ARCHIVED - Chapter 4

WarningThe Standard on Web Usability replaces this content. This content is archived because Common Look and Feel 2.0 Standards have been rescinded.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

25 of 35


 PERFORMANCE REPORT CARDS AND SUCCESS STORIES (cont.)


Success stories

It has become common place for the Office of the Commissioner to highlight, in its annual report, a sample of success stories pertaining to official languages. This year’s success stories can be grouped into four main categories:40

  • Promoting the federal administration as a bilingual workplace

  • Using English and French in the workplace

  • Improving service delivery to the public in the language of the linguistic minority

  • Promoting English and French


Promoting the federal administration as a bilingual workplace

Some federal institutions work with post-secondary students to recruit bilingual staff. For instance, the Public Service Commission of Canada and Human Resources and Social Development Canada cooperate on a train-the-trainer initiative in Quebec. The goal is to promote the Commission’s recruitment program among bilingual post-secondary students. Each May and June, an average of 150 students take a one-week training course that presents the public service as an employer of choice. In doing so, the Commission has increased the number of bilingual post-secondary students applying for summer jobs and full-time positions in federal departments in the province.

The Public Service Commission of Canada also employs student ambassadors in various universities in Quebec to promote the federal public service as an employer of choice. The Canada Revenue Agency has a similar project underway.

Using English and French in the workplace

Some institutions show great innovation in the way they hold their meetings. In November 2006, Fisheries and Oceans Canada decided to alternate between English and French during its management meetings. This practice aims to develop the second-language communication skills of senior managers. Since this initiative was launched, weekly meetings of the executive committee have been held alternately in English and in French, and documentation is distributed in both official languages. Given the considerable effort committee members are making to perfect their language skills, the initiative can be considered a resounding success. The Canadian Air Transport Security Authority has drawn inspiration from this practice, and since January 2007, the language in which mandatory management meetings are held alternates between English and French.

Furthermore, Statistics Canada has produced an information kit on bilingual meetings and made it available to meeting organizers and chairs. It has also produced a video entitled An Unpleasant Meeting—Une réunion désagréable, which illustrates the pitfalls of a bilingual meeting gone wrong.

Statistics Canada has also launched a pilot project to encourage bilingualism within the institution. Three organizers were hired to ensure work processes were respected and teamwork was successful. These people identify specific problems and propose solutions in order to promote and maintain a workplace conducive to the use of both official languages. Evaluation of the pilot project is set to begin in the spring of 2007.

Improving service delivery to the public in the language of the minority

Some institutions have found ways to improve language training for their staff. For example, the Canada Border Services Agency, in cooperation with the private sector, universities and colleges, has implemented an effective language training program. The project included negotiating agreements with the Canada School of Public Service and other departments to share materials and human resources. This is a fine example for other departments that rely on the Canada School of Public Service for language training.

Moreover, Statistics Canada has set itself the goal of ensuring that all supervisory positions be filled by bilingual employees as of April 1, 2007. Its transition plan included opening an on-site training centre to deal with any significant outstanding problems and ensuring that employees meet the language requirements as soon as possible. At Statistics Canada, director and section head positions are already bilingual imperative, while deputy head positions will follow suit in April 2007.

At the Canadian Museum of Civilization Corporation, training for new employees includes a component on official language awareness. What’s more, to ensure services in both languages are of comparable quality, the Museum has added questions about official languages to the detailed questionnaire it will give visitors twice a year. The Museum plans to survey nearly 500 visitors annually. Lastly, the Museum has a five-year plan ensuring regular validation of the language skills of all employees in bilingual positions. All of these factors help ensure quality service in both official languages within the institution.

