ARCHIVED - Déjà Vu: 40 Years of Language and Laughter in Political Cartoons

WarningThe Standard on Web Usability replaces this content. This content is archived because Common Look and Feel 2.0 Standards have been rescinded.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Forty years ago...

In 1969, Canada officially embraced English and French as its two official languages with the adoption of the Official Languages Act, which granted equal status to English and French. In 2009, 40 years later, the Act continues to resonate as a living public policy and legal framework.

The passionate political debates, challenges and reactions to linguistic duality have been keenly observed by Canada’s leading cartoonists. As a mirror held up to society, political cartoons and caricatures published in daily newspapers used a sharp wit to reflect both the playful and the serious aspects of language issues.

Bilingualism

Two Solitudes

In the years leading up to the 1969 Official Languages Act, Canada poorly managed its “two solitudes,” a term popularized by Hugh MacLennan’s 1945 novel of the same name which describes the tensions of English-French relations in Quebec at the time.

Many Francophones, who constituted the majority population in Quebec but a minority elsewhere in Canada, felt that their language was ebbing away. In 1963, Prime Minister Lester B. Pearson established the Royal Commission on Bilingualism and Biculturalism, known as the B and B Commission, to address the situation.

“Philip muttered something about ‘two can play that game’ andripped off the French sides of the cereal boxes.”

Regional reverberations

Issues pertaining to bilingualism and minority-language rights continued to inspire emotional debate across the country after the adoption of the Constitution and the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms in 1982. The Charter confi rmed the equal status of English and French in Canada, and recognized the right of parents from official language minority communities to have their children educated in their language and to manage their own educational institutions.

A good portion of both the Anglophone and Francophone populations was sceptical about the relevance of official bilingualism to the country’s national cohesion. Events taking place at the municipal and provincial levels provided ample fodder for the keen wit of political cartoonists.

Untitled

Hockey Night in Canada

Language tensions took centre ice as Canada’s national passion became a lightning rod for intolerance. The nostalgia of English- French rink rivalry, portrayed in Roch Carrier’s popular 1965 story The Hockey Sweater, was transformed into bitter divisiveness.

Junior league player Eric Lindros ignited angry debate when selected by the Quebec Nordiques in the 1991 NHL Entry Draft. Lindros refused to join the Nordiques, saying one of the main reasons for doing so was he did not want to live or work in a French-speaking community.

«Veux pas l’aller…»

Air Canada

Linguistic duality and air transportation collided in 2000 as Parliament passed amendments to the Air Canada Public Participation Act. The new act privatized Air Canada and its subsidiaries, which included regional carriers Jazz and Zip, and required them to provide service in both official languages.

Bilingualism at Air Canada

Canada in the future

Canada’s cultural diversity has steadily increased in the 40 years since the adoption of the Official Languages Act.

Linguistic duality is, without a doubt, characteristic of Canadian society. This duality was at the very heart of this country’s foundation and is a feature of our national history. If tolerance and a sense of accommodation are engraved in Canadian values, it is largely thanks to our duality, which has taught us to respect each other.

What role will language play in a shared national vision and in the expression of cultural identity as Canada looks to the future?

25 years from now?

This exhibition, produced by the Office of the Commissioner of Official Languages, marks the 40th anniversary of the Official Languages Act. We thank the cartoonists whose works are featured in this exhibition, as well as Library and Archives Canada for its invaluable cooperation.

The complete exhibition was displayed at 395 Wellington Street, Ottawa, from September 10, 2009 to March 2010. From April 2010 until March 2011, it will be on display in the Student Lounge of the University of Ottawa’s University Centre at 55 University Private, Ottawa. A version of this exhibition will also be presented in various Canadian cities from September 2009 to November 2010.

ARCHIVÉE - Déjà vu : 40 ans de langue et de rire en caricatures politiques

AvertissementLa Norme sur la facilité d'emploi des sites Web remplace ce contenu. Cette page Web a été archivée parce que les Normes sur la normalisation des sites Internet 2.0 ont étés annulées.

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Il y a quarante ans...

C’est en 1969 que le français et l’anglais deviennent les langues officielles du Canada, à la suite de l’adoption de la Loi sur les langues officielles, qui accorde au français et à l’anglais un statut égal.

