons learned.

Issues concerning enhancement of the vitality of OLMCs and the promotion of linguistic duality, including the approval of the new Guiding Principles on the Roles and Responsibilities for Environment Canada were discussed in September 2007 and subsequently approved by the Executive Management Committee.

Treasury Board submissions are reviewed by the Human Resources Branch with regards to the Department’s OL obligations.

The Department has reviewed its programs and activities that have an impact on official languages minorities, and as a result, is developing an integral OL action plan.

 

(a) Development of official language minority communities (12.5%)

Positive measures were taken by Environment Canada’s Atlantic Region to support the development of OLMCs. As part of its pilot project, a program officer was assigned to liaise with the FANE and the Centre de ressources de la Baie Ste-Marie (CRBSM) in Meteghan, N.S. In addition, an Education and Engagement Program Officer provided advice to the group, educational resources and tools, and an EcoAction Program Officer provided additional support to the group in preparing its EcoAction funding proposals.

In addition, bilingual EC Atlantic representatives attended the Nova Scotia Science Teachers’ Conference held in Halifax in late October as part of its Education and Engagement/Outreach initiatives designed to actively offer advice and teaching resources in French.

B

(b) Promotion of linguistic duality 12.5%)

Positive measures put in place in the Atlantic region include distribution of two OLMC newspapers to EC Atlantic staffthroughout the region to raise awareness of linguistic minority issues.

Staff is informed about the Jeux de l’Acadie to be held June 27 to July 1, and is encouraged to get involved by volunteering at the event. Other initiatives are also being considered by the OL Network in support of the games.

Representatives of EC Atlantic also planned to do a site visit to the Centre de ressources de la Baie Ste-Marie, one of their OLMC partners, but winter storms interfered with the plans. A visit is likely to take place in the new year

C

Subtotal:  

B

OVERALL RATING

C

ARCHIVÉE - Environnement Canada 2007-2008

AvertissementLa Norme sur la facilité d'emploi des sites Web remplace ce contenu. Cette page Web a été archivée parce que les Normes sur la normalisation des sites Internet 2.0 ont étés annulées.

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Bulletin de rendement 2007-2008
Environnement Canada

Facteurs et critères

Résumé des données justificatives

Note

Gestion (15 %)

a) Un cadre de responsabilisation, un plan d’action et des mécanismes de reddition de comptes sont en place (5 %)

Le Comité de gestion d’Environnement Canada a approuvé les principes directeurs sur les rôles et responsabilités à l’égard de la Loi sur les langues officielles (la Loi) en septembre 2007. Ce document décrit les rôles et responsabilités en matière de langues officielles (LO) et clarifie la reddition de comptes. Il est complété par le Cadre de gestion des langues officielles du Ministère, qui énonce les rôles et responsabilités, en plus de préciser les modalités d’exécution des obligations prévues aux parties IV, V, VI et VII de la Loi.

La Stratégie et le Plan d’action en matière de LO du Ministère ont été approuvés par le Comité de gestion en janvier 2006. Au cours des quinze mois suivants, le Ministère a toutefois subi une importante transformation, avec des changements organisationnels marqués, un système de gestion axée sur les résultats et le remplacement de plus de la moitié des membres du Comité de gestion. Le Ministère a mis en place le réseau de champions des langues officielles pour mettre à jour et en œuvre la Stratégie et le Plan d’action. Le Plan d’action est toujours valide, mais la version à jour tiendra compte de la nouvelle structure horizontale, des mécanismes de coordination, de la façon dont les responsables sont tenus de rendre compte et des modifications apportées à la Loi.

Le Comité prévoit terminer la Stratégie durant le prochain exercice fiscal de sorte à ce qu’elle puisse être stratégique, atteignable, pratique et communiquée efficacement. Le Plan d’action comporte des objectifs à atteindre, décrit les activités, fixe les échéanciers, identifie les personnes responsables et précise les indicateurs de rendement.

Le Ministère rend compte de l’atteinte des objectifs de son plan d’action dans son rapport annuel à l’Agence de la fonction publique du Canada (AFPC) et lors de discussions au Comité de gestion.

A

b) Visibilité des langues officielles dans l’organisation (5 %)

Ni le Rapport sur le rendement ni le Rapport sur les plans et priorités ne comportent de mention des LO. Selon le Plan ministériel de vérification et d’évaluation 2007‑2008 à 2009‑2010, une vérification interne de la conformité à la politique du Conseil du Trésor sur les langues officielles sera effectuée en 2008‑2009. La nouvelle structure de gestion axée sur les résultats et la création d’équipes de gestion des résultats font état de la préoccupation du Ministère pour les LO.

