ARCHIVED - Canadian Forces 2005-2006

WarningThe Standard on Web Usability replaces this content. This content is archived because Common Look and Feel 2.0 Standards have been rescinded.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

2005-2006 Fact Sheet

Factors and criteria

Summary of substantiating data

Rating

Management

a) An accountability framework, an action plan and accountability mechanisms are in place (5%)

The Canadian Forces (CF) approved and adopted the CF/DND 2003-2006 Official Languages Strategic Plan, which integrates many elements of the government's Action Plan for Official Languages.

The OL strategic plan is the foundation of the Official Languages Program (OLP) at the Department of National Defence (DND) and the CF, and provides an integrated strategic orientation to guide the effective implementation of the Official Languages Act within the organization. It brings together OLP objectives and activities in a single document and establishes the accountability framework. The document sets out the methods and procedures for meeting the obligations and commitments under Parts IV, V, VI and VII of the Act. In this plan, the Minister of National Defence set out five key official languages (OL) commitments aimed specifically at the CF. This accountability framework will remain in effect for the duration of the next 2007-2012 Strategic Plan, which is currently under preparation.

Responsibility for each objective of the Official Languages Strategic Plan is assigned to one or more Assistant Deputy Ministers or to the Chief of the Land Staff, Maritime Staff or Air Staff, or to the Director General concerned (or equivalent). These individuals are responsible for the implementation of these objectives, in accordance with the established timeframes, and each must submit an annual report on the progress made with regard to the objectives under their responsibility.

To ensure that progress is made on the five key objectives of the Official Languages Strategic Plan, DND and the CF have developed a database for monitoring their implementation. The information collected from the persons in charge is used to monitor a number of key performance measurement indicators, thus enabling the OL Director to identify any problems concerning implementation of the OLP and, if necessary, inform the Assistant Deputy Ministers and senior military officers.

The commitment to OL has also led to an increase in the human and financial resources at the OL Directorate. Between 2002 and 2005, the staff and budget of the Directorate have almost doubled.

The next Official Languages Strategic Plan (2007-2012) will include a smaller number of objectives, designed to facilitate implementation of the new Results-based Official Languages Strategy, which will serve as a framework for the OLP during the period in question.

Senior DND and CF officials are committed to improving the OL capacity of their respective organizations and this commitment is now part of their Performance Management Agreement.

b) Visibility of official languages in the organization (5%)

OL are integrated in the strategic plan. There are a number of references to OL in the 2005-2006 Report on Plans and Priorities; however, OL were not mentioned in the last Performance Report.

Internal human resources audits regularly include questions on OL, such as language training for military personnel, civilian human resources planning and the performance appraisal process for military personnel. OL questions were also added to the CF Continuous Attitude Survey that regularly measures personnel attitudes and opinions on key issues.

At the request of the CF, Consulting and Audit Canada once again recently reviewed governance of the OLP in the institution. (An audit on this subject was conducted in 1995 by KPMG. Follow-up identified the reasons for certain OL performance weaknesses and recommendations were made for correcting them.) This review confirmed that improvements have been made since the last audit in 1995, and the final report (August 2005) sets out four recommendations, which have already been studied by the OL Director.

There are two OL champions, the Assistant Deputy Minister, Civilian Human Resources, and the Assistant Deputy Minister, Military Human Resources. The OL champion for the CF is a member of the Defence Management Committee (DMC) and the Armed Forces Council (AFC). He has direct access to the Deputy Minister and the Chief of Staff of Defence. OL issues are frequently discussed and the OL Director is invited regularly to DMC and AFC meetings.

Co-ordination among all parts of the Act is excellent. There is a direct link between the two champions and the OL Director.

c) Complaints (5%)

All complaints, internal or from the Office of the Commissioner of Official Languages (OCOL), are received by the OL Director, who assigns an individual on a full-time basis to co-ordinate and follow up on all complaints. The responsible managers must resolve these complaints and take the required corrective action. Lessons learned are shared with the network of OL coordinators, who must bring any issues of concern to the attention of their Commander and members of their staff.

The OL Directorate plans to create an investigator position during the current year to ensure more effective resolution of complaints, especially systemic complaints. National Defence should be able to demonstrate results by the beginning of the 2006-2007 fiscal year.

