ARCHIVED - Ottawa, November 6, 2003

WarningThe Standard on Web Usability replaces this content. This content is archived because Common Look and Feel 2.0 Standards have been rescinded.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

The Supreme Court of Canada clarifies the role of the courts in protecting language rights

The Commissioner of Official Languages, Dr. Dyane Adam, today applauded an historic Supreme Court of Canada decision in the Doucet-Boudreau case, in which she intervened. Further to this decision, the courts must grant remedies that will fully uphold the rights guaranteed by the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms. The Court also reiterated that minority official-language education rights are intended to correct past injustices and to actively enhance the vitality of these communities.

"In its decision, the Supreme Court confirms that where there is a right, there is recourse. I am delighted with this decision because it clarifies how far the courts must go in granting useful and effective remedy when a Charter right has been violated. This decision will have significant repercussions on official-language minority communities across the country, over and above education rights," Dr. Adam stated.

It may be recalled that the applicants, Francophone parents and the Fédération des parents acadiens de la Nouvelle-Écosse, had asked the Nova Scotia Department of Education and the Conseil scolaire acadien provincial to provide homogeneous programs and high school facilities in French in five municipalities. The Supreme Court of Nova Scotia found in their favour. In his judgment, Justice LeBlanc also ordered the parties to appear before him again to report on the efforts made to comply with the schedule set out in the judgment. The province appealed and the Nova Scotia Court of Appeal then reversed Justice LeBlanc's judgment.

In its ruling, the Supreme Court of Canada confirmed the role to be played by the courts when language rights are violated: "The affirmative promise contained in s. 23 of the Charter and the critical need for timely compliance will sometimes require courts to order affirmative remedies to guarantee that language rights are meaningfully, and therefore necessarily promptly, protected." (Page 17)

"I believe the message will be heard loud and clear by governments this time. It is unfortunate that citizens have had to appeal to the courts again to uphold their constitutional rights. In this case, the efforts of a few will certainly lead to significant gains for all official-language minority communities in the country," the Commissioner concluded.

-30-

Information

ARCHIVÉE - Ottawa, le 6 novembre 2003

AvertissementLa Norme sur la facilité d'emploi des sites Web remplace ce contenu. Cette page Web a été archivée parce que les Normes sur la normalisation des sites Internet 2.0 ont étés annulées.

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

POUR DIFFUSION IMMÉDIATE

La Cour suprême du Canada clarifie le rôle des tribunaux dans la protection de droits
linguistiques

Aujourd'hui, la commissaire aux langues officielles, madame Dyane Adam, a applaudi le jugement historique rendu par la Cour suprême du Canada dans l'affaire Doucet-Boudreau, dans laquelle elle était intervenue. D'après ce jugement, les tribunaux doivent accorder des réparations qui assureront le plein respect des droits garantis par la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés. La Cour réitère aussi que les droits à l'instruction accordés aux minorités de langue officielle visent à réparer les injustices passées et à favoriser activement l'épanouissement de ces collectivités.

« Dans sa décision, la Cour suprême confirme que là où il y a un droit, il y a un recours. Je suis ravie de ce jugement car il précise jusqu'où les tribunaux doivent aller pour accorder une réparation utile et efficace lorsqu'il y a violation d'un droit en vertu de la Charte. Ce jugement aura des répercussions importantes pour les communautés minoritaires de langue officielle à l'échelle du pays, au-delà de la question des droits scolaires », a déclaré madame Adam.

Rappelons que les demandeurs, les parents francophones et la Fédération des parents acadiens de la Nouvelle-Écosse, demandaient au ministère de l'Éducation de la Nouvelle-Écosse et au Conseil scolaire acadien provincial de fournir, dans cinq localités, des programmes et des installations homogènes en français au niveau de l'enseignement secondaire. La Cour du Banc de la Reine leur avait donné raison. Dans son jugement, le juge LeBlanc avait également ordonné que les parties se présentent de nouveau devant le juge afin de faire rapport sur les efforts déployés pour respecter l'échéancier stipulé dans le jugement. À la suite de l'appel de la province, la Cour d'appel de la Nouvelle-Écosse avait renversé la décision du juge LeBlanc.

Dans son jugement, la Cour suprême du Canada confirme le rôle des tribunaux lorsqu'il y a violation des droits linguistiques : « La promesse concrète contenue à l'article 23 de la Charte et la nécessité cruciale qu'elle soit tenue à temps obligent parfois les tribunaux à ordonner des mesures réparatrices concrètes destinées à garantir aux droits linguistiques une protection réelle et donc nécessairement diligente » (page 17).

« J'estime que cette fois-ci, le message sera bien entendu par les gouvernements car il est dommage que les citoyens doivent encore une fois se rendre devant les tribunaux pour faire respecter leurs droits constitutionnels. Dans ce cas-ci, les efforts de quelques-uns entraîneront cependant des gains importants pour l'ensemble des minorités de langue officielle au pays », a conclu la commissaire.

-30-

Renseignements