ARCHIVED - Canada Border Services Agency 2007-2008

WarningThe Standard on Web Usability replaces this content. This content is archived because Common Look and Feel 2.0 Standards have been rescinded.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

 Report Card 2007–2008
Canada Border Services Agency

Factors and Criteria

Summary of Substantiating Data

Rating

Management (15%)

(a) An accountability framework, an action plan and accountability mechanisms are in place
(5%)

The accountability framework for the Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA) was approved on November 29, 2006. It was disseminated to the entire organization in May 2007 by means of a communiqué from a Vice-President of the CBSA. The framework specifies how the duties under Parts IV, V, VI and VII of the Official Languages Act (the Act) are to be carried out, and explains how the work is to be coordinated among all the stakeholders. The framework also contains a section on the monitoring of official languages (OL) at the CBSA, which provides specific performance indicators.

The CBSA has developed a road map for OL that serves as an action plan and takes into account the four key principles of its OL strategy: policy development, monitoring, education and awareness, and language training. This road map, which was approved by the Management Committee in 2005, covers Parts IV, V, VI and VII of the Act and encompasses all of the CBSA’s OL priorities, including the priorities that were established following the audit of airport border crossings by the Canada Public Service Agency (CPSA) and the Office of the Commissioner. It specifies objectives to be achieved, time frames and the actions required to achieve the objectives. The annual work plans are based on this road map.

Periodic updates on the progress being made on the road map are provided to and discussed by the Management Committee. The OL Division and the OL Coordinators' Network participate in this exercise. Middle and senior managers' performance management agreements include OL objectives.

A

(b) Visibility of official languages in the organization (5%)

The strategic plan for 2006–2008 developed by the Human Resources Branch addresses OL issues in its strategies to recruit the qualified and representative workforce required to carry out its mandate. More specifically, it deals with language training and language skills retention to increase the Agency's bilingual capacity.

The CBSA’s 2006–2007 Performance Report includes a section on OL. The CBSA’s 2006–2007 Report on Plans and Priorities addresses the development of an integrated human resources plan for 2008–2009, which includes OL.

OL were broached in 2007 by the Human Resources Committee, whose members include the OL Champion, the vice-presidents and the President of the CBSA.

The Director of OL, who is also responsible for Part VII, meets with the Champion on a monthly basis to discuss OL-related issues.

The CBSA is aware of the importance of taking OL into consideration during internal audits, but OL are not part of the audit plan at this time.

B

(c) Complaints and follow-up (5%)

The CBSA refers to its directive on the resolution of OL complaints when resolving complaints. The directive was approved by the Management Committee on November 29, 2006, and published on May 1, 2007. It takes complaints filed with the Office of the Commissioner into consideration as well as complaints submitted directly to the CBSA.

The CBSA uses an electronic tracking system to document and monitor the status of complaints. When a complaint is received, it is recorded and forwarded to the OL coordinator of the region or the branch that is the subject of the complaint. The OL Coordinator and the appropriate manager investigate the complaint and prepare a response, which is then forwarded to the appropriate director general. The OL Division reviews the response before sending it to the Office of the Commissioner.

The regional director and the human resources director are informed of OL complaints. The Champion is also informed, as well as the President of the CBSA, who monitoring the situation of OL in the institution.

A

Subtotal:

A

Service to the public—Part IV (25%)

(a) Bilingual services advertised to the public and sufficient bilingual staff (3%)
 

In partnership with the CPSA and Statistics Canada, the CBSA reviewed the application of Part IV of the Act (Communications with and Services to the Public) at all Agency ports of entry. Further to the restructuring of 2003, regional coordinators identified bilingual offices. In November 2007, the required updates were sent to the CPSA to update the information on the CBSA offices in Burolis. 

When offices are closed or moved, the Comptrollership Branch sends this information to the Manager of OL, who subsequently asks the CPSA to update Burolis.

In total, 89% of employees in bilingual positions serving the public meet the language requirements of their position (Source: Position and Classification Information System [PCIS], March 31, 2007).

