ARCHIVED - Summary

WarningThe Standard on Web Usability replaces this content. This content is archived because Common Look and Feel 2.0 Standards have been rescinded.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Page 2 of 11

On November 24, 2008, the Office of the Commissioner of Official Languages (OCOL) organized a discussion forum in Vancouver on the perspectives of Canadians of diverse backgrounds on linguistic duality. The second in a possible series of three, the Vancouver forum was an opportunity for OCOL to establish a dialogue with Canadians in British Columbia who are from diverse backgrounds. The first forum was held in Toronto in October 2007.

The Vancouver forum’s main objectives were to gain a better understanding of the perceptions of linguistic duality held by Canadians from diverse backgrounds and to explore the links between linguistic duality and cultural diversity. Ethnocultural groups experience linguistic duality differently; OCOL wanted to better understand how they do so, as well as to foster relationships with participants in British Columbia to continue the dialogue in the future. This forum provided important information OCOL can use to encourage the government to take steps to better integrate cultural diversity and linguistic duality into its policies and programs.

To attain these objectives, the forum brought together a diverse group of participants to discuss their expectations and personal experiences of linguistic duality and cultural diversity. The discussions were based on two themes:

  • the evolving Canadian identity; and
  • the intersection between linguistic duality and cultural diversity in everyday life: What are the issues and what needs to be done?

Theme 1: The evolving Canadian identity

During Workshop 1, the participants were invited to discuss two questions with an emphasis on their perceptions, reflections and understanding of the fundamental values of Canadian society and their understanding of the term “cultural diversity.”

Participants agreed on a wide range of fundamental values that they believed strengthen and set Canada apart as a society admired by many around the world. In broad terms, these are diversity and multiculturalism, democracy and justice, respect and acceptance, and sustainable development.

The understanding of cultural diversity was linked with an evolving sense of identity and being allowed to live and promote one’s heritage and culture while combining them with other cultures. Identity keeps building as people are exposed to different cultures.

Theme 2: The intersection between linguistic duality and cultural diversity in everyday life: What are the issues and what needs to be done?

The discussion on the role of linguistic duality tackled the implications of the official languages policy. What are its roles and relevance for Canadians, its challenges, and the strategies that can be devised at a personal, community and government level to strengthen its implementation in Canada?  

On whether linguistic duality and cultural diversity contradict or complement each other, the forum participants were more inclined to say that they complement each other. They pointed out, however, that this perception depends on the different contexts and circumstances of people, such as education, immigration, settlement and integration, employment, and constitutional rights.  

In response to what actions could be taken, participants offered many suggestions:

  • Government should intervene at the policy level, at the education and youth level and at the service delivery level for new immigrants.
  • OCOL should promote policies that integrate linguistic duality and cultural diversity, advocate for consistency in access to language services and work with education systems and youth.
  • Ethnocultural communities should promote official languages policies and their purpose, explain the links between linguistic duality and cultural diversity and support newcomers (refugees especially) by providing more tools for integration. 

In the last part of the forum, participants completed an evaluation of the event. The majority reported that they were strongly satisfied with the forum’s format, its processes and the depth of the discussions that took place. They also provided OCOL with ideas on how to improve the format of future forums.



 Table of Contents | Next Page

ARCHIVÉE - Sommaire

AvertissementLa Norme sur la facilité d'emploi des sites Web remplace ce contenu. Cette page Web a été archivée parce que les Normes sur la normalisation des sites Internet 2.0 ont étés annulées.

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Page 2 de 11

Le 24 novembre 2008, à Vancouver, le Commissariat aux langues officielles a organisé un forum de discussion sur les perceptions de Canadiens de diverses origines à l’égard de la dualité linguistique. Deuxième d’une série de trois forums éventuels, le forum de Vancouver a donné l’occasion au Commissariat d’amorcer un dialogue avec des Canadiens de la Colombie-Britannique de diverses origines. Le premier forum a été organisé à Toronto en octobre 2007.