Le Comité de gestion a tenu des discussions concernant les langues officielles à plusieurs reprises au cours de la dernière année. On y a notamment traité des nouveaux principes directeurs sur les rôles et responsabilités, ainsi que de la partie VII de la Loi et de la langue de travail. Le projet lié au bilinguisme au sein de la structure horizontale de gestion des résultats a fait l’objet d’une présentation à la haute gestion en janvier et en février 2007. Cette structure comporte des équipes de projet axé sur les résultats formées de membres et de dirigeants de la RCN et des régions.

Environnement Canada a désigné trois membres du Comité de gestion comme champions de la mise en œuvre de la Loi sur les langues officielles. Il s’agit d’un sous‑ministre adjoint et d’un directeur général régional en tant que co‑champions responsables des parties IV, V et VI, et d’un sous‑ministre adjoint délégué responsable de la partie VII.

En 2007, un nouveau réseau de champions des LO, composé de gestionnaires d’EC de toutes les régions, a été créé. Le réseau collabore à la mise à jour et à la préparation d’un plan d’action portant sur les diverses parties de la Loi pour améliorer le programme linguistique de l’organisation. Il coordonne la mise en œuvre des initiatives qui relèvent des parties IV, V, VI et VII de la Loi.

B

c) Les plaintes et les suivis (5 %)

Les plaintes en matière de LO sont traitées par la conseillère principale ministérielle en langues officielles de la Direction générale des ressources humaines, avec l’aide du réseau de coordonnateurs des RH et des LO. Les gestionnaires pertinents participent à la recherche de solutions durables. Le SMA responsable du point de service concerné est tenu informé de l’issue des plaintes. Les plaintes font l’objet de discussions lors des réunions du réseau ministériel de coordonnateurs des RH et des LO, à des fins d’information et de suivi, et pour éviter la répétition de problèmes semblables.

B

Sous‑total :

B

Service au public – Partie IV (25 %)

a) Services bilingues annoncés au public et effectif bilingue adéquat (3 %)

Environnement Canada fait connaître au public et aux communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire (CLOSM) ses points de service en les affichant dans Burolis. Des exemples de tels services comprennent l’accès au téléphone, sans frais, aux prévisions météorologiques enregistrées et les services disponibles en personne sur place. Par ailleurs, Environnement Canada annonce les services téléphoniques bilingues dans les pages bleues des annuaires téléphoniques locaux. S’il y avait changement important à l’un des bureaux desservant le public, ce changement ferait l’objet d’une publicité ou d’une annonce dans Internet.

Un total de 93 % des titulaires de postes bilingues servant le public satisfont aux exigences linguistiques de leur poste. (Source : Système d’information sur les postes et la classification [SIPC], 31 mars 2007)

Le Commissariat aux langues officielles a effectué une vérification des services au public offerts dans les deux langues officielles par l’intermédiaire du système téléphonique automatisé du Service météorologique du Canada. La vérification a été effectuée entre juin et octobre 2007.

B

b) Observations sur l’offre active et la prestation des services (15 %)

D’après les observations sur le service en personne recueillies par le Commissariat aux langues officielles entre la mi‑juin et la mi‑juillet 2007, l’offre active visuelle était présente dans 89 % des cas, l’offre active par les préposés était faite dans 13 % des cas, tandis que le service dans la langue de la minorité linguistique était adéquat dans 65 % des cas.

D’après les observations sur le service au téléphone recueillies par le Commissariat entre la mi‑juin et la mi‑juillet 2007, l’offre active par les préposés ou par un système automatisé était faite dans 49 % des cas, tandis que le service dans la langue de la minorité linguistique était adéquat dans 64 % des cas.

E

c) Les ententes de services livrés par des tiers ou en partenariat prévoient la prestation des services bilingues (2 %)

La Directive ministérielle d’Environnement Canada en matière de service au public précise que les dispositions touchant les obligations linguistiques en matière de service au public doivent être incluses dans les ententes signées avec des tiers pour le compte du Ministère et que des mécanismes d’évaluation pour assurer le respect de cet engagement doivent être prévus. Un gabarit est utilisé pour préparer les contrats de services et les ententes de partenariat. Il comprend une clause-type qui prévoit la prestation des services bilingues, le cas échéant. Il revient au gestionnaire responsable du contrat ou de l’entente de déterminer les exigences en matière de LO et d'assurer le contrôle de la qualité.