B

(b) Observations on active offer and service delivery (15%)

According to observations of service in person made by the Office of the Commissioner between mid-June and mid-July 2007, an active visual offer was present in 92% of cases, an active offer by staff was made in 27% of cases, and service in the language of the linguistic minority was adequate in 79% of cases.

According to observations of service on the telephone made by the Office of the Commissioner between mid-June and mid-July 2007, an active offer by staff or by an automated system was made in 97% of cases, while service in the language of the linguistic minority was adequate in 91% of cases.

C

(c) Service agreements delivered by third parties or in partnership provide for the delivery of bilingual services (2%)

A standard language clause is part of the template used to prepare agreements for the delivery of services by third parties.

There are no control mechanisms in place to verify whether services delivered by third parties are provided in both OL and are of good quality.

B

(d) Policy on service to the public and bilingual services quality monitoring (5%)

The CBSA has developed a policy on communications with and services to the public. The policy specifies the CBSA's institutional obligations and those of its employees who work in bilingual offices. It also makes all staff aware of the Agency's commitment to respect the equality of English and French. This policy was disseminated to all employees on May 1, 2007.

Employees who provide services to the public are advised on how to deliver these services through information sessions provided by regional coordinators. The content of these sessions differs according to target audience: managers, bilingual employees or unilingual employees. A training session for CBSA officers on active offer was held for the Toronto region and the Prairies.

The frequency of these reminders varies from region to region. Some regions have also developed information kits for employees. The Manager of OL hosts discussions on service delivery at management tables to ensure employees fully understand their obligations and the rationale behind these obligations.

The Windsor–St. Clair region is continuing the systematic presentations on active offer and the OL program at the CBSA for all new officers.

On November 1, the manager of the OL program went to the Northern Ontario region to clarify certain perceptions about active offer at the division in order to convey a clear message on active offer to employees.

The director of human resources and the manager of the OL program went to Lester B. Pearson International Airport to make directors and employees aware of the importance of making an active offer. Since then, a list of bilingual employees on duty is systematically given to all unilingual employees.

Coordinators for the Greater Toronto Area have developed a pocket translator that contains key phrases to be used when a unilingual employee must refer a client to a bilingual employee. These tools have been distributed to all unilingual employees. In addition, two full-time French teachers are now available to help employees who want to improve their French skills.

Regional OL coordinators and superintendents perform regular spot checks to verify the availability and quality of services to the public in the official language of the linguistic minority. The performance appraisals of bilingual employees who provide services to the public include OL objectives.

An audit of active offer was carried out by telephone on October 20, 2007, at all offices designated bilingual for the purposes of communications with and services to the public.

B

Specific problem

One specific problem that is in the process of being resolved is the provision of services in French at the CBSA service counters at Toronto’s Lester B. Pearson International Airport and at border crossings in Ontario.

 

Subtotal:

C*

Language of work—Part V (25%)

(a) Language of work policy and adequate bilingual supervision (12.5%)
 

The CBSA has developed a policy on the OL of work. The policy specifies language of work obligations in the following areas for bilingual and unilingual regions: supervision, personal and central services, training and development, work instruments, internal communications and the language of meetings. This policy came into effect on May 1, 2007.

The CBSA has developed a preparatory kit for language training and a kit on language retention, which are distributed to all employees who go on language training in order to improve their chances of successfully completing the course and retaining their second language skills.
A bilingual glossary for the CBSA is available on the intranet. Management Committee meetings take place in both OL.

A training session on language of work was provided to, among others, CBSA employees in the Atlantic region, and explained the communications protocol between regions. Orientation manuals on OL for managers and employees are being developed, including a policy on language training and language skills retention.

Language of work tools, such as signature blocks, bilingual voice mail messages and automatic out-of-office e-mail messages, have been distributed to management and employees.

Recruitment at the CBSA emphasizes hiring and training bilingual staff. An extensive awareness campaign is now underway to this effect.

French teachers have been hired at Pearson Airport to facilitate French learning and make CBSA employees aware of linguistic duality.

In total, 94% of executives holding bilingual positions are bilingual, while 86% of supervisors in bilingual regions meet the requirements of their respective positions (Source: PCIS, March 31, 2007).