Despite the actions taken and commitments made by the CF, the OtCOL still believes that there continues to be very serious systemic problems with regards to language of work, language of training, practices in assigning military officers and the proportion of incumbents of bilingual positions who meet the language requirements of their position.

Service to the public - Part IV

a) Bilingual services advertised to the public and sufficient bilingual staff (4%)

Note: In the CF, only the following units provide services to the public: recruitment centres, search and rescue coordination centres and public affairs offices.

Bilingual services are advertised in the Blue Pages of telephone directories and are listed in BUROLIS.

41.8% of military personnel in bilingual positions serving the public meet the language requirements of their position. (Source: 2004-2005 Annual Review of Official Languages)

b) Findings on active offer and service delivery (15%)

According to the observations of in-person service made by OCOL in the fall of 2005, active visual offer was present in 75% of cases, active offer by staff was made in 17% of cases, while service in the language of the minority was adequate in 75% of cases.

According to the observations of service on the telephone made by OCOL in the fall of 2005, active offer by staff or by an automated system was made in 73% of cases, while service in the language of the minority was adequate in 47% of cases.

c) The service agreements delivered by third parties or in partnership provide for the delivery of bilingual services (2%)

The requirement for third parties to provide service in both OL is clearly spelled out in the statement of work that results in the establishment of a contract for service delivery. It is the prime responsibility of the client to inform the appropriate contracting authority of any breaches. Managers, commanders and project officers can also get advice in this regard from the OL coordinator.

DND and the CF have developed a policy on services to be provided to families of military personnel in both OL. For example, agreements with Royal Lepage for the provision of relocation services to military members and their families specify that the services will be provided in the client's official language of choice.

d) Bilingual services quality monitoring (4%)

The orientation guide for new employees contains some information about OL and language of work. CF members and DND employees who provide service to the public have been reminded of the need to make an active offer.

Articles dealing with services to the public have appeared in the internal quarterly publication OL Express and on the Intranet site. The OL coordinators raise awareness among their staff about OL and service delivery to the public. The OL Director regularly gives presentations to new commanders to raise their awareness about major OL issues and to inform them about their roles and responsibilities in this area. For example, he has had discussions with the commanders of recruitment centres (who deal with the public), career managers (who participate in the selection of bilingual staff), new base commanders (who have numerous contacts with the local communities) and OL coordinators (who inform CF members about requirements for OLP implementation). There are also presentations to target audiences about service to the public and a reference card has been produced on active offer of services in both OL.

The OL Director's Official Languages Awareness and Education Program identifies communications with the public as a priority. However, there is no mechanism for quality control of bilingual services.

Language of work - Part V

a) Adequate bilingual supervision and language of work policy (12.5%)

Note: The coming year will be critical for implementation of the OLP in the CF. The cornerstone of the new 2007-2012 Strategic Plan (which is expected to be adopted in 2006) will be the implementation of a functional approach, whereby language requirements will no longer be determined based on the positions, as is currently the case, but rather on the units. Unit commanders currently have the flexibility to transfer personnel based on requirements within their unit in order to carry out their mission. The functional approach will make it possible to more accurately measure the units' ability to meet the requirements of the Act, while maximizing use of the bilingual human resources assigned to them. (However, some positions, such as single positions, will continue to be subject to specific linguistic designations.)

For the CF as a whole, 35.2% of military personnel with supervisory functions in bilingual positions meet the language requirements of their position. (Source: 2004-2005 Annual Review of Official Languages)

The orientation guide for new employees contains some information about OL and language of work.

All staff can consult the language of work policy, DOAD 5039-2, as it is accessible on the OLs Director's Web site. However, the document is currently available only in draft form. It is expected that the final revised policies will be published further to the development of the Results based Official Languages Strategy.

The institution allocates considerable resources to language training ($19.2 million in 2004-2005 for training for military personnel), and to translation and editing services ($15 million in 2004-2005). One of the incentives for military personnel to maintain their language profile has been the implementation (in February 2003) of a policy whereby the language profile of bilingual military personnel is re-evaluated every five years. However, because of the implementation of the functional approach, this policy is under review.

b) Establishment of an environment conducive to both official languages (12.5%)

There are posters to encourage the use of both OL in meeting rooms and articles on this topic appear in the OL Express. The institution has enhanced its Official Languages Awareness and Education Program by producing a DVD on OL and language of work. Various policies and directives on language of work have also been prepared and revised to take into account the new policies of the Public Service Human Resources Management Agency.