To improve access to justice in both official languages as well as communications with the public and service delivery, the Group of Federal Tribunal Chairs41 created a working group on official languages. The group meets regularly to share the knowledge and experiences of various federal tribunals. Among other things, it has developed a general policy framework on official languages that can be used and adapted as needed by each of the tribunals to take their distinctive characteristics into account. The steps taken by federal tribunals is proof of their desire to have a better understanding of the nature of the obligations imposed on them by the Act in terms of the administration of justice, especially regarding their obligation to make their decisions available in both official languages.

Parks Canada’s field unit in Jasper, Alberta, provides free office space to the local Francophone association in exchange for French courses for its employees and members of the local community. Since fall 2004, the association has offered two to three courses per year, and each course attracts 35 to 45 participants. Classes run 2.5 hours per week and are carried out over a period of eight weeks.

Service Canada's “Franco-allô” initiative, which was created in 2004, is another success story. This weekly forum, initially aimed at bilingual employees at the institution’s Edmonton branch, is now open to all federal employees and students of the Canada School of Public Service who want to improve their French skills. About a dozen participants (not always the same people) get together during their coffee break to speak in French. Participants are also invited to do exercises to prepare them for the next meetings. The group leader, a Service Canada employee, sends out weekly e-mails about the activities of Alberta’s Francophone community and a list of difficulties in the French language.

Promoting English and French

In an effort to encourage the development of linguistic communities, the Canada Border Services Agency informs official language community associations, committees and media about its job opportunities. In addition, the official languages coordinator for the Toronto region meets with college and university students in the French-speaking areas of Sudbury, North Bay and Timmins to promote job opportunities in the Agency.

Another initiative that should be mentioned is the Citizenship and Immigration Canada-Francophone Minority Communities Steering Committee. This committee is co-chaired by Citizenship and Immigration Canada’s Assistant Deputy Minister, Operations, who is the official languages champion, and a representative from the communities chosen by the Fédération des communautés francophones et acadienne du Canada. The steering committee, in turn, has formed a committee to coordinate and promote the implementation of the Strategic Plan to Foster Immigration to Francophone Minority Communities (2006–2011). Both committees work in partnership with the provinces, territories and communities.

The Atlantic Canada Opportunities Agency financed the PERCÉ (Programme d’entrepreneurship régional, communautaire et économique) program. Proposed by economic community groups, the project aims to counter the exodus from rural regions by making young people in Prince Edward Island’s Acadian and Francophone communities aware of the economic possibilities and cultural wealth of their region. It also aims to encourage youth to return to the province to complete their university studies in French. Carried out over the summer, the project offered job-search training, career counselling services and seasonal internships of 10 to 12 weeks. It also paired Island businesses with students to make it easier for young people to return to the province. Last year, ten young people participated in the PERCÉ program.

For its part, Service Canada also sought to reverse the exodus of young people with a project entitled Youth-Turn …Come Home to the Gaspé! This project was designed to work in tandem with the provincial government’s Youth Action Strategy 2005–2008. The idea of pairing students and businesses was also the focus of a project created by the Economic Development Agency of Canada for the Regions of Quebec. Entitled Opportunities through Internship, it gives young Quebec Anglophones a chance to work as an intern in Montréal in an English-speaking environment.

The Economic Development Agency of Canada for the Regions of Quebec has also financially supported a two-year pilot project to measure the vitality of Quebec’s Anglophone communities. The project was carried out in cooperation with three groups: Carleton University, the Centre for Innovative & Entrepreneurial Leadership (CIEL) and the Réseau d’investissement social du Québec. The project has established approximately 100 community vitality indicators in the areas of education, culture, and economic and social development. The partners also ensured the support and tele-training of participating communities.

In terms of promoting linguistic duality and the equality of status of English and French, Fisheries and Oceans Canada has distinguished itself by organizing themed tours of the hidden face of Quebec in cooperation with Quebec City’s English-speaking community. By way of guided tours, this project highlights the Anglophone community’s historic contributions to the city. Parks Canada and Service Canada participated in the project under Canadian Heritage’s Interdepartmental Partnership with Official Language Communities (IPOLC). Fisheries and Oceans Canada have provided financial support, and one of its representatives has participated in the project’s working committee, which is made up of members of Anglophone organizations, including the Literary and Historical Society of Quebec (LHSQ).

