ARCHIVED - Part 1: Discussion framework

WarningThe Standard on Web Usability replaces this content. This content is archived because Common Look and Feel 2.0 Standards have been rescinded.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Page 4 of 11

1.1   A Vision of Linguistic Duality and Cultural Diversity

Alden Habacon, Manager of Diversity Initiatives for the English television network of the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation, delivered the opening address, which detailed his vision of linguistic duality and cultural diversity in Canada (Appendix 3). To begin, he posed this question for consideration: “What is required for us to see—in our lifetime—the most educated, most culturally intelligent, most diverse generation of Canadians in the highest levels of leadership in our country?” 

As a second-generation Canadian from the Philippines, Mr. Habacon described his experience representing Canada at a South-East Asia conference and realizing to what extent his education and world views were shaped by growing up in a bilingual country surrounded by the acceptance of diversity. “Canadians are free to constantly expand and critically think about what it means to think, sound and act like a Canadian, and it is in this socio-cultural space that Canadian multiculturalism is able to evolve and grow.”

With regard to the first theme, the evolving Canadian identity, Mr. Habacon made the comparison with information technology through analogy: as the Internet has evolved to Web 2.0, so should multiculturalism, to Multiculturalism 2.0. Canadians have moved past the rigid paradigm of the ethnocultural mosaic, replacing it with a schema that he defined as “an internal representation of the world; an organization of concepts and actions that can be revised by new information about the world.” Technological trends are the greatest global influence today and they have increased Canadians’ mobility, psychological connectedness and identification with the collective psyche beyond its borders.

For the second theme, the intersection between linguistic duality and cultural diversity in everyday life, Mr. Habacon pointed out that second-generation Canadians and new Canadian immigrants have very different experiences. Illustrating this with examples from his life, he believes that second-generation Canadians intuitively understand linguistic duality and are fully committed to it. But many young and dynamic professionals who are not fluent in French discover a glass ceiling when seeking leadership positions in Canada and therefore the public sector is missing out on talent that is going to the private sector instead. Nevertheless, many new immigrants in British Columbia think learning French is a luxury. It is difficult enough to learn English once they arrive and there is little or no evidence that speaking French improves an individual’s social and cultural integration.

Commenting on his opening question, Mr. Habacon said the answer is not in loosening our French-language requirements, but in ensuring that future generations of Canadians become truly bilingual. Instead of allowing our official languages policy to become a systemic barrier to leadership roles in the largest Canadian institutions, we have to embrace a vision of Canada “whose leadership intuitively understands Canada’s complexity because they live it, whose vision of Canada is influenced by the rich linguistic and cultural complexity that is Canada today.”

There were questions from the participants and a discussion ensued.

1.2   An Historical Overview of Cultural Diversity and Linguistic Duality

The Commissioner of Official Languages, Graham Fraser, thanked participants for coming to the forum. He then spoke about the evolution of official languages and multiculturalism policies in Canada and gave an overview of diversity in British Columbia.

Some facts about the province:

  • British Columbia is a highly diverse province that is home to 20% of the country’s visible minority population—just over 1 million people.1
  • Two in five or 40% of people living in Vancouver were not born in Canada and the same proportion has neither English nor French as their mother tongue.2
  • There are 16,016 federal government positions in British Columbia and only 532 of those require knowledge of French.3
  • British Columbia is home to 61,000 people whose first official language is French. The Francophone community has deep roots in the province’s history, but today is also largely composed of people who have chosen to move to British Columbia.
  • In addition to English and other languages, 300,000 people can speak French and 35,000 children are enrolled in French immersion programs.

Historical reference points:

In 1963 the Royal Commission on Bilingualism and Biculturalism was established. The Commission proposed a new partnership between English-speaking and French-speaking Canadians and announced that more would be done to recognize the contribution and heritage of other cultural communities.

In 1967, under Prime Minister Lester B. Pearson’s leadership and then Minister of Justice Pierre Elliott Trudeau, language rights were defined as two-fold: the right to use and the right to learn.

In 1969, the Trudeau government passed the Official Languages Act.

In 1971, the government developed a multiculturalism policy within the general framework of linguistic duality, which led to the adoption of the Canadian Multiculturalism Act in 1988.

Language rights were further entrenched in the Constitution in 1982 with the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms, which also included the protection of minority-language education rights.

On a personal note, Mr. Fraser concluded “Support for linguistic duality has gone up significantly over the last decade. Still, Canadians continue to debate the merits of their particular brand of bilingualism within a society that aims to embrace diversity. My own view is that linguistic duality and diversity can and should both be embraced as profound and fundamental Canadian values.” The Commissioner then invited all participants to engage in the debate at hand.

Questions were posed for the Commissioner and a discussion followed.

