ARCHIVED - Conclusion

WarningThe Standard on Web Usability replaces this content. This content is archived because Common Look and Feel 2.0 Standards have been rescinded.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Page 7 of 11

The discussions held during the Vancouver forum on the perspectives of Canadians of diverse backgrounds on linguistic duality were very passionate, rich in content and predominantly contextualized to the regional setting. In Vancouver, participants brought new issues, concerns and challenges to the Commissionerís attention that are of particular interest to the different ethnocultural groups in British Columbia.

British Columbia is home to a very engaged ethnocultural leadership that is passionately involved in promoting a participative integration of its communities in the development of Canada. Participants were community leaders with great inside knowledge of the issues, challenges and expectations of their communities, which they shared with the Commissioner.

Forum participants saw linguistic duality as both an essential part of the Canadian identity and a real value added for its citizens and for the country as a whole in an increasingly competitive world.

Participants felt that actions need to be taken at all levels of government and must actively involve community groups. Education, promotion and awareness seem to be at the heart of the potential ways of going forward. They also urged the Commissioner to take concrete actions to make the integration of linguistic duality and cultural diversity a reality for all Canadians.

OCOL will continue its reflection on this issue and is planning to hold a third and final forum in another Canadian city in 2010.



Previous Page | Table of Contents | Next Page

ARCHIVÉE - Conclusion

AvertissementLa Norme sur la facilité d'emploi des sites Web remplace ce contenu. Cette page Web a été archivée parce que les Normes sur la normalisation des sites Internet 2.0 ont étés annulées.

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Page 7 de 11

Les discussions qui ont eu lieu à l’occasion du forum de Vancouver sur les perceptions des Canadiens de diverses origines à l’égard de la dualité linguistique ont été très passionnées, riches en contenu et surtout adaptées au contexte régional. À Vancouver, les participants ont signalé à l’attention du commissaire de nouveaux enjeux, préoccupations et défis qui présentent un intérêt tout particulier pour les différents groupes ethnoculturels de la Colombie-Britannique.

La Colombie-Britannique abrite des dirigeants ethnoculturels très engagés, qui se dévouent à la promotion de l’intégration participative de leurs communautés au développement du Canada. Les participants étaient des dirigeants communautaires qui connaissaient intimement les enjeux, les défis et les attentes de leurs communautés, et ils en ont fait part au commissaire.

Les participants au forum sont d’avis que la dualité linguistique est un élément essentiel de l’identité canadienne et une valeur ajoutée réelle pour tous les citoyens et pour le pays dans son ensemble, dans un monde de plus en plus concurrentiel.

Les participants ont estimé que des mesures doivent être prises par tous les ordres de gouvernement et doivent faire intervenir les groupes communautaires. L’éducation, la promotion et la sensibilisation semblent être au cœur des manières possibles de se tourner vers l’avenir. Les participants ont également prié le commissaire de prendre des mesures concrètes pour que l’intégration de la dualité linguistique et de la diversité culturelle devienne une réalité pour tous les Canadiens.

Le Commissariat poursuivra ses réflexions sur ce dossier et prévoit organiser un troisième et dernier forum dans une autre ville canadienne en 2010.



Page précédente | Table des matières | Page suivante