Regarding the promotion of linguistic duality, the work of Industry Canada must also be commended. It supported an initiative launched by Canadian Parents for French (British Columbia and Yukon branch) to create a new, highly interactive web site. This site is the primary source of information for Anglophones seeking training opportunities in French. In a similar vein, Industry Canada has worked closely with the British Columbia Société du développement économique to create a web site for Francophone tourism in the province and various activities related to the 2010 Olympic Winter Games.

The official languages champions at the Canadian Food Inspection Agency, in cooperation with the NCR official languages champion, organized a noteworthy event at the Ottawa central office in February 2006, allowing them to highlight the Agency’s commitment to official languages. An invitation was sent to all employees at the Agency’s Ottawa offices, and more than 300 came to an information booth set up in the entrance of the central office. Each person received an information kit containing, among other things, a toolkit filled with suggestions on how to maintain bilingual skills, hold bilingual meetings and ensure voice mail respects requirements with regards to service to the public. In total, coordinators prepared and distributed over 6,000 information kits throughout the Agency’s administrative regions.

Lastly, the efforts of Justice Canada, Manitoba Justice and the Association des juristes d’expression française du Manitoba (AJEFM)—three partners responsible for launching the campaign entitled Accès aux services juridiques en français—should be applauded. Thanks to financial support from the two levels of government, the AJEFM launched an awareness and promotional campaign entitled Mon droit, en français, mon choix. The Institut Joseph-Dubuc, a French-language legal training centre, was also a partner. The project aims to support Francophones working in the legal profession in Manitoba and increase awareness among Manitoban youth, senior citizens and Aboriginal peoples about accessibility to the judicial system in French.

Previous Page

Table of contents

Next Page

ARCHIVÉE - Chapitre 4

AvertissementLa Norme sur la facilité d'emploi des sites Web remplace ce contenu. Cette page Web a été archivée parce que les Normes sur la normalisation des sites Internet 2.0 ont étés annulées.

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

25 de 35


 LES BULLETINS DE RENDEMENT ET LES BELLES RÉUSSITES (suite)


Les belles réussites

Il est devenu habituel pour le Commissariat de présenter dans le rapport annuel un échantillon de belles réussites en matière de langues officielles. Cette année, les belles réussites se classent en quatre catégories40 :

  • Promotion de l’administration fédérale comme milieu de travail bilingue.

  • Utilisation du français et de l’anglais en milieu de travail.

  • Amélioration de la prestation du service au public dans la langue de la minorité linguistique.

  • Promotion du français et l’anglais.

Promotion de l’administration fédérale comme milieu de travail bilingue

Certaines institutions fédérales travaillent de concert avec des étudiants de niveau postsecondaire en vue de recruter du personnel bilingue. Par exemple, la Commission de la fonction publique du Canada et Ressources humaines et Développement social du Canada collaborent à une initiative de formation de formateurs dans la région du Québec. L’objectif du projet est de faire la promotion du programme de recrutement de la Commission auprès d’étudiants bilingues de niveau postsecondaire. Chaque année, durant les mois de mai et juin, en moyenne 150 étudiants suivent une formation d’une semaine qui présente la fonction publique comme un employeur de choix. La Commission a ainsi accru le nombre d’étudiants bilingues de niveau postsecondaire qui postulent pour des emplois d’été et des postes à temps plein dans les ministères fédéraux au Québec.

La Commission de la fonction publique du Canada emploie aussi des ambassadeurs étudiants qui s’affairent à promouvoir la fonction publique fédérale comme employeur de choix dans certaines universités sur le territoire québécois. L’Agence du revenu du Canada mène un projet similaire.