En 2009, 40 ans après son adoption, la Loi continue à faire sentir ses effets en tant que politique publique et cadre juridique. Les débats politiques passionnés, les réactions et les défis engendrés par la dualité linguistique ont été le point de mire de grands caricaturistes canadiens. Tels des miroirs de notre société, les caricatures et les dessins politiques publiés dans les quotidiens jettent un regard incisif sur la facette amusante aussi bien que sur le côté sérieux des enjeux linguistiques.

Bilinguisme

Les deux solitudes

Dans les années précédant l’adoption de la Loi sur les langues officielles en 1969, le Canada peine à concilier ses « deux solitudes », un terme popularisé par un roman du même titre de Hugh MacLennan. Publié en 1945, le roman de cet auteur décrit les relations tendues entre francophones et anglophones au Québec à l’époque.

De nombreux francophones, qui constituent la majorité de la population au Québec mais une minorité ailleurs au Canada, ont le sentiment que leur langue est sur le déclin. En 1963, le premier ministre Lester B. Pearson met sur pied la Commission royale d’enquête sur le bilinguisme et le biculturalisme, connue sous le nom de Commission B.B., afin de remédier à cette situation.

« Philippe a marmonné : “On peut le jouer à deux ce jeu-là”, avant de déchirer les côtés en français de toutes les boîtes de céréales. »

Les répercussions régionales

Les enjeux touchant le bilinguisme et les droits linguistiques des communautés en situation minoritaire continuent à susciter des débats émotifs partout au pays après l’adoption de la Constitution et de la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés en 1982. La Charte confirme l’égalité de statut du français et de l’anglais et reconnaît aux parents des communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire le droit de faire instruire leurs enfants dans leur langue et de gérer leurs établissements d’enseignement.

Nombre de francophones et d’anglophones sont sceptiques quant à la pertinence du bilinguisme officiel pour assurer la cohésion du pays. Les événements qui surviennent aux échelles municipales et provinciales fournissent une matière fertile à la satire malicieuse des caricaturistes.

Sans titre

La soirée du hockey

Les tensions linguistiques occupent le centre de la patinoire, alors que la passion nationale, le hockey, devient le baromètre de l’intolérance. La vieille rivalité entre francophones et anglophones, telle que décrite en 1965 par Roch Carrier dans son célèbre roman Le chandail de hockey, se transforme en tenace rancoeur.

Eric Lindros, un joueur de la ligue junior, provoque un débat houleux après avoir été repêché dans la LNH par les Nordiques de Québec, en 1991. Il refuse de se joindre aux Nordiques, principalement parce qu’il ne veut ni vivre ni travailler dans une communauté francophone.

Veux pas l’aller…

Air Canada

La dualité linguistique dans le domaine du transport aérien crée des remous en 2000 lorsque le Parlement modifie la Loi sur la participation publique au capital d’Air Canada. Cette nouvelle loi mène à la privatisation d’Air Canada et de ses filiales, dont les transporteurs régionaux Jazz et Zip, et les oblige à offrir leurs services dans les deux langues officielles.

Bilinguisme à Air Canada

L’avenir du Canada

La composition culturelle du Canada est devenue de plus en plus diversifiée au cours des 40 années qui ont suivi l’entrée en vigueur de la Loi sur les langues officielles.

La dualité linguistique est, à n’en pas douter, une des caractéristiques de la société canadienne. Cette dualité a été au cœur de la fondation de notre pays et elle constitue une particularité de notre histoire nationale. Si la tolérance et le sens de l’accommodement font partie intégrante des valeurs canadiennes, c’est largement grâce à notre dualité linguistique, qui nous a appris à nous respecter.

Dans l’avenir du Canada, quel sera le rôle de la langue dans l’établissement d’une vision nationale commune et dans l’expression de notre identité culturelle ?

Le Canada, dans 25 ans

Cette exposition, produite par le Commissariat aux langues officielles, marque les 40 ans de la Loi sur les langues officielles. Nous remercions les caricaturistes dont les œuvres sont présentées ainsi que Bibliothèque et Archives Canada de sa précieuse collaboration.

L’exposition complète a été présentée au 395, rue Wellington, à Ottawa, de septembre 2009 à mars 2010. Depuis avril 2010, elle est présentée au salon étudiant du Centre universitaire de l’Université d’Ottawa situé au 55, rue Université, à Ottawa, et ce, jusqu’en mars 2011. Une version de cette exposition est aussi présentée dans plusieurs villes canadiennes depuis septembre 2009 et continuera à voyager jusqu’en novembre 2010.