B

d) Politique sur le service au public et surveillance de la qualité des services bilingues (5 %)

La Directive ministérielle sur le service au public traite de toutes les obligations à ce sujet, y compris l’offre active, la signalisation, l’utilisation des médias, la tenue d'événements nationaux et internationaux, et les sites Web. La Directive est disponible à l’ensemble du personnel sur le site intranet national du Ministère. Lorsque la Direction générale des ressources humaines doit répondre aux demandes des gestionnaires, elle profite de l’occasion pour les informer de leurs obligations. La Direction générale des ressources humaines prévoit passer en revue la Directive au cours des prochains mois, ainsi que d’autres outils de politique, dans le but de les mettre à jour et de les rendre plus conviviaux.

Les gestionnaires sont avisés des vérifications à venir du Commissariat aux langues officielles et de leurs responsabilités en matière de langue officielle. Les RH offrent également des conseils lorsque des mesures correctives sont requises. Au cours de la dernière année, la Direction générale des ressources humaines a mené l’examen et la mise à jour annuels de Burolis pour en assurer l’exactitude.

C

Sous‑total :

D

Langue de travail – Partie V (25 %)

a) Politique sur la langue de travail et surveillance bilingue adéquate (12,5 %)

Le Ministère adopte la Politique sur la langue de travail de l’AFPC. Des articles sur la langue de travail du Cadre de gestion des LO complètent cette politique.

Le Ministère a adopté une politique d’apprentissage en 2007 qui réitère le droit à la formation en langue seconde. Il révise présentement la directive ministérielle actuelle concernant l’accès à la formation linguistique à des fins de perfectionnement professionnel.
 
Environnement Canada a élargi l’accès à l’interne aux services de traduction, de courtage et de révision.
Des outils de référence élaborés pour aider les gestionnaires à tenir des réunions bilingues ont été publiés durant l’été 2007, dont un « Aide‑mémoire pour les réunions bilingues », une « Liste de vérification des présidents », une « Liste de vérification pour l’ensemble des participants », un document intitulé « Formulation suggérée pour le président » et un autre intitulé « Mener une réunion dans les deux langues officielles » qui sera utilisé par les équipes horizontales. Tous ces outils sont disponibles en version électronique sur le site intranet et sont par conséquent facilement accessibles pour tous les gestionnaires et employés.

Dans l’ensemble, 87 % des cadres et 93 % des superviseurs dans des postes bilingues dans des régions bilingues satisfont aux exigences linguistiques de leur poste. (Source : SIPC, 31 mars 2007)

B

b) Utilisation de chaque langue officielle au travail (12,5 %)

Le sous‑ministre et la championne des LO, par l’intermédiaire de diverses communications, ont informé les employés d’EC sur les questions relatives aux LO, y compris la langue de travail. Par exemple, le 18 juillet 2007, le sous‑ministre et le sous‑ministre délégué ont écrit aux membres du Conseil de leadership et aux chargés d’équipes nationales pour leur demander d’aider le Ministère à atteindre de meilleurs résultats dans la satisfaction de ses obligations en vertu de la Loi. Ils ont notamment informé les membres des mesures prises en réponse au bulletin de rendement du Commissariat aux langues officielles, les encourageant à utiliser les outils sur la tenue de réunions bilingues au sein de leurs programmes respectifs et, par le fait même, à donner l’exemple. De plus, on a demandé aux membres d’encourager leurs employés à préparer les notes de breffage destinées à la haute gestion dans la langue officielle de leur choix.

Par ailleurs, le 1er août 2007, la championne des langues officielles a écrit aux cadres supérieurs pour leur rappeler l’importance de promouvoir la dualité linguistique et les encourager à aider le Ministère dans ce domaine en tant que leaders. Elle a également encouragé toutes les personnes intéressées à se joindre au nouveau réseau des champions ministériels. 

Les réunions du Comité de gestion se déroulent dans les deux LO.

Le Ministère considère les plaintes comme un moteur de changement et saisit les occasions d’intervenir dans les situations où la question de la langue de travail est négligée.

Le sondage effectué par Statistique Canada, pour le compte du Commissariat aux langues officielles, a établi que 65 % de l’ensemble des répondants francophones de la région de la capitale nationale (RCN), du Nouveau-Brunswick et des régions bilingues de l’Ontario sont « entièrement d’accord » ou « plutôt d’accord » avec le régime de la langue de travail. Au Québec, la proportion de répondants anglophones du même avis se situait à 85 %.