Meetings of the two executive committees, the AFC and the DMC, are conducted in both OL. The documents and minutes of these committees are drafted in both OL.

The Review of the Linguistic Designation of Units and Military and Civilian Positions currently underway will provide more accurate data on the language of work situation. Implementation of the functional approach will have a major impact on language of work in the CF.

Equitable participation - Part VI

a) Percentage of Francophone participation throughout Canada (5%)

27.5% of all CF staff are Francophone, while 72.5% are Anglophone. (Note: The CF adopted a national representation model in the early 1970s to reflect the national representation group ratio. Military members are highly mobile and their workplace normally differs from the region from which they were recruited. Consequently, throughout Canada, the representation of the two official linguistic groups will not correspond to the provincial ratio.)

b) Percentage of Anglophone participation in Quebec (5%)

Not applicable. (Use of national data only - see preceding paragraph)

N/A

Development of official language minority communities and promotion of linguistic duality - Part VII

a) Strategic planning and the development of policies and programs take into account the development of minority language communities (12.5%)

The CF/DND Official Languages Strategic Plan has objectives relating to the vitality of linguistic minorities. This, however, does not ensure that strategic planning and policy and program development take into account the development of the OL minority communities.

The CF provide strong support for their members and their families. The CF/DND Official Languages Strategic Plan has a number of objectives relating to the vitality of OL minority communities (e.g. assess the quality and quantity of services provided in the minority language and provide language training to military families to facilitate their integration into the community).

The document Advancement of English and French by the Department of National Defence and the Canadian Forces is a reference document (available to all staff on the Intranet) that explains the requirements of Part VII of the Act. It suggests measures to be taken to promote the development of OL minority communities (i.e. taking minority communities into account when awarding local contracts to service providers and considering minority community print and electronic media when awarding advertising contracts).

There are numerous contacts and consultations between base commanders and representatives of OL minority communities. For example, CFB Gagetown has established a committee mandated to facilitate relations between Francophones on the base and the Francophone community in Fredericton and the surrounding area; CFB Kingston and the Royal Military College of Canada maintain close ties with the local Francophone community, particularly concerning early childhood assistance; the OL coordinator at CFB Halifax, Nova Scotia is a member of the OL Committee of the Nova Scotia Federal Council; the Military Family Resource Centre at CFB Valcartier meets with a representative of the Voice of English-Speaking Quebec every week and maintains close ties with this organization; a Francophone volunteer from 12 Wing - Shearwater in Nova Scotia was honoured by the Conseil communautaire du Grand-Havre for her work with the local Francophone community and her participation in program development.

The requirement to purchase advertising space and time, in accordance with the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, is specified in the policy on Communications with and Services to the Public. This requirement is clearly communicated to the OL coordinators and the staff at Public Affairs offices across Canada, the latter being the main users of advertising space and time in the media.

Employees are informed of the needs of these communities by the OL coordinators and are aware of the provisions of the DND and CF policy - Services to Military Families, particularly concerning the sharing of programs and services between the CF community and OL minority communities.

b) Strategic planning and the development of policies and programs take into account the promotion of linguistic duality (12.5%)

There is no formal mechanism to ensure that strategic planning and policy and program development take linguistic duality into account. However, steps are taken to enhance the Official Languages Awareness and Education Program and the production of a DVD on OL are helping promote linguistic duality within the institution.

The language training offered to military families to facilitate their integration into their host communities and the presentations made by the commanders of a number of bases and units help to promote linguistic duality. A number of CF bases also participate in various local celebrations across the country to mark St-Jean Baptiste Day or Canada Day and in various military activities (CF Day, air shows), during which military personnel provide explanations to the public in both OL, thereby helping to promote linguistic duality.

OVERALL RATING

ARCHIVÉE - Forces canadiennes 2005-2006

AvertissementLa Norme sur la facilité d'emploi des sites Web remplace ce contenu. Cette page Web a été archivée parce que les Normes sur la normalisation des sites Internet 2.0 ont étés annulées.

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Fiche d'information 2005-2006

Facteurs et critères

Résumé des données justificatives

Note

Gestion

a) Un cadre de responsabilisation, un plan d'action et des mécanismes de reddition de comptes sont en place (5 %)

Les Forces canadiennes (FC) ont adopté le Plan stratégique des langues officielles – 2003 à 2006 du ministère de la Défense nationale (MDN) et des FC qui intègre de nombreux éléments du Plan d'action pour les langues officielles du gouvernement.

