Citizenship judge emigrated from India to Canada with little English or French – now he swears in new Canadians in both official languages

(NC)—Shinder Singh Purewal came to Canada knowing very little English and certainly had no idea he would one day become a citizenship judge swearing in new Canadians in both official languages.

judge Shinder S. Purewal

Judge Purewal was born in India to a family of small farmers. His father was murdered when Judge Purewal was a month old, leaving his mother to raise a family of four. Having noticed young boys from the village leaving for Canada, his mother resolved that her family would live in a peaceful country. They arrived in Canada in September of 1979. Judge Purewal was 17. “I could not speak more than a few words and very basic sentences in English.”

Eventually, Judge Purewal went on to perfect his English, and committed himself to learning French. “Who wouldn’t want to learn the language of Voltaire?” Studying political history at Queen’s University in Kingston, Ontario helped, as did interviewing Prime Minister Pierre Trudeau for his master’s thesis on the politics of multiculturalism. The insights he gained stayed with him, and have in fact driven his career’s success. “The English and French languages are the vehicles of advancement for any immigrants to this country.”

One might say that Judge Purewal walks the talk in his citizenship court in Surrey, British Columbia, by swearing in new Canadians using both official languages. He includes the French version of the oath and a few words of French in his ceremonies, he says, “to underline the fact that this country’s basic framework is based on the foundations of two languages – English and French.” This small gesture makes a big statement about two cultural realities in Canada, and about the federal policies that frame them.

2009 marks the 40th anniversary of the Official Languages Act, which came into effect in 1969. “Placing value on Canada’s two official languages is an investment in the future, from a professional, personal and cultural perspective,” says Commissioner of Official Languages, Graham Fraser.

There is more information available about official languages on the Office of the Commissioner’s Web site at www.officiallanguages.gc.ca.

- News Canada
Word Count: 339

Un juge de la citoyenneté, qui a émigré de l’Inde vers le Canada avec à peine quelques notions d’anglais ou de français, fait maintenant prêter serment aux nouveaux Canadiens dans les deux langues officielles

(EN)—À son arrivée au Canada, Shinder Singh Purewal parlait à peine l’anglais. Il n’aurait jamais pensé qu’un jour, il deviendrait juge de la citoyenneté et ferait prêter serment aux nouveaux Canadiens dans les deux langues officielles.

juge Shinder S. Purewal

Le juge Purewal est né en Inde dans une famille de petits fermiers. Il n’avait qu’un mois lorsque son père a été assassiné, et sa mère a dû élever seule ses quatre enfants. Elle voyait bien que les jeunes garçons du village quittaient le pays pour aller au Canada et elle a décidé de donner à sa famille la chance de vivre dans un pays en paix. La famille est donc arrivée au Canada en septembre 1979. Le juge Purewal avait 17 ans. « Je ne connaissais que quelques mots d’anglais et j’arrivais seulement à prononcer des phrases très simples. »

Après avoir perfectionné son anglais, le juge Purewal s’est attaqué au français : « Qui ne veut pas connaître la langue de Voltaire? » Il a aussi profité du fait qu’il étudiait l’histoire politique à la Queen’s University, à Kingston (Ontario) et qu’il a pu interviewer le premier ministre Pierre Trudeau lorsqu’il rédigeait son mémoire de maîtrise sur la politique du multiculturalisme. Il n’a jamais oublié ces expériences, qui ont en fait assuré sa réussite professionnelle : « Ce sont le français et l’anglais qui permettent à tout immigrant d’avancer dans notre pays. »

On peut dire que le juge Purewal est l’incarnation même de cette affirmation lorsque, dans sa cour de la citoyenneté de Surrey (Colombie-Britannique), il fait prêter serment aux nouveaux Canadiens dans les deux langues officielles. Il récite également la version française du serment et prononce quelques mots en français pendant la cérémonie pour, dit-il, « mettre en relief le fait que le pays est fondé sur deux langues — le français et l’anglais ». Quelques mots qui en disent beaucoup sur les deux réalités culturelles du Canada et sur les politiques fédérales qui les encadrent.

L’année 2009 marque le 40e anniversaire de la Loi sur les langues officielles. « Reconnaître la valeur des deux langues officielles du Canada est un investissement dans l’avenir, d’un point de vue tant professionnel que personnel et culturel », déclare le commissaire aux langues officielles, Graham Fraser.

Vous trouverez plus d’information sur les langues officielles dans le site Web du Commissariat aux langues officielles, à www.languesofficielles.gc.ca/html/index_f.php.

- L’édition Nouvelles
Nombre de mots : 392