ARCHIVED - Part 2: Workshop results

WarningThe Standard on Web Usability replaces this content. This content is archived because Common Look and Feel 2.0 Standards have been rescinded.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Page 5 of 11

Language and culture are linked. In order to truly understand someone you need to understand his culture as well as his language.

Forum participant

2.1 Workshop 1: The evolving Canadian identity

Workshop 1 covered two questions and participants were asked to discuss their perceptions of the fundamental values of Canadian society in the context of an evolving identity and their understanding of the term “cultural diversity” and what it means to them personally.

Discussion questions:

  1. As all democratic countries have fundamental values, tell us, in order of priority, what you view as the fundamental values of Canadian society today.

  2. Given your experiences and your understanding of Canadian society, what does the term “cultural diversity” mean to you?

Workshop 1 discussion summary

There was a rich discussion on cultural diversity in Workshop 1, perhaps because cultural diversity is a daily reality in urban centres in British Columbia. There were also cross-over discussions on the relationship between fundamental values and cultural diversity as participants recognized the impact these concepts had on each other.

(1) Participants saw fundamental Canadian values as evolving because more immigrants of diverse backgrounds are arriving daily. They reflected on the different definitions of what we mean by values, and the different types of values, such as political or government values, cultural values, social values and family values. They also discussed whether “fundamental” means set in stone, something to die for or something that can be changed.

Participants identified four main values as fundamental Canadian values:

  • Diversity and multiculturalism – Canada is a collection of cultures and languages that goes back to our founding ancestors, including First Nations peoples.

  • Democracy and justice – including concepts such as fairness, equality, peacefulness and rights to participation.

  • Respect and acceptance – including behaviour such as openness, politeness, sensitivity to others and friendliness. Tolerance alone was not seen as sufficient to create a diverse society and the importance of being a truly inclusive society was stressed.

  • Sustainable development – an approach and policies that stress meeting the needs of all Canadians and preserving the interests and survival of future generations.

(2) Participants first identified what cultural diversity meant to them personally, and then quickly moved to a wider discussion of the benefits to Canadian society. They agreed on the existence of different types of cultural diversity: societal, generational and cultural expressions that reflect interests, education, work, leisure and urban and rural realities. Some described culture as:

A box of tools that you open when you need one; we use a different one according to our environment (at home, at work...)

Notes from Working Group 5

The term “cultural diversity” was primarily linked with the concept of identity. In Canada, people are allowed to promote and live their cultural heritage, creating a multitude of identities that combine harmoniously. Participants recognized that identity is made up of what is learned plus what is adopted from others, so identity keeps building as people are exposed to different cultures and experiences. Cultural diversity means an openness that enriches and leads to a greater sense of global awareness. The following quote helps illustrate this concept:

Vancouver has the privilege of seeing the world, people and community in action (it is not an abstract concept), a diverse society at work, at play and at leisure. This environment speaks to the value of diversity, people living their lives without barriers. There is opportunity for people to develop their potential.

Notes from Working Group 5

Also important to this question was the concept of belonging, which includes acceptance, inclusion and reaching out. If this sense of belonging is not achieved, some new Canadians and immigrants will be left feeling marginalized. For example, one way to address the issues of ethnic polarization in some neighbourhoods is to improve new immigrants’ circumstances by injecting more resources into integration programs.

Overall, Workshop 1 created enthusiasm for the forum topics, as people could relate these topics to their experiences living in Canada and their ideals for the country’s future. It set the stage for lively networking over lunch and informed the afternoon discussions in Workshop 2.

2.2 Workshop 2: The intersection between linguistic duality and cultural diversity in everyday life: What are the issues and what needs to be done?

There is no difference between cultural diversity and linguistic duality. […] and language is an expression of culture. Cultural diversity and linguistic duality are intertwined. You cannot draw a line.

Forum participant

Workshop 2 had two main questions. Participants here were asked to share their personal experiences with linguistic duality and cultural diversity and to propose courses of action for the future.