Pre-forum questionnaire

Carsten Quell, Director of Policy and Research at OCOL, delivered a presentation of the findings of the pre-forum questionnaire, which was completed by 21 participants. Eighteen respondents were born outside Canada—four in Europe, four in Africa, three in Latin America and seven in Asia and the Middle East—and all spoke more than one language. Nine out of ten respondents agreed that linguistic duality plays a role in Canadian society. Respondents said there were both advantages and disadvantages to living in a bilingual country.

Here is what some participants had to say:

Ideally all Canadians should have an opportunity to become bilingual. However, there are many barriers to achieving official bilingualism across Canada including the size of our country and resource limitations.

There is a myth that Western Canadians do not value French; they do, but there are not the opportunities for everyone to get the chance to learn French in a thorough way.

Linguistic duality encourages people to accept cultural differences, thereby making the state policy and multiculturalism more acceptable to the Canadian citizenry.

Notes

1. Compared with 16.2%, which is the national percentage of visible minorities.

2. This is double the proportion in the rest of Canada (20%).

3. Position and Classification Information System (PCIS) 2006 (Annual Report on Official Languages 2005–2006 of the Public Service Human Resources Agency of Canada).



Previous Page | Table of Contents | Next Page

ARCHIVÉE - Partie 1 : Cadre de discussion

AvertissementLa Norme sur la facilité d'emploi des sites Web remplace ce contenu. Cette page Web a été archivée parce que les Normes sur la normalisation des sites Internet 2.0 ont étés annulées.

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Page 4 de 11

1.1   Une vision de la dualité linguistique et de la diversité culturelle 

Alden Habacon, gestionnaire des initiatives en matière de diversité au réseau de télévision anglais de la Société Radio-Canada, a prononcé le discours d’ouverture dans lequel il a exposé sa vision de la dualité linguistique et de la diversité culturelle au Canada (annexe 3). En guise d’introduction, il a posé la question suivante : « Que devons-nous faire pour voir, de notre vivant, la génération la plus instruite, la plus intelligente sur le plan culturel et la plus diversifiée de Canadiens accéder aux postes de dirigeants les plus élevés de notre pays? » 

En tant que Canadien de deuxième génération originaire des Philippines, M. Habacon a décrit l’expérience qu’il a vécue à représenter le Canada à une conférence en Asie du Sud-Est et à comprendre dans quelle mesure son éducation et sa vision du monde ont été façonnées par le fait qu’il a grandi dans un pays bilingue où la diversité est un fait accepté. « Les Canadiens sont libres d’élargir constamment leurs horizons et de réfléchir de manière critique à ce que signifie le fait de penser, de parler et d’agir comme un Canadien, et c’est dans cet espace socioculturel unique que l’interculturalisme canadien réussit à évoluer et à croître. » 

Au sujet du premier thème, l’évolution de l’identité canadienne, M. Habacon a fait une comparaison avec les technologies de l’information à l’aide d’une analogie : tout comme Internet a opéré la transition vers le Web 2.0, l’interculturalisme doit évoluer vers l’Interculturalisme 2.0. Les Canadiens ont dépassé le paradigme rigide de la mosaïque ethnoculturelle et l’ont remplacé par un schéma qu’il définit en ces termes : « une représentation interne du monde; une organisation de concepts et d’actions qui peuvent être modifiés par de nouvelles données sur le monde. » La dynamique technologique est l’influence mondiale la plus marquée aujourd’hui et elle a contribué à accroître la mobilité des Canadiens, leur interdépendance psychologique et leur assimilation à la psyché collective au-delà de leurs frontières. 

Au sujet du deuxième thème, l’interaction quotidienne de la dualité linguistique et de la diversité culturelle, M. Habacon a souligné que les Canadiens de deuxième génération et les nouveaux immigrants au Canada ont des expériences très différentes. Illustrant ce fait par des exemples tirés de sa propre vie, il pense que les Canadiens de deuxième génération comprennent intuitivement la dualité linguistique et y sont entièrement favorables. Toutefois, plusieurs jeunes professionnels dynamiques qui ne parlent pas couramment le français se heurtent à un plafond de verre lorsqu’ils convoitent des postes de dirigeants au Canada; c’est ainsi que la fonction publique perd des talents au profit du secteur privé. En outre, beaucoup de nouveaux immigrants en Colombie-Britannique estiment que l’apprentissage du français est un luxe. Ils ont suffisamment de mal à apprendre l’anglais à leur arrivée et il n’y a guère, sinon aucune, preuve que la connaissance du français favorise leur intégration sociale et culturelle. 

À propos de sa question d’ouverture, M. Habacon a déclaré que la réponse ne résidait pas dans le relâchement de nos exigences à l’égard du français, mais dans l’assurance que les prochaines générations de Canadiens deviendront vraiment bilingues. Au lieu de laisser notre politique sur les langues officielles devenir un obstacle systémique à l’obtention de postes de dirigeant dans les plus grandes institutions canadiennes, nous devons adopter une vision du Canada « où les dirigeants comprennent intuitivement sa complexité du fait qu’ils la vivent, et où leur vision du pays est influencée par la richesse de la complexité linguistique et culturelle du Canada d’aujourd’hui ». 

