ARCHIVED - Canadian Food Inspection Agency 2008-2009

WarningThe Standard on Web Usability replaces this content. This content is archived because Common Look and Feel 2.0 Standards have been rescinded.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

2008-2009 Report Card
Canadian Food Inspection Agency

Official Languages Program Management (15%)

Rating

The Canadian Food Inspection Agency (CFIA) has developed an official languages strategic plan for 2008–2013. The Plan describes the specific activities to be taken by the CFIA to meet its official languages obligations under Parts IV, V, VI and VII. The Strategic Plan is a detailed document that describes the various official languages activities to take place over a five-year period. Many of the activities related to managing and administering the official languages program repeat from year to year, such as completing and submitting the Official Languages Annual Report to the Canada Public Service Agency and monitoring data on official languages. As a result, many of the activities in the plan are described as ongoing.

The Plan is updated periodically according to changes in government priorities and new initiatives undertaken by the Agency. The activities listed in the Plan are reviewed regularly.

Last year’s report card for the CFIA called for improvements in service to the public in both official languages and in the use of each official language in the workplace. In response to the Office of the Commissioner’s 2007–2008 observations, the CFIA followed up with every office where service in both official languages was not adequate. Corrective actions were discussed and implemented at each office to ensure quality service.

With respect to service to the public, the CFIA plans to conduct an internal monitoring exercise at all CFIA offices with official languages obligations. Results are to be shared with senior management, and corrective actions are to be taken where deficiencies exist. The first exercise is scheduled for early spring 2009. Furthermore, when external organizations such as the Canada Public Service Agency and the Office of the Commissioner of Official Languages conduct audits within the CFIA, the Agency follows up with the respective managers in offices where corrective measures are required.

Last year, the CFIA had 16 designated offices without bilingual capacity. Action plans have been developed to correct the situation, and the Agency continually monitors these offices. The number of offices without bilingual capacity has now been reduced to 11. The CFIA’s plan is to continue the monitoring of these offices on a semi-annual basis, but no specific measures or target dates have been adopted to ensure the full compliance of all offices.

The CFIA submits an annual review on official languages to the Canada Public Service Agency. Last year, it provided a targeted review on service to the public. The CFIA is not obligated to provide a report on Part VII to Canadian Heritage.

The CFIA continues to promote the importance of respecting the use of each official language in the workplace. A communiqué was sent to all employees on this specific topic.

Although measures are in place, the CFIA must intensify its efforts and actions to improve its capacity to offer quality services in both official languages at all times. It must also make the organization’s workplace conducive to the use of English and French, and be more instrumental in fostering linguistic duality and the development of official language minority communities (OLMCs).

The CFIA is committed to working with the Office of the Commissioner to resolve complaints, and cooperates fully with the Office of the Commissioner’s employees in this regard. Very few complaints against the CFIA were received during 2008–2009.

B

Service to the Public Part IV of the Official Languages Act (30%)

According to observations of service in person made by the Office of the Commissioner between June and December 2008, an active visual offer was present in 83% of cases, an active offer by staff was made in 17% of cases, while service in the language of the linguistic minority was available in 72.5% of cases.

According to observations of service on the telephone made by the Office of the Commissioner between June and December 2008, an active offer by staff or by an automated system was made in 100% of cases, while service in the language of the linguistic minority was available in 91.4% of cases.

According to observations of service by e-mail made by the Office of the Commissioner between September and December 2008, the availability of service is comparable for both linguistic groups 88.9% of the time, and benefits Francophones 11.1% of the time. However, the response time is, on average, 5.76 hours longer in French than in English.

B

Language of Work  Part V of the Official Languages Act (25%)

The survey conducted by Statistics Canada on behalf of the Office of the Commissioner showed that, overall, 69% of Francophone respondents in the National Capital Region (NCR), New Brunswick and the bilingual regions of Ontario "strongly agreed" or "mostly agreed" with the language of work regime. In Quebec, 54% of Anglophone respondents were of the same opinion.

For both categories of respondents, the satisfaction rate by question is presented below.

Survey Questions

Anglophone Respondents

Francophone Respondents

The material and tools provided for my work, including software and other automated tools, are available in the official language of my choice.

75%

84%

When I prepare written materials, including electronic mail, I feel free to use the official language of my choice.

45%

60%

When I communicate with my immediate supervisor, I feel free to use the official language of my choice.

