1. The Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms

Page 3 of 7

April 17, 1982 was a milestone in our country’s history: the day the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms came into effect. It was a rainy and windy day that forever left its mark on Canadians. Pierre Elliott Trudeau, who was Prime Minister at the time, saw his dream come true: a charter that reinforced the fundamental rights and freedoms of Canadians.

The Charter represents the legacy of generations of Canadians who fought for the recognition of their fellow citizens’ most fundamental rights. The Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms has served as a model for the development of human rights declarations in a number of countries, including Israel, New Zealand and South Africa. It is therefore fair to say that Canadian values play an influential role on the international stage.

The importance of the Charter is undeniable: it promotes our two official languages and acknowledges the contributions made by Canada’s English- and French-speaking communities.

Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II and the Prime Minister, the Rt. Hon. Pierre Elliott Trudeau signing the Constitution.
Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II and the Prime Minister, the Rt. Hon. Pierre Elliott Trudeau signing the Constitution.Photographed by Robert Cooper April 17, 1982.Library and Archives Canada, accession number: PA-141503

1.1 The Charter: An important part of the Canadian Constitution

The Constitution is the supreme law of our country: it contains the country’s basic rules of operation and defines the powers of the federal, provincial and territorial governments. With the Constitution Act, 1982, Canada took charge of its own destiny. The Act allowed for major additions to be made to the Canadian Constitution, including the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms.

The Charter protects important freedoms and rights by limiting the ability of governments to pass laws or take measures that are discriminatory or could adversely affect human rights. This means that everyone is treated equally regardless of race, national or ethnic origin, colour, religion, sex, age, or mental or physical disability. Canadian courts are responsible for interpreting the Charter.

The fact that our rights and freedoms are part of the Charter means they are protected like the gold bars in the vaults of the Bank of Canada. Parliament cannot easily override the rights and freedoms guaranteed by the Charter. Laws, both federal and provincial, must comply with the principles set out in the Constitution.

The main sections of the Charter are as follows:

Guarantee of Rights
and Freedoms

Fundamental Freedoms

Democratic Rights

Mobility Rights

Legal Rights

Equality Rights

Official Languages
of Canada

Minority Language
Educational Rights

 

1.2 The Charter: Etched in our history

How did we come to adopt the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms? Under the Constitution Act, 1867, the guaranteed rights of Canadian citizens were quite limited. However, Canadians inherited a strong tradition of rights and freedoms from the British Parliament.

In 1960, the Conservative government of John Diefenbaker adopted the Canadian Bill of Rights. The Prime Minister based it on the Universal Declaration of Human Rights, which was adopted in 1948. The Canadian Bill of Rights of 1960 had no more force than a simple law. Moreover, it applied solely to federal legislation and contained no provisions on official languages. That is why Prime Minister Pierre Elliott Trudeau felt that a constitutional declaration was needed to recognize the rights and the fact that Canada was founded on two distinct language groups.

Constitutional declaration on two distinct language groups

1.3 Factors and events that led to the adoption of the Charter

Factors and events that led to the adoption of the Charter

Previous page

Table of contents

Next page

1. La Charte canadienne des droits et libertés

Page 3 de 7

Le 17 avril 1982 pose un jalon dans l’histoire de notre pays : c’est l’entrée en vigueur de la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés. Cette journée pluvieuse et venteuse a marqué à jamais les Canadiennes et les Canadiens. Pierre Elliott Trudeau, premier ministre à l’époque, voyait son rêve se réaliser : une Charte qui renforçait les droits et les libertés fondamentales des Canadiennes et des Canadiens.

La Charte constitue le legs de générations de Canadiennes et de Canadiens qui ont lutté pour faire reconnaître les droits les plus fondamentaux de leurs concitoyens. La Charte canadienne des droits et libertés est reconnue pour avoir servi de modèle dans l’élaboration des déclarations des droits de la personne de plusieurs pays, tels Israël, la Nouvelle-Zélande et l’Afrique du Sud. Ainsi, on peut vraiment dire que les valeurs canadiennes rayonnent sur la scène internationale.

L’importance de la Charte est incontestable : elle protège nos deux langues officielles et souligne la contribution des communautés francophones et anglophones du Canada.

Sa Majesté la reine Elizabeth II et le premier ministre,le très honorable Pierre Elliott Trudeau, signant la Constitution.
Sa Majesté la reine Elizabeth II et le premier ministre,le très honorable Pierre Elliott Trudeau, signant la Constitution.Photographie prise par Robert Cooper le 17 avril 1982.Bibliothèque et Archives Canada, numéro d'acquisition : PA-141503

1.1 La Charte : un élément important de la Constitution canadienne

La Constitution est la loi suprême de notre pays : elle contient les règles fondamentales sur son fonctionnement et elle définit les pouvoirs du gouvernement fédéral et des gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux. Grâce à la Loi constitutionnelle de 1982, le Canada a pris son destin en main. Cette loi a permis de faire des ajouts importants à la Constitution canadienne, dont la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés.

La Charte protège des libertés et des droits importants, en limitant la capacité des gouvernements d’adopter des lois ou de prendre des mesures discriminatoires ou qui porteraient atteinte aux droits de la personne. Cela signifie que tous seront traités équitablement sans égard à la race, à l’origine nationale ou ethnique, à la couleur, à la religion, au sexe, à l’âge ou aux déficiences mentales ou physiques. Les tribunaux canadiens ont le mandat d’interpréter la Charte.

Énoncés dans la Charte, nos droits et libertés sont protégés comme les lingots d’or rangés dans les chambres fortes de la Banque du Canada. En fait, le Parlement peut difficilement déroger aux droits et aux libertés garantis par la Charte. Les lois, tant fédérales que provinciales, doivent être conformes aux règles établies dans la Constitution.

Les parties principales de la Charte sont :

Garantie des droits
et libertés

Libertés fondamentales

Droits démocratiques

Liberté de circulation et
d’établissement

Garanties juridiques

Droits à l’égalité

Langues officielles
du Canada

Droits à l’instruction dans
la langue de la minorité

 

1.2  La Charte : gravée dans notre histoire

Comment en sommes-nous arrivés à adopter la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés? En vertu de la Loi constitutionnelle de 1867, les droits garantis aux citoyens canadiens étaient plutôt limités. Les Canadiennes et les Canadiens avaient toutefois hérité d’une forte tradition de droits et de libertés du Parlement britannique.

En 1960, le gouvernement conservateur de John Diefenbaker a adopté la Déclaration canadienne des droits. Ce premier ministre s’était inspiré de la Déclaration universelle des droits de l’homme proclamée en 1948. La Déclaration canadienne des droits de 1960 n’avait pas plus de force qu’une loi. De plus, elle s’appliquait uniquement aux lois fédérales et ne contenait aucune disposition sur les langues officielles. C’est pourquoi le premier ministre Pierre Elliott Trudeau jugeait qu’il fallait une déclaration constitutionnelle qui reconnaisse les droits et le fait que le Canada est fondé sur deux groupes linguistiques distincts.

déclaration constitutionnelle sur deux groupes linguistiques distincts.

1.3 Les facteurs et les événements qui ont mené à l’adoption de la Charte

Les facteurs et les événements qui ont mené à l’adoption de la Charte

Page précédente

Table des matières

Page suivante