Discussion questions:

  1. a)   In the context of Canada’s increased cultural diversity, how would you describe the role of linguistic duality where you live, in your city, in your province and in your country?

    b)   In your opinion, do linguistic duality and cultural diversity contradict or complement each other? Do you see examples of this for yourself, your family and friends, and your community?

  2. What measures can or should be taken to improve the interaction between cultural diversity and linguistic duality? For example:
    a)   What can or should government do?
    b)   Given his mandate, what can or should the Commissioner of Official Languages do?
    c)   What can or should you or your community do?

Workshop 2 discussion summary

The workshop tone was set by the inspiring story of Peter Liang, a young man who immigrated to Canada from Southern China in 2000 (Appendix 4). Mr. Liang first described how he learned English in Britain. When he joined Statistics Canada, he began to learn French, mostly on his own. Two years later, in April 2008, he successfully passed all three of the Government of Canada’s French-language evaluation tests. He believes, however, that passing these tests is only the beginning of a journey of lifelong learning:

What does “linguistic duality” mean to me personally as an immigrant to Canada? It means that I have access to more career opportunities within the federal government. But more importantly, it has enabled me to discover the other important part of the Canadian identity, which sets us apart from others. I am more proud than ever to say that I am a true Canadian.

(3)a Most participants saw the relevance of linguistic duality at the national and the federal political level. People realize that linguistic duality plays an essential role at the national level to promote social cohesion, unity and respect for differences. It represents an understanding of our history as linguistic duality is at the heart of Canada’s heritage.

Among the themes that emerged from this discussion was that, because Canada has two official languages, this creates an important “value added” on the global stage. If we can communicate in the language of our trading partners, it leads to an added degree of respect from these countries.

Linguistic duality was also seen as having a role in broadening people’s world views and “also gets people out of their enclaves; it promotes a society where people are willing to learn” (forum participant).

Participants thought that there was hope for a new Canada because an increasing number of French immersion students are gaining a better understanding of the importance of linguistic duality. Some argued that not being able to learn and maintain French through ongoing immersion and interactions in British Columbia is a barrier to federal government opportunities.

Immigration from French-speaking countries is increasing the Francophone presence in British Columbia. In this context, linguistic duality has a role in helping to improve the integration of immigrants.

(3)b Participants’ opinions varied depending on their different personal circumstances and how they tried to answer this question. However, they all acknowledge that there are both complementarities and contradictions between linguistic duality and cultural diversity.

Complementarities

  • Participants considered linguistic duality and cultural diversity policies as complementary because of the historical connections between the concepts and respective laws.
  • Bilingualism is the first step toward diversity and, as Canada becomes more diverse, is connected to welcoming people from other cultures.
  • Multiculturalism was also seen as a way to foster greater linguistic duality.
  • Immigration and economic development are two major drivers in Canada and both linguistic duality and cultural diversity feed into them.

Contradictions

  • There is a contradiction because linguistic duality seems to imply a superiority of the two official languages over other languages. Questions relating to the place of First Nations languages in this context were raised.
  • French is considered a language of power (most high-level bureaucrats and politicians are bilingual) and therefore people who do not know both languages have difficulty participating in the national discussion.
  • In British Columbia, where there is strong cultural diversity, the traditional Canadian linguistic duality (English–French) seems non-existent in certain areas, so this was considered a contradiction between the two policies.
  • It is a contradiction that French is not compulsory in the British Columbia public education system since we have a national dual-language policy.
  • Not having more access to French-language training for adults and children in British Columbia was considered a contradiction.
  • There was a perception by some that people who speak neither official language are more marginalized from Canadian society than French and/or English speakers.