55%

72%

During meetings in my work unit, I feel free to use the official language of my choice.

40%

57%

The training offered by my work unit is in the official language of my choice.

55%

72%

D

Participation of English-speaking and French-speaking Canadians  Part VI of the Official Languages Act (10%)

Overall, the workforce is 26% Francophone.

In Quebec, excluding the NCR, the workforce is 3% Anglophone.

(Source: CFIA, March 4, 2009)

C

Development of Official Language Minority Communities and Promotion of Linguistic Duality  Part VII of the Official Languages Act (20%)

The corporate official languages coordinator is responsible for overseeing all aspects of the Act, including Part VII, and for communicating such information (development of OLMCs and promotion of linguistic duality) within the organization. The CFIA also has a network of official languages champions comprised of a national champion, five area champions, five area human resources leads and the corporate official languages coordinator. Network members meet regularly to discuss official languages issues and best practices. In addition, the CFIA’s national official languages champion was recently appointed member of the Council of the Network of Official Languages Champions. Furthermore, CFIA employees across Canada attend their respective Federal Councils, where OLMC matters are discussed.

The CFIA should develop a more formal approach to ensure a better understanding of the impact of its daily operations on OLMCs and on the promotion of linguistic duality.

Although the CFIA does not have a formal process to identify the needs of OLMCs, regional managers across Canada are responsible for knowing the demographics and official languages requirements of their clients and the OLMCs served by their regional offices.

The CFIA continues to work with Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada to become better acquainted with the needs of OLMCs and how best to meet those needs.

The Agency continues to use its quality manual for policy and publication development. The Quality Manual explains the guidelines and processes to be followed to ensure that Part VII of the Official Languages Act is taken into consideration throughout the process. The CFIA continues to distribute all its publications, including emergency food recall alerts, to the public in both official languages at all times.

The CFIA published three articles in Contact, its internal newsletter, on the topic of official languages. An article entitled “Supporting our Official Language Minority Communities” was released in September 2008, a second article, “Respecting employees like we respect the Canadian public,” was released in November 2008 and a third article, entitled “Providing service to the public in both official languages,” was published in March 2009.

In March 2008, the CFIA held an official languages event with the theme “There are Champions amongst us” to coincide with the Rendez-vous de la Francophonie. Official languages toolkits were handed out, and awareness of official languages was raised through an interactive game and questionnaire.

The CFIA is a partner in the Food for Health travelling exhibition and Web site. The travelling exhibition is bilingual and will be touring across Canada. It will be accessible in both official languages to the Canadian public.

The CFIA continues to use its national recruitment kit, which includes a link for all new or transferred employees indicating where they can obtain information on services in the minority language (schools, theatres and businesses). The goal is to allow employees to continue living in their official language, and to contribute to the development of OLMCs.

The above-mentioned measures constitute a first step, but will have to be paired with additional efforts so the CFIA can play a more significant role in the development of OLMCs and the advancement of English and French.

C

Overall Rating

C

ARCHIVÉE - Agence canadienne d’inspection des aliments 2008-2009

AvertissementLa Norme sur la facilité d'emploi des sites Web remplace ce contenu. Cette page Web a été archivée parce que les Normes sur la normalisation des sites Internet 2.0 ont étés annulées.

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Bulletin de rendement 2008-2009
Agence canadienne d’inspection des aliments

Gestion du programme des langues officielles
(15 %)

Note

L’Agence canadienne d’inspection des aliments (ACIA) a dressé un plan stratégique pour les langues officielles pour la période 2008-2013. Ce plan quinquennal décrit les diverses activités qui seront entreprises par l’ACIA afin de satisfaire à ses obligations en vertu des parties IV, V, VI et VII. Bon nombre des activités ayant trait à la gestion et à l’administration du programme des langues officielles, telles que la préparation et la remise d’un rapport annuel concernant les langues officielles à l’Agence de la fonction publique du Canada et le suivi des données sur les langues officielles, doivent être effectuées chaque année. Par conséquent, elles sont présentées dans le plan comme étant des activités courantes.

Le plan est continuellement mis à jour en fonction des nouvelles initiatives de l’Agence et des changements qui sont apportés aux priorités du gouvernement. Les activités énumérées sont réévaluées sur une base régulière.