Le Plan stratégique des langues officielles constitue le fondement pour le Programme des langues officielles (PLO) au sein des FC et du MDN et offre l'orientation stratégique intégrale pour guider la mise en oeuvre de la Loi sur les langues officielles (LLO) dans ces entités. Il regroupe, en un seul document, les objectifs et activités du PLO et établit le cadre de responsabilisation. Le document précise les modalités d'exécution des obligations et les engagements prévus aux parties IV, V, VI et VII de la LLO. Le ministre de la Défense nationale y a énoncé cinq engagements clés en matière de langues officielles (LO) qui visent tout particulièrement les FC. Ce cadre de responsabilisation demeurera en vigueur pour la durée du prochain Plan stratégique 2007-2012, présentement en voie d'élaboration.

Chacun des objectifs du Plan stratégique des LO est attribué à un ou plusieurs sous-ministres adjoints ou au chef d'état-major de la Force terrestre, de la Marine ou de la Force aérienne ou au directeur général visé (ou à son équivalent). Ces personnes sont responsables de la mise en oeuvre de ces objectifs, selon les échéanciers établis et chacun doit faire un rapport annuel quant à l'état d'avancement des objectifs sous sa responsabilité.

Pour assurer l'avancement des cinq objectifs principaux du Plan stratégique des langues officielles, le MDN et les FC ont développé une base de données qui permet de suivre leur mise en œuvre. L'information recueillie auprès des responsables sert à assurer le suivi d'un nombre d'indicateurs clés de mesure du rendement permettant ainsi au directeur des langues officielles (DLO) de déceler toute anomalie à l'égard de la mise en œuvre du PLO et, le cas échéant, d'en informer les sous-ministres adjoints et les membres des échelons supérieurs.

L'engagement à l'égard des LO s'est aussi traduit par l'augmentation des ressources humaines et financières à la Direction des LO. Ainsi, entre 2002 et 2005, le nombre d'employés à la Direction des LO et les ressources financières ont presque doublés.

Le prochain Plan stratégique des langues officielles (2007-2012) comportera un nombre plus limité d'objectifs, conçus pour permettre la mise en oeuvre de la nouvelle Stratégie en matière de langues officielles axée sur les résultats, laquelle servira de cadre de travail pour le PLO au cours de la période visée.

Les cadres supérieurs du MDN et des FC se sont engagés à améliorer la capacité de leurs organisations respectives à l'égard des LO et cet engagement fait dorénavant partie de leur entente de gestion du rendement.

b) Visibilité des langues officielles dans l'organisation (5 %)

Le plan stratégique intègre les LO. Il y a plusieurs références aux LO dans le Rapport sur les plans et priorités 2005-2006, toutefois, les LO ne sont pas abordées dans le dernier Rapport sur le rendement.

Les vérifications internes touchant les ressources humaines incluent régulièrement des questions portant sur les LO telles que la formation linguistique des militaires, la planification des ressources humaines civiles et le processus d'évaluation de rendement du personnel militaire. Il y a également eu l'ajout de questions sur les LO dans l'Enquête continue d'attitudes des FC, un sondage qui vise à mesurer régulièrement les attitudes et les opinions du personnel sur des questions clés.

À la demande des FC, Conseils et Vérification Canada a récemment de nouveau examiné la gouvernance du PLO au sein de l'institution. (Une vérification à ce sujet avait été effectuée en 1995 par KPMG et un suivi avait permis de cerner les raisons de certaines faiblesses de rendement à l'égard des LO et de formuler des recommandations pour y remédier.) Cet examen a confirmé que des améliorations avaient eu lieu depuis la vérification de 1995, et le rapport final (août 2005) formule quatre recommandations qui ont déjà reçu l'attention du DLO.

Il y a deux champions des LO, la sous-ministre adjointe des Ressources humaines civiles et le sous-ministre adjoint des Ressources humaines militaires. Le champion des LO des FC est membre du comité de gestion de la Défense (CGD) et du conseil des Forces armées. Il a un accès direct au sous-ministre et au chef d'état-major de la Défense. Les questions relatives aux LO sont fréquemment discutées et le DLO est régulièrement invité aux réunions du comité de gestion de la Défense et du conseil des Forces armées.