(4) On measures to improve the interaction between cultural diversity and linguistic duality, there was a difference in opinion on approaches for successful action. Some felt the core problem was a lack of financial and human resources allocated to the integration of linguistic duality and cultural diversity, while others felt that sufficient funding and resources were available. Still others thought that more initiative was required from the national level rather than the regions. Leadership and sound policy direction from Ottawa and the provinces was needed to help struggling organizations successfully assist new Canadians through their integration processes. However, most agreed that greater openness and dialogue between both official language communities was required to maximize the economic incentives and benefits of linguistic duality in British Columbia.

Participants felt government initiative needs to come from all levels, not just the federal level, including the following areas of action:

  • Provide access to bilingual learning to Canadian-born citizens, as well as immigrants and refugees, and emphasize the right-to-learn aspect of the policy.
  • Reach out to young people by supporting French as an intrinsic part of the education system. Core French learning should begin earlier and some French should be mandatory for every child.
  • Raise awareness of linguistic duality in schools and national media, through the use of children’s television programs in both official languages.
  • Make apparent to youths the reasons for learning French, or both official languages, possibly by providing incentives and bursaries to encourage them to participate in activities such as youth exchange programs.
  • Develop policies to support integration of the two policy areas, including building on policies that worked well in the past.
  • Support services to new immigrants, by looking at what is done internationally, and especially through the support of successful local programs, and recognize foreign education credentials. For example, one participant suggested researching the impact of the ulpan programs in Israel, which provide all immigrants with 500 hours of free basic Hebrew language training when they arrive.4
  • Support Francophone communities better by creating more services and providing more resources that will allow an adequate and successful settlement and integration of Francophone immigrants and refugees.
  • Increase funding for literacy skills in general.
  • There was general agreement that the provinces and municipal governments need to work with and support the federal government to improve services to help integrate bilingualism and multiculturalism as important aspects of Canadian society.

OCOL needs to take action in two areas:

  • Advocate for consistency of language service delivery across the country, including in the national media.
  • Promote, through schools, regional dialogues and the media, the historical reasons for and advantages of bilingualism and its connection to cultural diversity.

Ethnocultural community groups can also take action:

  • Raise awareness of Canada’s policies within their communities, through the school system and other educational institutions.
  • Promote economic integration through their businesses and communities.

Workshop 2 also generated debate on opening ourselves to other languages. Some thought that Canada must either open itself up to other languages or make sure that future generations have better opportunities to learn both French and English. On the idea of expanding to include other languages, the majority thought that the costs would be too high to govern in more than two languages.

Notes

4. Ulpan is an institute that teaches adult immigrants to Israel basic Hebrew language skills as well as the Israeli culture. Its objective is to better integrate new immigrants to Israel in a timely fashion. Many other countries have developed programs modeled on the ulpan. However, a recent study has questioned the true effectiveness of the ulpan because of the low rate of the oral, written and comprehension language abilities of the participants that completed the 500-hour program.



Previous Page | Table of Contents | Next Page

ARCHIVÉE - Partie 2 : Résultats des ateliers

AvertissementLa Norme sur la facilité d'emploi des sites Web remplace ce contenu. Cette page Web a été archivée parce que les Normes sur la normalisation des sites Internet 2.0 ont étés annulées.

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Page 5 de 11

La langue et la culture sont intimement liées. Pour vraiment comprendre quelqu’un, il faut comprendre sa culture et sa langue.

Participant au forum

2.1 Atelier 1 : L’évolution de l’identité canadienne

Le premier atelier a traité de deux questions et on a invité les participants à discuter de leurs perceptions des valeurs fondamentales de la société canadienne dans le contexte d’une identité qui évolue et de leur compréhension de l’expression « diversité culturelle » et de ce qu’elle signifie pour eux personnellement.

Questions à discuter :

  1. Si l’on part du principe que tous les pays démocratiques ont des valeurs fondamentales, dites-nous, par ordre de priorité, ce que vous percevez comme les valeurs fondamentales de la société canadienne d’aujourd’hui?

  2. Compte tenu de vos expériences et de votre compréhension de la société canadienne, que signifie pour vous l’expression « diversité culturelle »?