Selon son bulletin de rendement de l’an passé, l’ACIA devait déployer davantage d’efforts afin d’améliorer la prestation des services au public dans les deux langues officielles ainsi que l’utilisation du français et de l’anglais au travail. Comme suite à l’exercice d’observation 2007-2008 du Commissariat, l’ACIA a effectué un suivi auprès de chacun de ses bureaux où la prestation des services dans les deux langues officielles n’avait pas été jugée adéquate. Après discussion, des mesures correctives y ont été mises en œuvre afin d’assurer la qualité du service.

En ce qui concerne le service au public, le plan actuel indique que tous les bureaux de l’ACIA ayant des obligations en matière de langues officielles feront l’objet d’un contrôle interne. Les résultats seront transmis à la haute direction, et des mesures correctives seront mises en place en cas de lacunes. Un premier contrôle aura lieu au début du printemps 2009. De plus, lorsque des organismes externes, tels que l'Agence de la fonction publique du Canada ou le Commissariat aux langues officielles, procèdent à des vérifications, l’ACIA fait un suivi auprès des gestionnaires concernés dans les bureaux où des mesures correctives s’imposent.

L’année dernière, 16 bureaux de l’ACIA désignés pour offrir des services bilingues n’étaient pas en mesure de le faire. Des plans d’action ont donc été élaborés afin de rectifier le tir, et l’ACIA suit ces bureaux de près. Le nombre de bureaux dans cette situation est tombé à 11 cette année. L’ACIA a l’intention de continuer à surveiller ces bureaux sur une base semestrielle; cependant, aucune mesure précise ni date limite n’ont été fixées pour assurer la conformité de tous les bureaux.

Chaque année, l’ACIA remet un rapport sur les langues officielles à l’Agence de la fonction publique du Canada. L’année dernière, elle a remis un bilan ciblé de sa prestation de services au public. L’ACIA n’est pas tenue de remettre à Patrimoine canadien un rapport sur la partie VII.

L’ACIA continue de promouvoir l’importance de respecter l’utilisation de chacune des deux langues officielles au travail. Un communiqué à ce sujet a été distribué à tous ses employés.

Bien qu’elle ait mis en place certaines mesures, l’ACIA devra intensifier ses efforts et ses actions afin d’améliorer sa capacité d’offrir en tout temps des services de qualité dans les deux langues officielles, de faire de son organisation un milieu de travail propice à l’usage du français et de l’anglais, et de contribuer davantage à la promotion de la dualité linguistique et à l’épanouissement des communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire (CLOSM).

L’ACIA est déterminée à travailler avec le Commissariat aux langues officielles afin de résoudre les plaintes et elle collabore pleinement avec les employés du Commissariat tout au long du processus. Il y a eu très peu de plaintes à l’endroit de l’ACIA au cours de l’exercice 2008-2009.

B

Service au public - Partie IV de la Loi sur les officielles (30 %)

D’après les observations sur le service en personne réalisées par le Commissariat entre juin et décembre 2008, l’offre active visuelle était présente dans 83 % des cas, l’offre active par les préposés était faite dans 17 % des cas, tandis que le service dans la langue de la minorité linguistique était disponible dans 72,5 % des cas.

D’après les observations sur le service au téléphone réalisées par le Commissariat entre juin et décembre 2008, l’offre active par les préposés ou par un système automatisé était faite dans 100 % des cas, tandis que le service dans la langue de la minorité linguistique était disponible dans 91,4 % des cas.

D’après les observations sur le service par courriel réalisées par le Commissariat entre septembre et décembre 2008, la disponibilité des services offerts par l’institution est comparable pour les deux groupes linguistiques 88,9 % du temps; elle est à l’avantage des francophones 11,1 % du temps. Toutefois, le délai de réponse est, en moyenne, 5,76 heures plus long en français qu’en anglais.

B

Langue de travail - Partie V de la Loi sur les langues officielles (25 %)

Le sondage effectué par Statistique Canada pour le compte du Commissariat a établi que 69 % de l’ensemble des répondants francophones de la région de la capitale nationale (RCN), du Nouveau-Brunswick et des régions bilingues de l’Ontario étaient « entièrement d’accord » ou « plutôt d’accord » avec le régime de la langue de travail. Au Québec, la proportion de répondants anglophones du même avis se situait à 54 %.

Voici les taux de satisfaction obtenus pour les deux catégories de répondants, selon les différentes questions.

Questions du sondage

Répondants francophones

Répondants anglophones

Le matériel et les outils de travail mis à ma disposition dans le cadre de mon travail, y compris les logiciels et les autres outils informatisés, sont disponibles dans la langue officielle de mon choix.

