Two official languages worth celebrating

(NC)—It’s one of those anniversaries that may slip by most Canadians. After all, having the right to speak French or English in Canada is no big deal, right?

Actually, there was a time in Canada when having the right to work, be educated or obtain service in the language of your choice was not protected by law. Canada has only legally protected language rights since 1969, when the Official Languages Act came into being. Legally enshrined linguistic duality has become such a part of our national identity that many of us just assume it was always that way. Think again.

The story of official bilingualism in Canada dates back to 1962, when Canadian nationalist, politician, journalist (and some say visionary) André Laurendeau first suggested the idea.

Prime Minister Lester B. Pearson created the Laurendeau-Dunton Commission (officially known as the Royal Commission on Bilingualism and Biculturalism), which sat for eight years before the Official Languages Act was enshrined in 1969. It was this act that officially declared English and French as Canada’s official languages.

Since then, Canadians have benefited from a legally enshrined, bilingual country. Today, by using English and French as official languages, the Government of Canada can communicate with more than 98% of the Canadian population.

2009 marks the 40th anniversary of the Official Languages Act. “Placing value on Canada's two official languages is an investment in the future, from a professional, personal and cultural perspective,” says Official Languages Commissioner Graham Fraser.

There is more information available about official languages on the Office of the Commissioner of Official Languages website at www.officiallanguages.gc.ca.

- News Canada
Word Count: 263

Deux langues officielles qui valent d’être célébrées

(EN)—C’est un de ces anniversaires qui échappent à plusieurs Canadiens. Après tout, le droit de parler français ou anglais au Canada n’a rien d’extraordinaire, n’est-ce pas?

En fait, à une certaine époque, aucune loi ne garantissait aux Canadiens le droit de travailler, d’étudier ou d’obtenir des services dans la langue de leur choix. Le Canada ne protège les droits linguistiques par des lois que depuis 1969, et c’est là que la Loi sur les langues officielles est devenue une réalité. La dualité linguistique enchâssée dans la loi fait tellement partie de notre identité nationale, désormais, que nombre d’entre nous présument qu’il en a toujours été ainsi. Erreur!

L’histoire du bilinguisme officiel au Canada remonte à 1962, alors que le journaliste, politicien et nationaliste canadien (certains diront même visionnaire) André Laurendeau est le premier à évoquer ce concept.

Le premier ministre Lester B. Pearson a mis sur pied la Commission Laurendeau-Dunton (dont le nom officiel est Commission royale d’enquête sur le bilinguisme et le biculturalisme). Celle-ci a siégé pendant huit ans avant que ne soit promulguée la Loi sur les langues officielles en 1969. C’est cette loi qui faisait officiellement du français et de l’anglais les langues officielles du Canada.

Depuis, la population canadienne a l’avantage de vivre dans un pays dont le bilinguisme est reconnu par la loi. Aujourd’hui, en utilisant le français et l’anglais comme langues officielles, le gouvernement du Canada peut communiquer avec plus de 98 % de la population.

L’année 2009 marque le 40e anniversaire de la Loi sur les langues officielles. « Reconnaître la valeur des deux langues officielles du Canada est un investissement dans l’avenir, d’un point de vue tant professionnel que personnel et culturel », déclare le commissaire aux langues officielles, Graham Fraser.

Vous trouverez plus d’information sur les langues officielles dans le site Web du Commissariat aux langues officielles, à www.languesofficielles.gc.ca.

 - L’édition Nouvelles
Nombre de mots : 309