ARCHIVED - Ottawa, June 6, 2006

WarningThe Standard on Web Usability replaces this content. This content is archived because Common Look and Feel 2.0 Standards have been rescinded.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Linguistic minorities left out in the cold in the last readjustment of federal electoral boundaries

Today, the Commissioner of Official Languages, Dr. Dyane Adam, released a study entitled Drawing the line: The Impact of Readjusting the Electoral Boundaries on Official Language Minority Communities. The purpose of this study was to evaluate whether the commissions had fulfilled their commitment to enhancing the vitality of official language minority communities in Canada.

The Commissioner undertook this study after receiving several complaints following the 2002-2003 readjustment of federal electoral boundaries. The analysis of these complaints showed that certain commissions had not taken into account the impact of their decisions on official language communities.

Although some commissions have shown more leadership than others, the Commissioner noted that "in several cases, linguistic duality and the vitality of official language minority communities were not given due consideration during the 2002-2003 readjustment." This contributes to the weakening of official language minority communities and to their social and economic marginalization.

In Dr. Adamís view, changes should be made to the Electoral Boundaries Readjustment Act and to the mechanisms used by the commissions, so as to ensure that official language minority communities are better protected and that their development is supported. "The results of this study should help to make the government aware of the measures that need to be taken to solidify this commitment," said the Commissioner.

The Commissioner set out 10 recommendations to ensure that during the next federal electoral boundaries readjustment, official language communities will receive the protection to which they are entitled. "The commissions must respect their obligations with regard to official languages and take the rights of the communities into consideration," concluded Dr. Adam.

- 30 -

For more information, please contact:

Robin Cantin
Manager, Public Affairs           
Office of the Commissioner of Official Languages
Telephone: 613-995-0374
Toll-free: 1-877-996-6368

ARCHIVÉE - Ottawa, le 6 juin 2006

AvertissementLa Norme sur la facilité d'emploi des sites Web remplace ce contenu. Cette page Web a été archivée parce que les Normes sur la normalisation des sites Internet 2.0 ont étés annulées.

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

POUR DIFFUSION IMMÉDIATE

Des minorités linguistiques laissées pour compte lors de la dernière délimitation des circonscriptions électorales fédérales

La commissaire aux langues officielles, madame Dyane Adam, a rendue publique aujourd’hui une étude intitulée Établir les limites : l’incidence du redécoupage électoral sur les communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire. Cette étude cherchait à évaluer la façon dont les commissions se sont acquittées de leur engagement à favoriser l’épanouissement des communautés de langue officielle vivant en situation minoritaire au Canada.

Cette étude a été entreprise par la commissaire en réponse à plusieurs plaintes reçues à la suite du redécoupage des circonscriptions électorales fédérales de 2002-2003. L’analyse de ces plaintes démontrait que certaines des commissions chargées du redécoupage n’avaient pas tenu compte de l’impact de leurs décisions sur les communautés de langue officielle.

Bien que certaines commissions aient fait davantage preuve de leadership que les autres, « dans bien des cas, la dualité linguistique et l’épanouissement des communautés de langue officielle vivant en situation minoritaire n’ont pas été sérieusement considérés lors du redécoupage électoral effectué en 2002-2003, » a affirmé la commissaire. Ceci contribue à l’affaiblissement des communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire et à leur marginalisation économique et sociale.

Selon Mme Adam, il y a lieu d’apporter des changements à la Loi sur la révision des limites des circonscriptions électorales et aux mécanismes employés par les commissions pour faire en sorte que les communautés de langue officielle soient mieux protégées et qu’on appuie leur développement. « Les résultats de cette étude devraient servir à éclairer le gouvernement sur les mesures à prendre afin d’assurer cet engagement, » indique la commissaire.

La commissaire a formulé 10 recommandations qui visent à faire en sorte que, lors du prochain redécoupage électoral fédéral, les communautés minoritaires de langue officielle bénéficient de la protection à laquelle elles ont droit. « Les commissions doivent respecter leurs obligations en matière de langues officielles et prendre en considération les droits des communautés, » conclut Mme Adam.

- 30 -

Pour information :

Robin Cantin
Gestionnaire, Affaires publiques
Commissariat aux langues officielles
No de téléphone : 613-995-0374
No sans frais : 1-877-996-6368
Courriel : robin.cantin@ocol-clo.gc.ca