Les principaux objectifs du forum de Vancouver étaient de mieux comprendre les perceptions de Canadiens de diverses origines à l’égard de la dualité linguistique et d’examiner les liens qui existent entre la dualité linguistique et la diversité culturelle. Les groupes ethnoculturels expérimentent différemment la dualité linguistique; c’est pourquoi le Commissariat voulait mieux comprendre ces expériences et resserrer les liens avec les participants de la Colombie-Britannique pour poursuivre le dialogue dans l’avenir. Ce forum a fourni d’importantes données que le Commissariat peut utiliser pour inciter le gouvernement à prendre des mesures afin de mieux intégrer la diversité culturelle et la dualité linguistique dans ses politiques et programmes.

Pour atteindre ces objectifs, le forum a réuni un groupe diversifié de participants qui ont discuté de leurs attentes et de leurs expériences personnelles à l’égard de la dualité linguistique et de la diversité culturelle. Les discussions se sont articulées autour de deux thèmes :

  • l’évolution de l’identité canadienne;
  • l’interaction quotidienne de la dualité linguistique et de la diversité culturelle : Quels sont les enjeux et que devons-nous faire?

Thème 1 : L’évolution de l’identité canadienne

Durant le premier atelier, on a invité les participants à discuter de deux questions en se basant sur leurs perceptions, leurs réflexions et leur compréhension des valeurs fondamentales de la société canadienne et sur leur compréhension de l’expression « diversité culturelle ».

Les participants se sont entendus sur un vaste éventail de valeurs fondamentales qui, à leur avis, renforcent et singularisent le Canada en tant que société qui suscite l’admiration de beaucoup de gens de partout dans le monde. En termes généraux, il s’agit de la diversité et du multiculturalisme, de la démocratie et de la justice, du respect et de l’acceptation ainsi que du développement durable.

La compréhension de la diversité culturelle a été liée à une évolution du sentiment d’identité et au fait de pouvoir vivre et promouvoir son propre patrimoine et sa culture tout en les associant à d’autres cultures. L’identité continue de se forger tandis que les gens sont exposés à différentes cultures.

Thème 2 : L’interaction quotidienne de la dualité linguistique et de la diversité culturelle : Quels sont les enjeux et que devons-nous faire?

La discussion entourant le rôle de la dualité linguistique a porté sur les répercussions de la politique sur les langues officielles. Quels en sont les rôles et l’intérêt pour les Canadiens? Quels en sont les défis? Quelles stratégies peut-on concevoir sur le plan personnel, communautaire et public pour en renforcer sa mise en œuvre au Canada?

À la question de savoir si la dualité linguistique et la diversité culturelle s’opposent ou se complètent, les participants ont été plus nombreux à affirmer qu’elles se complètent. Ils ont toutefois souligné que cette perception dépend des contextes et des circonstances propres à chacun, comme l’éducation, l’immigration, l’établissement et l’intégration, l’emploi et les droits constitutionnels.

En réponse aux mesures qui pourraient être prises, les participants ont formulé de nombreuses suggestions :

  • le gouvernement devrait intervenir en ce qui concerne les politiques, l’éducation et la jeunesse, de même qu’en ce qui concerne la prestation de services pour les nouveaux immigrants;
  • le Commissariat devrait promouvoir des politiques qui intègrent la dualité linguistique et la diversité culturelle, préconiser l’uniformité d’accès aux services linguistiques et travailler de concert avec les systèmes d’éducation et les jeunes;
  • les communautés ethnoculturelles devraient promouvoir les politiques sur les langues officielles et leur objectif, expliquer les liens qui existent entre la dualité linguistique et la diversité culturelle et soutenir les nouveaux arrivants (en particulier les réfugiés) en leur fournissant plus d’outils pour faciliter leur intégration.

Au cours de la dernière partie du forum, les participants ont rempli un formulaire d’évaluation. La plupart ont affirmé être fort satisfaits de la formule du forum, de son mode de déroulement et de la profondeur des délibérations qui s’y sont déroulées. Ils ont également fourni au Commissariat des idées sur la façon d’améliorer la présentation des forums à l’avenir.



 Table des matières | Page suivante