Utilisation du français et de l’anglais en milieu de travail

Certaines institutions font preuve d’innovation dans leurs façons de mener des réunions. En novembre 2006, Pêches et Océans Canada a décidé d’utiliser en alternance le français et l’anglais dans ses réunions de gestion. Cette pratique vise à perfectionner les aptitudes en communication des cadres supérieurs dans leur langue seconde. Depuis le début de l’initiative, la langue des réunions hebdomadaires du comité exécutif alterne du français à l’anglais. La documentation est distribuée dans les deux langues officielles. Une belle réussite, puisque les membres du comité font de gros efforts pour parfaire leurs compétences. L’Administration canadienne de la sûreté du transport aérien s’est inspirée de cette pratique. Depuis janvier 2007, la langue des réunions obligatoires des gestionnaires alterne elle aussi du français à l’anglais.

Par ailleurs, Statistique Canada a mis à la disposition des présidents et organisateurs de réunions une trousse d’information sur les réunions bilingues et a produit une vidéo intitulée Une réunion désagréable – An unpleasant meeting qui illustre les embûches d’une réunion bilingue mal menée.

Statistique Canada a aussi lancé un projet pilote pour favoriser le bilinguisme au sein de l’institution. Elle a embauché trois organisateurs qui voient au respect des méthodes de travail et au bon déroulement du travail en équipe. Ces personnes posent des diagnostics sur des problèmes particuliers et proposent des solutions en vue de promouvoir le renforcement ou le maintien d’un milieu propice à l’usage des deux langues officielles. Le projet pilote sera soumis à une évaluation au printemps 2007.

Amélioration de la prestation de service au public dans la langue de la minorité linguistique

Certaines institutions ont trouvé le moyen d’améliorer la formation linguistique offerte à leur effectif. À titre d’exemple, l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada, en partenariat avec le secteur privé, des collèges et des universités a mis sur pied un solide programme de formation linguistique. Elle a notamment établi des ententes avec l’École de la fonction publique du Canada et des ministères dans le but de partager les ressources matérielles et humaines. Voilà un bel exemple pour les autres ministères qui font appel aux services de formation linguistique de l’École de la fonction publique du Canada.

Par ailleurs, Statistique Canada s’est fixé l’objectif de faire en sorte que tous les postes de supervision soient occupés par des personnes bilingues à compter du 1er avril 2007. Son plan de transition prévoyait l’ouverture d’un centre de formation sur place pour résoudre les problèmes importants de retard et s’assurer que les titulaires satisfont aux exigences linguistiques requises le plus tôt possible. D’ailleurs, les postes de directeur et de chef de cette institution sont déjà obligatoirement bilingues, tandis que ceux de sous-chef le seront à partir d’avril 2007.

À la Société du Musée canadien des civilisations, la formation des nouveaux employés comprend un volet de sensibilisation aux langues officielles. De plus, pour assurer la qualité des services dans les deux langues, le Musée a inséré des questions relatives aux langues officielles dans son questionnaire détaillé qui sera distribué deux fois l’an aux visiteurs. Le Musée sondera ainsi près de 500 visiteurs annuellement. Enfin, le Musée suit un plan quinquennal de validation périodique des compétences linguistiques de tous les employés occupant un poste bilingue. Tous ces facteurs contribuent à assurer la qualité des services dans les deux langues officielles au sein de cette institution.

Pour améliorer l’accès à la justice dans les deux langues officielles ainsi que les communications avec le public et la prestation de services, le Groupe des présidents des tribunaux fédéraux41 a créé un groupe de travail sur les langues officielles. Le Groupe se rencontre régulièrement pour mettre en commun les connaissances et les expériences des divers tribunaux fédéraux. Il s’est notamment doté d’un cadre général de politiques sur les langues officielles pouvant être utilisé et adapté, au besoin, par chacun des tribunaux afin de tenir compte de leurs spécificités. La démarche lancée par les tribunaux fédéraux fait foi d’un désir de mieux comprendre la nature des obligations que leur impose la Loi en matière d’administration de la justice, notamment en ce qui concerne l’obligation de rendre disponibles leurs décisions dans les deux langues officielles.