Atelier 1 : Résumé des discussions

Le premier atelier a fait l’objet d’un riche débat sur la diversité culturelle, sans doute parce qu’il s’agit d’une réalité quotidienne dans les centres urbains de la Colombie-Britannique. Ont également eu lieu des discussions sur le rapport entre les valeurs fondamentales et la diversité culturelle, car les participants reconnaissaient l’impact de ces deux notions l’une sur l’autre.

(1) Les participants ont été d’avis que les valeurs fondamentales de la société canadienne évoluent en raison de l’arrivée quotidienne d’un plus grand nombre d’immigrants de diverses origines. Ils ont réfléchi aux différentes définitions de ce que nous entendons par valeurs et aux différents types de valeurs, comme les valeurs politiques ou gouvernementales, les valeurs culturelles, les valeurs sociales et les valeurs familiales. Ils se sont demandé par ailleurs si le terme « fondamentales » signifie qu’elles sont immuables, qu’il faut y sacrifier sa vie ou qu’elles peuvent changer.

Les participants ont identifié quatre grandes valeurs canadiennes fondamentales :

  • Diversité et multiculturalisme – le Canada est une mosaïque de cultures et de langues qui remonte à nos ancêtres fondateurs, y compris les Premières nations.

  • Démocratie et justice – cette valeur englobe des notions comme l’équité, l’égalité, la paix et le droit de participation.

  • Respect et acceptation – cette valeur englobe les attitudes comme l’ouverture d’esprit, la courtoisie, la sensibilité aux autres et l’amabilité. À elle seule, la tolérance n’est pas jugée suffisante pour créer une société diversifiée et beaucoup insistent sur l’importance d’une société qui prône vraiment l’intégration.

  • Développement durable – une approche et des politiques qui soulignent l’importance de satisfaire aux besoins de tous les Canadiens et de préserver les intérêts et la survie des générations futures.

(2) Les participants ont commencé par dire ce que signifie pour eux la diversité culturelle avant de s’engager dans une discussion plus générale sur ses bienfaits pour la société canadienne. Ils ont convenu de l’existence de différents types de diversité culturelle : des expressions sociétales, générationnelles et culturelles qui traduisent les intérêts, l’éducation, le travail, les loisirs et les réalités urbaines et rurales. Certains ont décrit la culture en ces termes :

Une boîte à outils que l’on ouvre quand on en a besoin; nous en utilisons une différente selon l’environnement où nous sommes (à la maison, au travail…)

Notes du groupe de travail no 5

Essentiellement, l’expression « diversité culturelle » a été liée à la notion d’identité. Au Canada, les citoyens sont autorisés à promouvoir et à vivre leur patrimoine culturel, en créant une multitude d’identités qui se confondent dans la plus grande harmonie. Les participants ont reconnu que l’identité est constituée d’éléments acquis et d’éléments empruntés à d’autres, de sorte qu’elle ne cesse de se forger au fur et à mesure que les citoyens sont exposés à différentes cultures et expériences. La diversité culturelle s’entend d’une ouverture d’esprit qui enrichit et qui conduit à une prise de conscience globale plus aiguë. La citation suivante contribue à illustrer cette notion :

Vancouver a le privilège de voir le monde, les gens et la communauté à l’œuvre (ce n’est pas une notion abstraite), une société diversifiée au travail, dans les jeux et dans les loisirs. Cet environnement en dit long sur la valeur de la diversité, les gens vivant leur existence sans obstacle. Les gens ont la possibilité de développer leur plein potentiel.

Notes du groupe de travail no 5

Un autre élément d’importance pour cette question est la notion d’appartenance, qui englobe l’acceptation, l’intégration et l’entraide. À défaut d’éprouver ce sentiment d’appartenance, certains Néo-Canadiens et nouveaux immigrants se sentiront marginalisés. Par exemple, une façon de résoudre les problèmes de polarisation ethnique dans certains quartiers consiste à améliorer la situation des nouveaux immigrants en injectant plus de ressources dans les programmes d’intégration.