C

Sous-total :

C

Participation équitable Partie VI (10 %)

a) Pourcentage de participation francophone dans l’ensemble du Canada (5 %)

Dans l’ensemble du Canada, l’effectif est composé à 29,6 % de francophones. (Source : SIPC, 31 mars 2007)

A

b) Pourcentage de participation anglophone au Québec (5 %)

Au Québec, l’effectif est composé à 10,6 % d'anglophones. (Source : SIPC, 31 mars 2007)

A

Sous-total :

A

Développement des communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire et promotion de la dualité linguistique – Partie VII (25 %)

Le Cadre de gestion des LO, qui sera révisé, définit l’engagement du Ministère de favoriser le développement des CLOSM et de promouvoir la dualité linguistique dans son processus de planification.

Le réseau de champions des LO, formé en 2007, élabore actuellement un plan d’action pour appuyer le développement des CLOSM dans les régions et promouvoir la dualité linguistique.

En 2007, la région de l’Atlantique lançait un projet pilote fondé sur une initiative présentée par la Fédération acadienne de la Nouvelle‑Écosse (FANE), qui élabore un nouveau thème sur l’environnement et le développement durable. L’accent est actuellement mis sur l’éducation, l’engagement et le rayonnement. Dans le cadre de ce projet pilote, le Ministère a désigné une personne‑ressource chargée d’assurer la liaison avec les CLOSM, et envisage d’autres initiatives, y compris la collaboration avec Patrimoine canadien. Des réunions ont été organisées avec les représentants de diverses CLOSM de la Nouvelle‑Écosse pour établir un premier contact, explorer les besoins des groupes et échanger sur les possibilités de collaboration. À la suite d’une réunion avec Patrimoine canadien pour analyser les options de financement et de collaboration pour les groupes environnementaux des CLOSM, un représentant d’EC de la région de l’Atlantique a été invité à siéger au Sous‑comité des langues officielles du Conseil fédéral de la Nouvelle‑Écosse (SCLOCFNE).

Un réseau a également été créé dans la région de l’Atlantique pour analyser des initiatives que le Ministère pourrait mettre en œuvre pour bien répondre aux besoins des CLOSM et promouvoir la dualité linguistique. On s’attend à ce que, dans la foulée de ce projet pilote,  d’autres régions tirent profit des leçons apprises.

Les questions concernant l’épanouissement des CLOSM et la promotion de la dualité linguistique, y compris l’approbation des nouveaux principes directeurs sur les rôles et responsabilités pour Environnement Canada, ont été discutées en septembre 2007 et ultérieurement approuvées par le Comité de gestion.

La Direction générale des ressources humaines analyse les présentations au Conseil du Trésor en ce qui concerne les obligations du Ministère en matière de LO.

Après avoir passé en revue les programmes et activités qui ont une incidence sur les minorités de langue officielle, le Ministère élabore un plan d’action intégral pour les langues officielles.

  

a) Développement des communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire (12,5 %)

La région de l’Atlantique d’Environnement Canada a pris des mesures positives pour appuyer l’épanouissement des CLOSM. Dans le cadre de son projet pilote, un agent de programme a été nommé pour assurer la liaison avec la FANE et le Centre de ressources de la Baie Ste-Marie (CRBSM) à Meteghan, en Nouvelle‑Écosse. En outre, un agent du Programme de l’éducation et de l’engagement a fourni des conseils au groupe, des ressources et des outils pédagogiques, et un agent du programme ÉcoAction a offert une aide additionnelle au groupe pour la préparation des propositions de financement d’ÉcoAction.

Par ailleurs, des représentants bilingues d’Environnement Canada dans la région de l’Atlantique ont assisté à la Nova Scotia Science Teachers’ Conference qui s’est déroulée à Halifax à la fin d’octobre dans le cadre de ses initiatives d’éducation, d’engagement et de rayonnement conçues pour activement offrir des conseils et des ressources pédagogiques en français.

B

b) Promotion de la dualité linguistique (12,5 %)

Les mesures positives mises en œuvre dans la région de l’Atlantique comprennent la distribution de deux journaux des CLOSM aux employés d’EC dans toute la région de l’Atlantique pour les sensibiliser aux questions auxquelles est confrontée la minorité linguistique.

Le personnel est au courant de la tenue des Jeux de l'Acadie du 27 juin au 1er juillet, et est encouragé à y participer à titre de bénévole. Le réseau des LO envisage également d’autres initiatives en appui à ces jeux.

Des représentants d’Environnement Canada dans la région de l’Atlantique prévoyaient également effectuer une visite du Centre de ressources de la Baie Ste-Marie, un de leurs partenaires des CLOSM, mais des tempêtes hivernales ont contrarié ces plans. Une visite devrait se dérouler au cours de la prochaine année.

C

Sous‑total :

B

NOTE GLOBALE

C