84 %

75 %

Lorsque je rédige des documents, y compris des courriels, je me sens libre de le faire dans la langue officielle de mon choix.

60 %

45 %

Lorsque je communique avec mon (ma) superviseur(e) immédiat(e), je me sens libre de le faire dans la langue de mon choix.

 

72 %

55 %

Durant les réunions de mon unité de travail, je me sens libre d’utiliser la langue officielle de mon choix.

57 %

40 %

Mon organisation offre de la formation dans la langue officielle de mon choix.

72 %

55 %

D

Participation des Canadiens d’expression française et d’expression anglaise - Partie VI de la Loi sur les langues officielles (10 %)

Dans l’ensemble du Canada, l’effectif est composé à 26 % de francophones.

Au Québec, en excluant la RCN, l’effectif est composé à 3 % d’anglophones.

(Source : ACIA, 4 mars 2009)

C

Développement des communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire et promotion de la dualité linguistique - Partie VII (20 %)

Il incombe au coordonnateur des langues officielles de l’ACIA de veiller à l’application de chacun des aspects de la Loi sur les langues officielles, y compris la partie VII. En outre, il doit diffuser l’information concernant le développement des CLOSM et la promotion de la dualité linguistique au sein de l’organisation. L’ACIA dispose d’un réseau de champions des langues officielles, composé d’un champion national, de cinq champions régionaux, de cinq porte-parole aux ressources humaines et du coordonnateur des langues officielles. Les membres de ce réseau se réunissent régulièrement pour discuter des dossiers et des pratiques exemplaires en matière de langues officielles. De plus, le champion national de l’ACIA a récemment été désigné pour siéger au Conseil du Réseau des champions ministériels des langues officielles, tandis que des employés de l’ACIA de partout au Canada participent à leur conseil fédéral respectif, où sont discutées les questions relatives aux CLOSM.

L’ACIA gagnerait à établir une approche formelle afin de mieux définir les répercussions de ses opérations quotidiennes sur les CLOSM et la promotion de la dualité linguistique.

Même si l’ACIA ne dispose pas d’une procédure officielle pour déterminer les besoins des CLOSM, il incombe aux gestionnaires régionaux de partout au Canada de connaître les données démographiques et les besoins en matière de langues officielles de leur clientèle et de ces communautés dans leur région.

L’ACIA poursuit sa collaboration avec Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada afin de se familiariser avec les besoins des CLOSM, de façon à pouvoir mieux y répondre.

L’ACIA continue d’utiliser son manuel de contrôle de la qualité pour l’élaboration des politiques et des publications. Ce manuel explique les directives et la procédure à suivre pour faire en sorte que l’on tienne compte, tout au long du processus, de la partie VII de la Loi. L’ACIA continue d’offrir ses publications, y compris les avis de rappel d’aliments, dans les deux langues officielles.

L’ACIA a publié trois articles concernant les langues officielles dans Contact, son bulletin interne : « Soutenir nos communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire », en septembre 2008, « Respecter nos employés au même titre que la population canadienne », en novembre 2008, et « Offrir des services au public dans les deux langues officielles », en mars 2009.

En mars 2008, l’ACIA a tenu une activité consacrée aux langues officielles qui avait pour thème « Il y a des champions parmi nous » et qui coïncidait avec Les rendez-vous de la Francophonie. On y a remis des boîtes à outils linguistiques, organisé un jeu interactif et distribué un questionnaire dans le but de sensibiliser les participants aux langues officielles.

L’ACIA est partenaire de l’exposition itinérante La santé à petites bouchées, qui prendra l’affiche partout au pays dans les deux langues officielles, et du site Web connexe.

L’ACIA continue de distribuer sa trousse de recrutement destinée à tous les nouveaux employés ainsi qu’aux employés qui sont mutés. Cette trousse comprend l’adresse d’un site Web qui leur indique où obtenir des renseignements sur les services offerts dans la langue de la minorité (écoles, cinémas et entreprises) de sorte qu’ils puissent continuer à vivre dans leur langue officielle, tout en contribuant au développement de leur CLOSM.

Les mesures précitées constituent un premier pas, mais elles devront s’accompagner d’autres d’efforts afin que l’ACIA joue un rôle plus important dans l’épanouissement des CLOSM et de la promotion du français et de l’anglais.

C

Note Globale

C