Son exposé a été suivi de questions des participants et d’un débat.

1.2   Un survol historique de la diversité culturelle et de la dualité linguistique 

Le commissaire aux langues officielles, M. Graham Fraser, a remercié les participants d’être venus au forum. Il a ensuite parlé de l’évolution des politiques sur les langues officielles et le multiculturalisme au Canada et a donné un aperçu de la diversité qui existe en Colombie-Britannique. 

Quelques données factuelles sur la province :

  • La Colombie-Britannique est une province éminemment diversifiée qui abrite 20 p. 100 des minorités visibles du pays, soit un peu plus d’un million de personnes1.
  • À Vancouver, deux personnes sur cinq (40 p. 100) ne sont pas nées au Canada et la même proportion ne revendique ni le français ni l’anglais comme langue maternelle2.
  • Il y a 16 016 postes au gouvernement fédéral en Colombie-Britannique et seulement 532 nécessitent une connaissance du français3.
  • La Colombie-Britannique abrite 61 000 personnes dont la première langue officielle est le français. La communauté francophone a de profondes racines dans l’histoire de la province, même si elle se compose aujourd’hui essentiellement de gens qui ont décidé de venir s’établir en Colombie-Britannique.
  • Outre l’anglais et d’autres langues, 300 000 personnes peuvent s’exprimer en français et 35 000 enfants sont inscrits à des programmes d’immersion française. 

Points de référence historiques :

C’est en 1963 qu’est créée la Commission royale d’enquête sur le bilinguisme et le biculturalisme. La Commission propose un nouveau partenariat entre les Canadiens d’expression française et ceux d’expression anglaise et annonce qu’elle entend faire plus pour reconnaître la contribution et le legs d’autres communautés culturelles. 

En 1967, sous la direction du premier ministre Lester B. Pearson et du ministre de la Justice de l’époque, Pierre Elliott Trudeau, les droits linguistiques sont définis comme étant doubles : le droit d’utiliser et le droit d’apprendre. 

En 1969, le gouvernement Trudeau adopte la Loi sur les langues officielles

En 1971, le gouvernement élabore une politique sur le multiculturalisme dans le cadre général de la dualité linguistique, laquelle mène à l’adoption de la Loi sur le multiculturalisme canadien en 1988

En 1982, les droits linguistiques sont davantage enchâssés dans la Constitution avec l’adoption de la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés, qui prévoit aussi la protection des droits à l’éducation dans la langue de la minorité. 

Sur une note personnelle, M. Fraser a conclu que « l’appui à la dualité linguistique a nettement augmenté depuis dix ans. Pourtant, les Canadiens continuent de discuter de la valeur de leur type de bilinguisme dans une société qui cherche à épouser la diversité. À mon avis, la dualité linguistique et la diversité culturelle peuvent et doivent être adoptées en tant que valeurs canadiennes profondes et fondamentales ». Le commissaire a ensuite invité tous les participants à prendre part au débat qui a suivi. 

Des questions ont été posées au commissaire et un débat s’est ensuivi. 

Questionnaire précédant le forum

Carsten Quell, directeur, Politiques et recherche, au Commissariat, a présenté les résultats du questionnaire précédant le forum. Sur les 21 participants qui ont rempli le questionnaire, 18 sont nés en dehors du Canada (quatre en Europe, quatre en Afrique, trois en Amérique latine et sept en Asie et au Moyen-Orient) et tous parlent plus d’une langue. Neuf répondants sur dix conviennent que la dualité linguistique joue un rôle dans la société canadienne. Selon les répondants, il y a à la fois des avantages et des inconvénients à vivre dans un pays bilingue. 

Voici ce qu’ont déclaré certains participants :  

Idéalement, tous les Canadiens devraient avoir l’occasion de devenir bilingues. Toutefois, il existe plusieurs obstacles au bilinguisme officiel dans l’ensemble du Canada, notamment en raison des dimensions de notre pays et des ressources limitées. 

C’est un mythe de croire que les Canadiens de l’Ouest ne valorisent pas le français; il n’en est rien, mais tous n’ont pas l’occasion d’apprendre le français de manière approfondie. 

La dualité linguistique incite les gens à accepter les différences culturelles, ce qui rend les politiques publiques et le multiculturalisme plus acceptables aux yeux des citoyens canadiens.

Notes

1. Alors que le pourcentage national de minorités visibles se chiffre à 16,2 p. 100.

2. Cela représente le double de la proportion dans le reste du Canada (20 p. 100).

3. Système d’information sur les postes et la classification (SIPC) 2006 (Rapport annuel 2005-2006 sur les langues officielles de l’Agence de gestion des ressources humaines de la fonction publique du Canada).



Page précédente | Table des matières | Page suivante