ARCHIVED - Background

WarningThe Standard on Web Usability replaces this content. This content is archived because Common Look and Feel 2.0 Standards have been rescinded.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Page 3 of 11

Forum Objectives

The Vancouver forum’s main objectives were to gain a better understanding of the perceptions of linguistic duality held by Canadians from diverse backgrounds and to explore the links between linguistic duality and cultural diversity. Ethnocultural groups experience linguistic duality differently; OCOL wanted to understand how they do so, and to foster relationships with participants in British Columbia so they can continue the dialogue in the future. This forum provided important information OCOL can use to encourage the government to take steps to better integrate cultural diversity and linguistic duality into its policies and programs.

Methodology

The overall design of the forum program (Appendix 1), and the themes and sub-questions developed for the two workshops and the plenary sessions, were based on a participant-centred approach. For the workshops, participants were divided into five working groups. A moderator facilitated each workshop, assisted by a note-taker.

The forum revolved around two themes:

  • the evolving Canadian identity; and
  • the intersection between linguistic duality and cultural diversity in everyday life: What are the issues and what needs to be done?

Participant Profile

A diverse group of 37 people attended the forum and represented a wide range of cultural and multicultural groups reflecting the diverse composition of British Columbia Lower Mainland residents.

The participants, from senior management to youth to new immigrants to retired long-term Canadians, worked in education institutions, immigrant service delivery societies, business and the media. Including the two guest speakers and five observers, there were 20 men and 17 women who, between them, spoke nearly 30 different languages. Five observers from different levels of government were also present at the forum. OCOL was represented by not only the Commissioner, but also nine OCOL staff members who assisted the two facilitators by moderating group discussions, taking notes and coordinating logistics.

The participants were interested in and generally committed to the core Canadian principles of bilingualism and multiculturalism. Individual introductions at the beginning of the day revealed a high level of commitment to learning about how to improve the integration of these core Canadian principles into government policies (Appendix 2).

Presentation of the Report

The report is presented in three parts.

  • Part 1, “Discussion framework,” summarizes the forum’s opening address by Alden Habacon, Manager of Diversity Initiatives for the English television network of the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation. His vision of linguistic duality and cultural diversity in Canada was followed by an historical overview of linguistic duality and cultural diversity presented by Graham Fraser, Commissioner of Official Languages. Part 1 finishes with a summary of the information gathered from the pre-forum questionnaire presented by Carsten Quell, Director of Policy and Research at OCOL.

  • Part 2 reports on the results of the workshops that focused on the two themes of:
    • the evolving Canadian identity; and
    • the intersection between linguistic duality and cultural diversity in everyday life: What are the issues and what needs to be done?

  • Part 3 presents the participants’ evaluation of the forum results and their suggestions on how to improve the format of the next forum.


Previous Page | Table of Contents | Next Page

ARCHIVÉE - Contexte

AvertissementLa Norme sur la facilité d'emploi des sites Web remplace ce contenu. Cette page Web a été archivée parce que les Normes sur la normalisation des sites Internet 2.0 ont étés annulées.

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Page 3 de 11

Objectifs du forum

Les principaux objectifs du forum de Vancouver étaient de mieux comprendre les perceptions de Canadiens de diverses origines à l’égard de la dualité linguistique et d’examiner les liens qui existent entre la dualité linguistique et la diversité culturelle. Les groupes ethnoculturels expérimentent différemment la dualité linguistique; c’est pourquoi le Commissariat voulait mieux comprendre ces expériences et resserrer les liens avec les participants de la Colombie-Britannique pour poursuivre le dialogue dans l’avenir. Ce forum a fourni d’importantes données que le Commissariat peut utiliser pour inciter le gouvernement à prendre des mesures afin de mieux intégrer la diversité culturelle et la dualité linguistique dans ses politiques et programmes.

Méthodologie

La conception globale du programme du forum (annexe 1) de même que les thèmes et les sous-thèmes établis pour les deux ateliers et les séances plénières étaient fondés sur une démarche axée sur les participants. Pour les ateliers, on a réparti les participants en cinq groupes de travail. Un animateur a animé chaque atelier, accompagné d’un preneur de notes.

Le forum s’est articulé autour de deux thèmes :

  • l’évolution de l’identité canadienne;
  • l’interaction quotidienne de la dualité linguistique et de la diversité culturelle : Quels sont les enjeux et que devons-nous faire?

Profil des participants

Un groupe diversifié de 37 personnes a participé au forum. Les participants représentaient de nombreux et différents groupes culturels et multiculturels reflétant la composition diversifiée des habitants du Lower Mainland de la Colombie-Britannique.

Les participants, y compris des cadres supérieurs, des jeunes, de nouveaux immigrants et des Canadiens retraités depuis longtemps, travaillaient au sein d’établissements d’enseignement, d’associations de prestation de services aux immigrants, d’entreprises et de médias. Si l’on englobe les deux conférenciers et les cinq observateurs, 20 hommes et 17 femmes parlant près de 30 langues différentes ont participé au forum. Cinq observateurs de différents ordres de gouvernement y étaient également présents. Le Commissariat n’était pas seulement représenté par le commissaire, mais aussi par neuf membres du personnel qui ont aidé les deux animateurs en animant des groupes de discussion, en prenant des notes et en coordonnant la logistique.

Les participants étaient intéressés et généralement engagés envers les principes fondamentaux canadiens que sont le bilinguisme et le multiculturalisme. Les présentations individuelles au début de la journée ont révélé une forte volonté à vouloir apprendre comment améliorer l’intégration de ces deux principes fondamentaux canadiens dans les politiques publiques (annexe 2).

Présentation du rapport

Le rapport est divisé en trois parties :

  • La première partie, intitulée « Cadre de discussion », résume le discours d’ouverture du forum prononcé par Alden Habacon, gestionnaire des initiatives en matière de diversité au réseau de télévision anglais de la Société Radio-Canada. Sa vision de la dualité linguistique et de la diversité culturelle au Canada est suivie d’un survol historique de la dualité linguistique et de la diversité culturelle, présenté par Graham Fraser, commissaire aux langues officielles. Cette partie se termine par une synthèse des données provenant du questionnaire qui a précédé le forum, le tout présenté par Carsten Quell, directeur, Politiques et recherche, au Commissariat.

  • La deuxième partie rend compte des résultats des ateliers axés sur les deux thèmes, à savoir :
    • l’évolution de l’identité canadienne;
    • l’interaction quotidienne de la dualité linguistique et de la diversité culturelle : Quels sont les enjeux et que devons-nous faire?

  • La troisième partie présente l’évaluation du forum par les participants et leurs suggestions sur la façon d’améliorer la formule du prochain forum.


Page précédente | Table des matières | Page suivante