L’unité de gestion de Parcs Canada à Jasper, en Alberta, offre gratuitement de l’espace de bureau à l’association francophone locale en échange de cours de français dispensés aux employés et aux membres de la collectivité. Depuis l’automne 2004, l’association offre 2 à 3 cours par année, et chaque cours attire de 35 à 45 personnes. Les cours sont offerts à raison de 2,5 heures par semaine et s’échelonnent sur une période de 8 semaines.

L’initiative Franco-allô, parrainée par Service Canada depuis 2004, constitue une autre belle réussite. Ce forum hebdomadaire, qui s’adressait au départ aux employés bilingues de l’institution à Edmonton, est maintenant offert à tous les employés du gouvernement fédéral et aux étudiants de l’École de la fonction publique du Canada qui s’intéressent à perfectionner leurs connaissances du français. Une douzaine de participants (pas toujours les mêmes) se rencontrent durant la pause-café pour discuter en français. Les participants sont aussi invités à faire des exercices de préparation en vue des prochaines rencontres. L’animatrice, une employée de Service Canada, envoie chaque semaine un courriel sur les activités de la communauté francophone en Alberta ainsi qu’une liste de difficultés de la langue française.

Promotion du français et de l’anglais

Dans le but de stimuler le développement des communautés de langue officielle, l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada informe les associations, les conseils et les médias des communautés de langue officielle de ses possibilités d’emploi. De plus, le coordonnateur des langues officielles de la région de Toronto rencontre des étudiants des collèges et des universités situés dans les bastions francophones de Sudbury, North Bay et Timmins pour promouvoir les possibilités d’emploi à l’Agence.

Il faut également mentionner le Comité directeur Citoyenneté et Immigration Canada – Communautés francophones en situation minoritaire. La coprésidence du Comité directeur est assurée par le sous-ministre adjoint aux Opérations de Citoyenneté et Immigration Canada, qui est champion des langues officielles, et un représentant des communautés choisi par la Fédération des communautés francophones et acadienne du Canada. À son tour, le Comité directeur a formé un comité chargé de coordonner et de promouvoir la mise en œuvre du Plan stratégique pour favoriser l’immigration au sein des communautés francophones en situation minoritaire (2006-2011) qui vise à favoriser l’immigration au sein des communautés francophones en situation minoritaire. Les deux comités travaillent en partenariat avec les provinces et territoires et les communautés.

De son côté, l’Agence de promotion économique du Canada atlantique a financé le projet PERCÉ (Programme d’entrepreneurship régional, communautaire et économique). Soumis par des groupes communautaires à vocation économique, le projet vise à contrer l’exode rural en sensibilisant les jeunes des communautés acadiennes et francophones de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard aux richesses économiques et culturelles de leur région. Il a aussi comme objectif d’encourager les jeunes à revenir dans la province pour parfaire leurs études universitaires en français. Mené au cours de l’été, le projet offre de la formation en matière de recherche d’emploi, un service de conseiller en orientation de carrière et des stages saisonniers d’une durée de 10 à 12 semaines en entreprise. Il jumelle également les entreprises de la province et les étudiants de façon à faciliter le retour de ces derniers. Au cours de l’année, 10 jeunes ont participé au projet PERCÉ.

Service Canada a aussi cherché à lutter contre l’exode des jeunes par l’entremise d’un projet intitulé Youth-Turn…Come Home to Gaspé! Le projet a été conçu pour s’arrimer à la Stratégie d’action jeunesse 2005-2008 du gouvernement provincial. Par ailleurs, l’idée de jumeler des étudiants et des entreprises a aussi fait l’objet d’un projet à l’Agence de développement économique du Canada pour les régions du Québec. Intitulé Opportunities through internship, ce projet permet à des jeunes anglophones du Québec d’obtenir un stage en entrepreneuriat à Montréal dans un environnement anglophone.