Dans l’ensemble, le premier atelier a suscité un enthousiasme pour les thèmes du forum, car les participants ont pu établir un rapport avec leur expérience de vie au Canada et leurs idéaux pour l’avenir du pays. Il a ouvert la voie à des discussions animées pendant le dîner et alimenté les délibérations de l’après-midi dans le cadre du deuxième atelier.

2.2 Atelier 2 : L’interaction quotidienne de la dualité linguistique et de la diversité culturelle : Quels sont les enjeux et que devons-nous faire?

Il n’y a pas de différence entre la diversité culturelle et la dualité linguistique. […] et la langue est une expression de la culture. La diversité culturelle et la dualité linguistique sont inextricablement liées. Il est impossible de tirer un trait.

Participant au forum

Le deuxième atelier s’est articulé autour de deux grandes questions. On a demandé aux participants de faire part de leurs expériences personnelles à l’égard de la dualité linguistique et de la diversité culturelle et de proposer des pistes d’action pour l’avenir.

Questions à discuter :

  1. a)   Dans le contexte canadien de diversité culturelle accrue, comment décrivez-vous le rôle de la dualité linguistique à l’endroit où vous vivez, dans votre ville, votre province et votre pays?

    b)   À votre avis, la dualité linguistique et la diversité culturelle s’opposent-elles ou se complètent-elles? Pouvez-vous donner des exemples pour vous-même, pour votre famille et vos amis, et pour votre communauté?

  2. Quelles mesures peuvent ou devraient être prises pour améliorer l’interaction de la diversité culturelle et de la dualité linguistique? Par exemple :
    • Que peut ou devrait faire le gouvernement?
    • Compte tenu de son mandat, que peut ou devrait faire le commissaire aux langues officielles?
    • Que pouvez-vous ou devriez-vous faire? Que peut ou devrait faire votre communauté?

Atelier 2 : Résumé des discussions

Le ton de l’atelier a été donné par le récit édifiant de Peter Liang, un jeune homme de la Chine du Sud qui a immigré au Canada en 2000 (annexe 4). M. Liang a d’abord décrit la façon dont il a appris l’anglais en Grande-Bretagne. Lorsqu’il est entré à Statistique Canada, il s’est mis à apprendre le français, essentiellement par lui-même. Deux ans plus tard, en avril 2008, M. Liang a réussi aux trois tests d’évaluation du français du gouvernement du Canada. Il pense néanmoins que ces réussites marquent seulement le début d’un long apprentissage d’une vie :

Que signifie pour moi, personnellement, l’expression « dualité linguistique » en tant qu’immigrant au Canada? Cela veut dire que j’ai accès à un plus grand nombre de débouchés professionnels au sein du gouvernement fédéral. Toutefois, cela m’a surtout permis de découvrir l’autre important volet de l’identité canadienne, qui singularise notre pays des autres. Je suis plus fier que jamais de déclarer que je suis un vrai Canadien.

(3)a  La plupart des participants ont constaté la pertinence de la dualité linguistique à l’échelle politique nationale et fédérale. Les gens comprennent que la dualité linguistique joue un rôle essentiel à l’échelle nationale afin de promouvoir la cohésion sociale, l’unité et le respect des différences. Cela représente une compréhension de notre histoire, car la dualité linguistique est au cœur du patrimoine du Canada.

Parmi les thèmes qui ont ressorti de cette discussion se trouve le fait que les deux langues officielles du Canada créent une « valeur ajoutée » importante sur l’échiquier international. Si nous arrivons à communiquer dans la langue de nos partenaires commerciaux, ces derniers nous manifesteront encore plus de respect.

Il a aussi été mentionné que la dualité linguistique joue un rôle dans l’élargissement des perceptions du monde et « contribue à faire sortir les gens de leur enclave; elle fait la promotion d’une société où les gens veulent apprendre » (participant au forum).