La coordination entre toutes les parties de la LLO est bonne. Il y a un lien direct et étroit entre les deux champions et le DLO.

c) Les plaintes (5 %)

Toutes les plaintes (internes ou en provenance du Commissariat aux langues officielles) sont reçues par le DLO. Ce dernier a nommé un agent responsable, à temps plein, de la coordination et du suivi de toutes les plaintes. Les gestionnaires responsables doivent résoudre les cas et prendre les mesures correctives requises. Les leçons apprises sont partagées avec le réseau des coordonnateurs des LO qui doivent porter les questions d'intérêt à l'attention de leur commandant et des membres de leur personnel.

La Direction des LO prévoit créer un poste d'enquêteur au cours de cette année pour assurer une meilleure résolution des plaintes, surtout des plaintes systémiques. La Défense nationale devrait être en mesure de montrer des résultats dès le début de l'année financière 2006-2007.

En dépit des mesures ou des engagements pris par les FC, le Commissariat aux langues officielles (CLO) est toujours d'avis que des problèmes systémiques très sérieux persistent touchant la langue de travail, la langue de formation, les pratiques d'affectation du personnel officier et la proportion de titulaires de postes bilingues qui satisfont aux exigences linguistiques de leurs postes.

Service au public - Partie IV

a) Services bilingues annoncés au public et effectif bilingue adéquat (4 %)

Note : Dans les FC, seules les unités suivantes fournissent des services au public : les centres de recrutement, les centres de coordination de recherche et de sauvetage et les bureaux des affaires publiques.

Les services bilingues sont annoncés dans les pages bleues des annuaires téléphoniques et dans Burolis.

41,8 % des militaires occupant des postes bilingues pour fins de service au public remplissent les exigences linguistiques de leur poste. (Source : Bilan annuel des langues officielles 2004-2005)

b) Observations sur l'offre active et la prestation des services (15 %)

D'après les observations sur le service en personne recueillies par le CLO à l'automne 2005, l'offre active visuelle était présente dans 75 % des cas, l'offre active par les préposés était faite dans 17 % des cas, tandis que le service dans la langue de la minorité linguistique était adéquat dans 75 % des cas.

D'après les observations sur le service au téléphone recueillies par le CLO à l'automne 2005, l'offre active par les préposés ou par un système automatisé était faite dans 73 % des cas, tandis que le service dans la langue de la minorité linguistique était adéquat dans 47 % des cas.

c) Les ententes de services livrés par des tiers ou en partenariat prévoient la prestation des services bilingues (2 %)

L'obligation, pour les tiers, de fournir des services dans les deux LO est clairement indiquée dans l'énoncé de travail qui entraîne l'établissement du contrat de services. Il incombe principalement au client de signaler les infractions à l'autorité contractante appropriée. Les gestionnaires, les commandants et les agents de projet peuvent également demander conseil à ce sujet à leur coordonnateur des LO.

Le MDN et les FC ont mis en oeuvre une directive qui précise quels services seront fournis dans les deux LO aux militaires et à leurs familles partout au pays. À titre d'exemple, les ententes avec Royal Lepage pour les services de relocalisation aux membres des FC et à leurs familles prévoient que les services seront dispensés dans la langue de choix du client.

d) Surveillance de la qualité des services bilingues (4 %)

Le guide d'orientation pour les nouveaux employés contient quelques renseignements sur les LO et sur la langue de travail. Les membres des FC et le personnel du MDN qui offrent un service au public se sont vu rappeler la nécessité de faire l'offre active.

Des articles portant sur les services au public sont parus dans la publication trimestrielle interne intitulée L'Express des LO et sur le site intranet. Les coordonnateurs des LO sensibilisent leur personnel à l'égard des LO et de la prestation de services au public. Le DLO fait régulièrement des présentations aux nouveaux commandants pour les sensibiliser aux grands enjeux en matière de LO et pour les informer de leurs rôles et responsabilités à cet égard. À titre d'exemple, il s'est adressé aux commandants des centres de recrutement (qui traitent avec le public), aux gestionnaires des carrières (qui participent à la sélection du personnel bilingue), aux nouveaux commandants des bases (qui ont de multiples contacts avec les communautés locales), aux coordonnateurs des LO (qui informent les membres des FC des exigences de la mise en oeuvre du PLO). Il y a également des présentations à des auditoires cibles sur le service au public et il y a eu la production d'une carte de référence portant sur l'offre active de services dans les deux LO.

