ARCHIVED - Ottawa, February 28, 2006

WarningThe Standard on Web Usability replaces this content. This content is archived because Common Look and Feel 2.0 Standards have been rescinded.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Bilingualism in Businesses in NCR Federal Buildings: NCC on solid ground, Public Works slips

The Commissioner of Official Languages, Dr. Dyane Adam, today released a follow-up to the March 2004 study entitled For Rent: In Search of Bilingual Services from Businesses in NCR Federal Buildings. The follow-up reveals that only a portion of the businesses located in federally owned buildings have improved bilingual service.

Since the first study in 2004, the level of bilingualism among businesses located in National Capital Commission (NCC) buildings has increased. The organization has made improvements especially in Ontario, where virtually all services, written materials and advertising studied saw marked improvements.

However, bilingual service from businesses leasing from Public Works and Government Services Canada (PWGSC) is inadequate. The Commissioner feels that PWGSC must show dynamic leadership and quickly implement the necessary measures to correct the situation. “The federal government must set an example by making sure that linguistic duality is a reality in its buildings. Although some promising initiatives have been taken to promote linguistic duality in the National Capital Region (NCR), in many cases, the door is still being shut on bilingual service”, said the Commissioner.

Results also show that the availability of in-person and telephone services in English among businesses located on the Quebec side has remained excellent. However, the availability of signage and written material in English has declined somewhat since 2003.

On the Ontario side, the level of bilingual service among businesses remains basically the same as in 2003 : 60% of tenants are able to offer in-person or telephone services in French and 60% of businesses had difficulty in terms of French-language signage and written material. In Ontario, the improvements in bilingual service made by businesses in NCC buildings were counterbalanced by a deterioration of service by businesses in buildings owned by PWGSC.

The Official Languages Act sets forth the Government of Canada’s commitment to promoting the bilingual character of NCR. The NCC and PWGSC are responsible for ensuring that their commercial tenants communicate with the public and offer their services in both official languages.

The Commissioner emphasizes that respect for Canada’s two official language communities and the country’s image are central to this issue. “As the nation’s capital, Ottawa is an international hub and must be a reflection of the entire country,” added the Commissioner.

Of the 13 recommendations from the 2004 study, all have been, or are in the process of being implemented, except for two recommendations that have not been implemented by PWGSC. The Commissioner has issued three new additional recommendations directed at PWGSC and one new recommendation for Canadian Heritage to help promote respect for linguistic duality in the NCR. “In the capital city of a bilingual country, citizens and visitors alike should be welcomed in the official language of their choice, especially in federal buildings,” concluded Dr. Adam.

- 30 -

For more information, please contact:

Robin Cantin
Manager, Media Relations          
Office of the Commissioner of Official Languages
Telephone: 613-995-0374
Toll-free: 1-877-996-6368

ARCHIVÉE - Ottawa, le 28 février 2006

AvertissementLa Norme sur la facilité d'emploi des sites Web remplace ce contenu. Cette page Web a été archivée parce que les Normes sur la normalisation des sites Internet 2.0 ont étés annulées.

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

POUR DIFFUSION IMMÉDIATE

Le bilinguisme des commerces dans les édifices fédéraux de la RCN : La CCN gagne du terrain, Travaux publics recule

La commissaire aux langues officielles, Mme Dyane Adam, a rendu public aujourd’hui un suivi de l’étude de mars 2004 intitulée À louer : Services bilingues recherchés dans les commerces des édifices fédéraux de la RCN. Selon le suivi, le service bilingue ne s’est amélioré que dans une partie des commerces présents dans les immeubles fédéraux.

En effet, depuis la publication de la première étude en 2004, le niveau de bilinguisme s’est accru dans les commerces des édifices de la Commission de la capitale nationale (CCN). L’organisme a particulièrement bien fait en Ontario, où presque tous les services, la publicité et les documents écrits examinés se sont sensiblement améliorés.

Cependant, le service bilingue offert par les commerces qui louent des locaux de Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada (TPSGC) est inadéquat. La commissaire croit que TPSGC doit faire preuve d’un leadership énergique et prendre rapidement les mesures qui s’imposent pour corriger la situation. « Le gouvernement fédéral doit donner l’exemple en veillant à ce que la dualité linguistique soit une réalité dans ses édifices. Même si des initiatives prometteuses ont été prises pour promouvoir la dualité linguistique dans la région de la capitale nationale, dans bien des cas, le service bilingue se fait encore fermer la porte au nez », a déclaré la commissaire.

Les résultats montrent également que l’accessibilité aux services offerts en anglais, en personne et par téléphone, dans les commerces établis du côté québécois est demeurée excellente. Cependant, les affiches et les documents écrits en anglais sont moins nombreux depuis 2003.

Par ailleurs, du côté ontarien, le niveau de service bilingue des commerces est demeuré pratiquement le même qu’en 2003 : 60 p. 100 des locataires sont en mesure d’offrir des services en français, en personne ou par téléphone, et 60 p. 100 des commerces éprouvent des difficultés en ce qui concerne les affiches et les documents écrits en français. En Ontario, l’amélioration du service bilingue des commerces situés dans les édifices de la CCN a été contrebalancée par une détérioration du service dans des commerces situés dans les édifices de TPSGC.

La Loi sur les langues officielles fait ressortir l’engagement du gouvernement du Canada envers la promotion du caractère bilingue de la région de la capitale nationale. La CCN et TPSGC doivent faire en sorte que leurs locataires commerciaux communiquent avec le public et lui offrent des services dans les deux langues officielles.

La commissaire souligne que le respect des deux langues officielles du Canada et l’image du pays sont au cœur de cette question. « La prestation de services bilingues dans la RCN est une question de respect à l’égard des deux langues officielles du Canada. En tant que capitale nationale, Ottawa est une plaque tournante internationale et se doit d’être le reflet du pays », a ajouté la commissaire.

Sur les 13 recommandations de l’étude de 2004, toutes ont été mises en œuvre ou sont en voie de l’être, à l’exception de deux recommandations qui n’ont pas été mises en œuvre par TPSGC. La commissaire a émis trois autres recommandations à l’intention de TPSGC et une nouvelle recommandation à Patrimoine canadien pour promouvoir le respect de la dualité linguistique dans la RCN. « Dans la capitale d’un pays bilingue, les citoyens et les visiteurs doivent être accueillis dans la langue officielle de leur choix, tout particulièrement dans les édifices fédéraux », a conclu Mme Adam.

- 30 -

Pour information :

Robin Cantin
Gestionnaire, Relations avec les médias
Commissariat aux langues officielles
No de téléphone : 613-995-0374
No sans frais : 1-877-996-6368
Courriel : robin.cantin@ocol-clo.gc.ca