Les participants ont été d’avis qu’il y a de l’espoir pour un nouveau Canada, car un nombre croissant d’étudiants inscrits à des programmes d’immersion en français acquièrent une meilleure compréhension de l’importance de la dualité linguistique. Certains ont soutenu que le fait de ne pas être en mesure d’apprendre le français et de maintenir sa connaissance par une immersion et des interactions continues en Colombie-Britannique constitue une entrave aux perspectives d’emploi au sein du gouvernement fédéral.

L’immigration en provenance de pays francophones a pour effet d’accroître la présence francophone en Colombie-Britannique. À cet égard, la dualité linguistique contribue à faciliter l’intégration des immigrants.

(3)b   Les avis des participants ont varié selon leur situation personnelle et la façon dont ils cherchent à répondre à cette question. Toutefois, tous ont convenu qu’il y a à la fois des complémentarités et des contradictions entre la dualité linguistique et la diversité culturelle.

Complémentarités

  • Les politiques sur la dualité linguistique et la diversité culturelle sont, de l’avis des participants, complémentaires en raison des liens historiques qui existent entre les notions et les lois respectives.
  • Le bilinguisme est le premier pas vers la diversité et, à mesure que le Canada se diversifie, il s’associe à l’accueil de gens issus d’autres cultures.
  • Le multiculturalisme est aussi perçu comme une façon de stimuler une plus grande dualité linguistique.
  • L’immigration et le développement économique sont deux importants moteurs au Canada, alimentés à la fois par la dualité linguistique et la diversité culturelle.

Contradictions

  • Il y a contradiction du fait que la dualité linguistique semble présupposer la supériorité des deux langues officielles par rapport aux autres langues. Des questions sur la place des langues des Premières nations dans ce contexte ont été soulevées.
  • Le français est perçu comme une langue de pouvoir (la majorité des hauts fonctionnaires et des politiciens sont bilingues) et c’est pourquoi les gens qui ne connaissent pas les deux langues ont de la difficulté à participer au débat national.
  • En Colombie-Britannique, où la diversité culturelle est forte, la dualité linguistique canadienne traditionnelle (français-anglais) semble inexistante dans certaines régions, ce qui semble par conséquent une contradiction entre les deux politiques.
  • Il est contradictoire que le français ne soit pas obligatoire dans le système d’éducation publique de la Colombie-Britannique étant donné que nous avons une politique de bilinguisme nationale.
  • Il est également contradictoire de ne pas avoir un accès plus étendu à des cours de français aux adultes et aux enfants en Colombie-Britannique.
  • Certains ont l’impression que les gens qui ne parlent ni l’une ni l’autre des deux langues officielles sont plus en marge de la société canadienne que ceux qui parlent le français, l’anglais ou les deux.

(4)  À propos des mesures visant à resserrer les liens entre la diversité culturelle et la dualité linguistique, il y a eu des divergences d’opinions sur les approches à adopter pour mettre en place des mesures fructueuses. Selon certains, le problème de base tient au manque de ressources financières et humaines affectées à l’intégration de la dualité linguistique et de la diversité culturelle, alors que d’autres estiment que le financement et les ressources disponibles sont suffisants. D’autres encore sont d’avis que plus d’initiatives doivent provenir de l’échelle nationale que des régions. Ottawa et les provinces doivent faire preuve de leadership et fournir de solides orientations stratégiques pour permettre aux organismes qui en ont besoin d’aider efficacement les Néo-Canadiens dans leur processus d’intégration à la société canadienne. Toutefois, la plupart conviennent qu’une plus grande ouverture d’esprit et un dialogue plus soutenu entre les deux communautés de langue officielle sont nécessaires pour maximiser les incitatifs et les retombées économiques de la dualité linguistique en Colombie-Britannique.