Le Programme de sensibilisation aux langues officielles et d'éducation du DLO cible les communications avec le public comme l'un des sujets prioritaires. Il n'existe toutefois pas de mécanisme de contrôle de la qualité des services bilingues.

Langue de travail - Partie V

a) Surveillance bilingue adéquate et politique de langue de travail (12,5 %)

Note : L'année qui vient sera critique pour la mise en œuvre du Programme des langues officielles dans les FC. La pierre angulaire du nouveau Plan stratégique 2007-2012 (qui doit être adopté en 2006) sera la mise en place de l'approche fonctionnelle selon laquelle les besoins linguistiques ne seraient plus établis en fonction des postes, comme c'est le cas maintenant, mais plutôt en fonction des unités. Les commandants d'unités ont présentement la flexibilité de déplacer leur personnel selon leurs besoins au sein de leur unité pour s'acquitter de leur mission. L'approche fonctionnelle permettra de mesurer avec plus de précision la capacité des unités à satisfaire aux exigences de la LLO tout en maximisant l'utilisation des ressources humaines bilingues qui leur sont affectées. (Toutefois, certains postes, comme des postes uniques, continueront toutefois d'être associés à des désignations linguistiques particulières.)

Dans l'ensemble des FC, 35,2 % du personnel militaire ayant des fonctions de supervision dans un poste bilingue satisfont aux exigences linguistiques de ces postes. (Source : Bilan annuel des langues officielles 2004-2005)

Le Guide d'orientation aux nouveaux employés contient quelques renseignements sur les LO et sur la langue de travail.

La Politique sur la langue de travail, DOAD 5039-2, peut être consultée par l'ensemble du personnel car elle est accessible sur le site Web du DLO. Toutefois, le document n'est toujours disponible qu'à l'état d'ébauche. Cependant, il est prévu que l'élaboration de la Stratégie en matière de langues officielles axée sur les résultats se traduira par la publication de politiques révisées finales.

L'institution accorde beaucoup de ressources à la formation linguistique (19,2 millions de dollars en 2004-2005 pour la formation des militaires) et aux services de traduction et d'édition (15 millions de dollars en 2004-2005). Un des incitatifs pour que les militaires maintiennent leur profil linguistique est la mise en oeuvre (depuis février 2003) d'une politique pour que le profil linguistique du personnel militaire bilingue soit réévalué à tous les cinq ans. (À la lumière de la mise en oeuvre de l'approche fonctionnelle, cette politique est toutefois en cours de révision.)

b) Création d'un milieu propice aux deux langues officielles (12,5 %)

Il y a des affiches visant à encourager l'utilisation des deux langues officielles dans les salles de réunions et des articles traitant de la langue de travail paraissent dans L'Express des LO. L'institution a renforcé son Programme de sensibilisation aux langues officielles et d'éducation. Dans ce cadre, on a procédé au lancement d'un DVD vidéo portant sur les LO et la langue de travail. Il y a également eu la préparation et la révision de diverses politiques et directives touchant la langue de travail (pour tenir compte des nouvelles politiques de l'Agence de gestion des ressources humaines de la fonction publique).

Les réunions des deux comités exécutifs, le conseil des Forces armées et le comité de gestion de la Défense, ont lieu dans les deux LO. Les documents et les procès-verbaux de ces comités sont dans les deux LO.

Le Projet d'examen de la désignation linguistique des unités, des postes civils et des fonctions militaires présentement en cours permettra de connaître la situation à l'égard de la langue de travail. La mise en oeuvre de l'approche fonctionnelle aura un impact important sur la langue de travail dans les FC.

Participation équitable - Partie VI

a) Pourcentage de participation francophone dans l'ensemble du Canada (5 %)

L'effectif total des FC est composé de 27,5 % de francophones et de 72,5 % d'anglophones. (Note : Les FC ont adopté, au début des années 1970, un modèle de représentation nationale pour refléter les statistiques démographiques nationales. Le personnel militaire est hautement mobile et son lieu de travail diffère habituellement de la région où il a été recruté. Par conséquent, la représentation des deux groupes linguistiques ne correspondra pas aux statistiques démographiques provinciales).

b) Pourcentage de participation anglophone au Québec (5 %)

Sans objet. (Utilisation des données nationales seulement – voir paragraphe précédent)

S/O

Développement des communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire et promotion de la dualité linguistique - Partie VII

a) La planification stratégique ainsi que l'élaboration de politiques et de programmes tiennent compte du développement des communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire (12,5 %)

Le Plan stratégique des langues officielles du MDN et des FC prévoit des objectifs relatifs à l'épanouissement des minorités linguistiques. Ceci n'assure toutefois pas que la planification stratégique et l'élaboration de politiques et de programmes tiennent compte du développement des communautés de LO en situation minoritaire.

