ARCHIVED - Ottawa, May 9, 2006

WarningThe Standard on Web Usability replaces this content. This content is archived because Common Look and Feel 2.0 Standards have been rescinded.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

The Commissioner of Official Languages Tables her Final Annual Report: The Government Must Take On the New Challenge

The Commissioner of Official Languages, Dr. Dyane Adam, tabled her final annual report today, urging the Harper government to act immediately to implement the amendments to the Official Languages Act adopted by Parliament in November 2005.

“This past year was a turning point in the progression towards true linguistic equality,” said Dr. Adam. “Now, within the framework of a clear, firmer Act, the Government of Canada and its institutions must give concrete expression to the will of Parliament. The government’s strong commitment to greater accountability in the federal administration must cross over to official languages as well.”

The annual report, entitled Official Languages in Canada: Taking on the New Challenge, describes ways to firmly commit the government to action on the path to renewal and reinforcement. “To succeed in responding to this challenge, the government must show strong, shared leadership. History teaches us that major progress in official languages took place at times of strong political leadership at the federal level. Conversely, progress is eroded when the federal government is less vigilant and less committed to promoting duality and giving support to linguistic minorities,” Dr. Adam said. The Commissioner now expects the government to clearly lay out its vision to deliver concrete results and support the vitality of communities.

Under the reinforced Act, each institution must now take positive measures to support the vitality of official language communities and to promote linguistic duality within Canadian society. “Sustained cooperation with all interested stakeholders, including other levels of government, is key to the integration of linguistic duality, both in federal institutions and in society at large. We need permanent partnerships, not sporadic, half-hearted exchanges,” said Dr. Adam.

The report also stresses the need for federal institutions to embody linguistic duality more fully, both when it comes to service to the public and to language of work. In this regard, the Commissioner believes the time has come to review and improve the regulatory framework guiding the action of federal institutions. Dr. Adam adds: “Coherent and effective regulations adapted to today’s realities are essential in order to produce concrete results.”

In some ways, the report is a road map setting out a vision of official languages to meet the demands of the twenty-first century. “Enhancing the vitality of official language communities and engaging the Canadian public fully in linguistic duality will benefit all regions of the country,” concluded Dr. Adam.

- 30 -

For more information, or to book an interview with the Commissioner, please contact:

Robin Cantin
Manager, Media Relations          
Office of the Commissioner of Official Languages
Telephone: 613-995-0374
Cellular: 613-324-0999
Toll-free: 1-877-996-6368

ARCHIVÉE - Ottawa, le 9 mai 2006

AvertissementLa Norme sur la facilité d'emploi des sites Web remplace ce contenu. Cette page Web a été archivée parce que les Normes sur la normalisation des sites Internet 2.0 ont étés annulées.

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

POUR DIFFUSION IMMÉDIATE

La commissaire aux langues officielles dépose son dernier rapport annuel : Le gouvernement doit prendre le tournant

La commissaire aux langues officielles, Mme Dyane Adam, a déposé son dernier rapport annuel aujourd’hui en incitant le gouvernement Harper à mettre en œuvre immédiatement les modifications à la Loi sur les langues officielles adoptées par le Parlement en novembre 2005.

« La dernière année aura été un tournant marquant dans la progression vers une véritable égalité linguistique », a dit Mme Adam. « Désormais encadrés par une loi claire et ferme, le gouvernement fédéral et ses institutions doivent concrétiser la volonté du Parlement. L’engagement résolu du gouvernement à l’égard d’une responsabilité accrue de l’administration fédérale doit s’étendre également aux langues officielles. »

Le rapport annuel, intitulé Les langues officielles au Canada : Le tournant à prendre, contient des pistes pour engager fermement l’action du gouvernement sur la voie du renouveau et de la consolidation. « Pour réussir ce tournant, a déclaré la commissaire, le gouvernement doit faire preuve d’un leadership fort et partagé. L’histoire démontre que les grands acquis dans le dossier des langues officielles ont été obtenus à des moments de fort leadership politique à l’échelon fédéral. À l’inverse, ces acquis s’érodent lorsque le gouvernement fédéral est moins vigilant et moins engagé à promouvoir la dualité et à accorder un soutien aux minorités linguistiques. » Mme Adam s’attend maintenant à ce que le gouvernement indique clairement sa vision pour susciter des résultats tangibles et appuyer la vitalité des communautés.

En effet, avec le renforcement de la Loi, chaque institution doit désormais prendre des mesures positives pour appuyer la vitalité des communautés de langue officielle et la promotion de la dualité linguistique au sein de la société canadienne. « Une concertation soutenue avec tous les joueurs intéressés, y compris les autres gouvernements, est essentielle à une meilleure intégration de la dualité linguistique canadienne dans les institutions fédérales et dans la société. Il nous faut des partenariats permanents, plutôt qu’un échange sporadique et sans enthousiasme », a dit Mme Adam.

Le rapport souligne également l’urgence pour les institutions fédérales de mieux incarner la dualité linguistique, tant au niveau des services au public que de la langue de travail. À cet égard, la commissaire estime qu’il est temps de revoir et de bonifier le cadre réglementaire qui guide l’action des institutions fédérales. La commissaire précise : « Une réglementation adaptée, cohérente et efficace représente un instrument indispensable pour l’obtention de résultats tangibles. »

Le rapport est en quelque sorte une carte routière pour mettre en place une vision des langues officielles adaptée aux impératifs du XXIe siècle. « Le renforcement de la vitalité des communautés de langue officielle et un engagement accru du public canadien à l’égard de la dualité linguistique profiteront à toutes les régions du pays », a conclu Mme Adam.

- 30 -

Pour plus d’information, ou pour organiser une entrevue avec la commissaire, communiquez avec :

Robin Cantin
Gestionnaire, Relations avec les médias
Commissariat aux langues officielles
No de téléphone : 613-995-0374
No de cellulaire : 613-324-0999
No sans frais : 1-877-996-6368
Courriel : robin.cantin@ocol-clo.gc.ca