L’Agence de développement économique du Canada pour les régions du Québec a aussi fourni un appui financier à un projet pilote de deux ans visant à mesurer la vitalité des communautés anglophones du Québec. Le projet a été réalisé grâce à la collaboration de trois groupes : l’Université Carleton, le Centre for Innovation Entrepreneurship and Leadership et le Réseau d’investissement social du Québec. Dans le cadre du projet, les partenaires ont notamment établi une centaine d’indicateurs de la vitalité communautaire relevant des domaines de l’éducation, de la culture et du développement économique et social. Les partenaires ont aussi veillé à l’accompagnement et à la télé-formation des communautés participantes.

En ce qui concerne la promotion de la dualité linguistique et de l’égalité du statut du français et de l’anglais, Pêches et Océans Canada s’est distingué en organisant des visites thématiques de la face cachée du Québec en collaboration avec la communauté anglophone de la ville de Québec. Ce projet cherchait à faire connaître l’apport historique de la communauté anglophone à la ville grâce à des visites guidées. Parcs Canada et Service Canada ont participé au projet mené sous la bannière du Programme d’appui aux communautés de langue officielle (PICLO) de Patrimoine canadien. Pêches et Océans Canada a fourni son appui financier, et l’un de ses représentants a siégé au comité de travail du projet composé aussi de membres d’organismes anglophones, dont la Literacy and Historical Society of Quebec.

En matière de promotion de la dualité linguistique, il faut aussi souligner le travail d’Industrie Canada, qui a appuyé une initiative de Canadian Parents for French (bureau de la Colombie-Britannique et du Yukon) en vue de la création d’un nouveau site Web hautement interactif. Ce site constitue la source principale de renseignements destinés aux anglophones qui sont à la recherche d’occasions de formation en français ou de possibilités connexes. Dans le même ordre d’idées, Industrie Canada a travaillé en collaboration avec la Société du développement économique de la Colombie- Britannique en vue de créer un site Web axé sur le tourisme francophone en Colombie-Britannique et sur des activités liées aux Jeux Olympiques d’hiver de 2010.

Les responsables des langues officielles de l’Agence canadienne d’inspection des aliments, en collaboration avec le champion des langues officielles de la région de la capitale nationale, ont organisé un événement de marque au siège social d’Ottawa en février 2006. Ces champions du dossier ont ainsi pu mettre en évidence l’engagement de l’Agence à l’égard des langues officielles. Une invitation a été lancée à tous les employés des bureaux de l’Agence à Ottawa, et plus de 300 ont répondu à l’appel en se présentant à un kiosque d’information installé à l’entrée du siège social. Chacun a reçu une trousse d’information contenant, entre autres, un coffre à outils rempli de suggestions pour maintenir son niveau de bilinguisme, tenir des réunions bilingues et s’assurer que sa boîte vocale respecte les exigences en matière de service au public. Les coordonnateurs ont préparé et distribué plus de 6000 trousses dans les régions administratives de l’Agence.

En terminant, notons les efforts de Justice Canada, de Justice Manitoba et de l’Association des juristes d’expression française du Manitoba (AJEFM), des partenaires qui ont travaillé au lancement de la campagne Accès aux services juridiques en français. Grâce à l’appui financier des deux ordres de gouvernement, l’AJEFM a lancé la campagne de sensibilisation et de promotion Mon droit, en français, mon choix. L’Institut Joseph-Dubuc, un centre de formation juridique en français, était aussi partenaire. Le projet visait à appuyer les juristes de langue française du Manitoba et à sensibiliser les jeunes, les aînés et les autochtones du Manitoba à l’accessibilité au système judiciaire en français.

Page précédente

Table des matières

Page suivante