Les FC offrent un soutien solide à leurs membres et à leurs familles. Le Plan stratégique des langues officielles du MDN et des FC prévoit plusieurs objectifs relativement à l'épanouissement des communautés de LO en situation minoritaire comme, par exemple, évaluer la qualité et la quantité des services offerts dans la langue de la minorité linguistique; offrir de la formation linguistique aux familles des militaires pour faciliter leur intégration dans la collectivité, etc.

Le document intitulé Promotion de l'anglais et du français par le ministère de la Défense nationale et les Forces canadiennes est un document de référence (accessible à tous sur le site intranet) qui explique les exigences de la partie VII de la LLO. Il suggère des mesures à prendre pour favoriser le développement des communautés de LO en situation minoritaire, comme, par exemple, tenir compte des communautés minoritaires au moment d'attribuer des contrats locaux à des fournisseurs de services; veiller à prendre en compte les médias imprimés et électroniques de la communauté minoritaire au moment d'attribuer des contrats de publicité, etc.

Il y a de nombreuses interactions et consultations qui ont lieu entre les commandants des bases et les représentants des communautés de LO en situation minoritaire. À titre d'exemples, la BFC Gagetown a créé un comité dont le mandat consiste à faciliter les relations entre les francophones de la base et la communauté francophone de Fredericton et des environs; la BFC Kingston et le Collège militaire royal du Canada entretiennent des relations serrées avec la communauté francophone locale, notamment en ce qui touche l'aide à la petite enfance; le coordonnateur des LO de la BFC Halifax (Nouvelle-Écosse) est membre du Comité des LO du Conseil fédéral de la Nouvelle-Écosse; le Centre des ressources pour les familles des militaires de la BFC Valcartier reçoit chaque semaine un représentant de la Voix des anglophones du Québec et maintient des liens étroits avec eux; une bénévole francophone de la 12e Escadre Shearwater (Nouvelle-Écosse) a été honorée par le Conseil communautaire du Grand-Havre pour son travail auprès de la communauté francophone locale et sa participation à l'élaboration de programmes.

L'obligation d'acheter de l'espace et du temps publicitaire conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada est précisée dans la politique Communication avec le public et prestation de services. Cette obligation est bien communiquée aux coordonnateurs des LO et au personnel des bureaux des affaires publiques partout au Canada, ces derniers étant les principaux utilisateurs de publicité dans les médias.

Le personnel est informé des besoins des communautés par l'entremise de leurs coordonnateurs des LO et est au courant des dispositions de la Politique du MDN et des FC - Services fournis aux familles des militaires, notamment en ce qui a trait aux partages de programmes et de services entre la communauté des FC et les communautés de LO en situation minoritaire.

b) La planification stratégique ainsi que l'élaboration de politiques et de programmes tiennent compte de la promotion de la dualité linguistique (12,5 %)

Il n'y a pas de mécanisme formel qui assure que la planification stratégique et l'élaboration de politiques et de programmes tiennent compte de la promotion de la dualité linguistique. Cependant, le renforcement du Programme de sensibilisation et d'éducation en matière de langues officielles ainsi que le lancement d'un DVD vidéo portant sur les LO contribuent à la promotion de la dualité linguistique au sein de l'institution.

La formation linguistique offerte aux familles des militaires pour faciliter leur intégration dans leurs communautés d'accueil ainsi que les présentations faites par les commandants de plusieurs bases et unités contribuent à promouvoir la dualité linguistique. Il y a également la participation de plusieurs bases des FC à diverses célébrations locales à plusieurs endroits au pays pour souligner la Saint-Jean ou la fête du Canada et lors de la tenue d'activités militaires diverses (Journée des FC, spectacles aériens) au cours desquelles les militaires fournissent des explications au public dans les deux LO, contribuant ainsi au rayonnement de la dualité linguistique.

NOTE GLOBALE