Les participants ont été d’avis que les initiatives gouvernementales doivent provenir de tous les ordres de gouvernement, pas seulement du fédéral, notamment dans les champs d’action suivants :

  • L’instruction bilingue devrait être accessible non seulement aux citoyens nés au Canada, mais aussi aux immigrants et aux réfugiés, et le volet de la politique qui a trait au droit d’apprendre devrait être davantage promu.
  • Il faut tendre la main aux jeunes en faisant du français une partie intégrante du système d’éducation. L’apprentissage du français de base devrait commencer plus tôt et l’apprentissage de certaines notions de français devrait être obligatoire pour chaque enfant.
  • Il faut davantage sensibiliser les gens à la dualité linguistique dans les écoles et dans les médias nationaux, en ayant recours aux programmes télévisés pour enfants dans les deux langues officielles.
  • Les raisons d’apprendre le français, ou les deux langues officielles, doivent être apparentes pour les jeunes, peut-être en leur offrant des incitatifs et des bourses pour les encourager à participer à des activités comme les programmes d’échange jeunesse.
  • Il faut élaborer des politiques qui favorisent l’intégration des deux secteurs de politique, notamment en s’inspirant des politiques qui ont donné des résultats concluants dans le passé.
  • Il faut appuyer les services de soutien aux nouveaux immigrants en s’inspirant de ce qui se fait déjà à l’international, et plus particulièrement par l’entremise d’un appui aux programmes locaux qui ont fait leurs preuves, en plus de reconnaître les diplômes d’études à l’étranger. Par exemple, un participant a conseillé de mener une recherche sur les incidences des programmes ulpan en Israël, lesquels permettent d’offrir gratuitement à tous les immigrants 500 heures de cours de base en hébreu à leur arrivée au pays4.
  • Il faut améliorer le soutien aux communautés francophones en leur offrant plus de services et plus de ressources pour permettre aux immigrants et aux réfugiés francophones de s’établir et de s’intégrer avec succès.
  • Il faut accroître le financement visant à renforcer les capacités de lecture et d’écriture en général.
  • Tout le monde a semblé d’avis que les provinces et les administrations municipales doivent collaborer avec le gouvernement fédéral et l’aider à améliorer les services pour faire du bilinguisme et du multiculturalisme des éléments importants de la société canadienne.

Le Commissariat doit prendre des mesures dans deux domaines :

  • Promouvoir l’uniformité des services linguistiques dans tout le pays, notamment dans les médias nationaux.
  • Faire connaître, par le truchement des écoles, d’un dialogue avec les régions et des médias, les motifs historiques et les avantages du bilinguisme, de même que son rapport avec la diversité culturelle.

Les groupes communautaires ethnoculturels peuvent également agir :

  • En sensibilisant leurs membres aux politiques du Canada, par l’intermédiaire du réseau scolaire et d’autres établissements d’enseignement.
  • En faisant la promotion de l’intégration économique par le truchement de leurs entreprises et communautés.

Le deuxième atelier a également suscité un débat sur la nécessité de s’ouvrir à d’autres langues. Selon certains, le Canada doit s’ouvrir à d’autres langues ou alors s’assurer que les générations futures bénéficient de meilleures occasions d’apprendre à la fois le français et l’anglais. Pour ce qui est de l’idée d’avoir une ouverture à d’autres langues, la majorité estime que les coûts sont trop élevés pour gouverner dans plus de deux langues.

Notes

4. L’ulpan est un institut qui enseigne aux adultes qui immigrent en Israël les compétences linguistiques de base en hébreu et la culture israélienne. Son objectif est de mieux intégrer de façon opportune les nouveaux immigrants en Israël. Plusieurs autres pays ont élaboré des programmes similaires, calqués sur le modèle de l’ulpan. Cependant, une étude récente remet en question la réelle efficacité de l’ulpan en raison de la faiblesse des compétences linguistiques à l’oral, à l’écrit et en matière de compréhension des participants qui ont suivi les 500 heures de formation.



Page précédente | Table des matières | Page suivante