B

(b) Use of each official language in the workplace (12.5%)

The CBSA is using the results of the Public Service Employee Survey and other internal surveys conducted by the regions, branches and divisions to verify whether the policy on the OL of work is being applied. It also uses the results of the performance appraisals of bilingual managers who have supervisory duties and of bilingual employees who provide personal and central services, because these contain OL objectives. The presence or absence of language of work complaints also serves as an indicator to verify whether the policy is being applied. The Manager of OL and the OL coordinators monitor employees' signatures on e-mails, intranet postings and extended out-of-office messages.

Regional coordinators report to senior management on language of work once a year.

The CBSA will use the CPSA’s OL campaign to remind all its employees of the importance of OL in the workplace.

The survey conducted by Statistics Canada on behalf of the Office of the Commissioner showed that, overall, 656% of Francophone respondents in the National Capital Region, New Brunswick and the bilingual regions of Ontario "strongly agreed" or "mostly agreed" with the language of work regime. In Quebec, 73% of Anglophone respondents "strongly agreed" or "mostly agreed" with the language of work regime.

C

Subtotal: 

C

Equitable participationPart VI (10%)

(a) Percentage of Francophone participation throughout Canada (5%)

Overall, the workforce is 23.1% Francophone (Source: PCIS, March 31, 2007).
 

A

(b) Percentage of Anglophone participation in Quebec (5%)

In Quebec, the workforce is 13.3% Anglophone (Source: PCIS, March 31, 2007).

A

Subtotal: 

A

Development of official language minority communities and promotion of linguistic duality—Part VII (25%)

 

The promotion of linguistic duality and the development of official language minority communities (OLMCs) are mentioned in the CBSA’s accountability framework.

The CBSA has developed an action plan as well as an accountability framework for Part VII, detailing steps to take and positive measures to implement to meet its obligations. These documents should be approved in March 2008.

Senior management attended awareness sessions in 2006, but no sessions were held in 2007.

When assessing Treasury Board submissions, the CBSA takes into account OL repercussions on OLMCs and the promotion of the equal status of English and French.

A Part VII coordinator was appointed in September 2007. Awareness sessions on the needs of OLMCs were held with OL coordinators, directors and managers in order to share and explain the information provided by Canadian Heritage. 

OL regional coordinators have begun consulting with regional and national advocacy associations, and have begun establishing partnerships with other federal institutions.

Employees who develop policies and programs that can have an effect on the promotion of linguistic duality were indirectly made aware of their obligation to take positive measures through the awareness campaign organized by the CBSA’s OL Division.

Certain policies and programs have been reviewed to identify those that have an impact on the promotion of linguistic duality. Such was the case during the human resources planning exercise. However, generally speaking, only new programs and policies are reviewed and include a section on OLMCs and linguistic duality.

 

(a) Development of official language minority communities (12.5%)

 

Regional coordinators liaise with OLMCs at the regional level. A list of the relevant advocacy associations was shared with the regional coordinators, who were asked to contact these associations so they are aware of each other.

The Vancouver region is involved in OLMC development through its promotion of the recruitment of bilingual students for summer jobs and the recruitment of permanent bilingual employees for the 2010 Olympic Games.

Regional perspective is taken into account, as was the case in the Atlantic region, where the regional coordinator contacted New Brunswick’s OLMCs.

The CBSA works with departments that are members of the Public Safety Portfolio in order to take a coordinated approach to ensuring cooperation with OLMCs. Meetings to this effect take place two to three times per year.

The Pacific region office regularly distributes recruitment campaign brochures to employment centres. This office has also been distributing these brochures to local French-language colleges and universities (Éducacentre/Simon Fraser University) since October. The office in the Niagara–Fort Erie region is highly involved in Welland’s Francophone community, and brochures are also sent to various Francophone centres. The office in the Greater Toronto Area participated in the York University job fair.
The CBSA has established ties with certain institutions, such as the Cité collégiale and the University of Ottawa, in order to develop a partnership to make Francophone students aware of employment opportunities at the CBSA.

B

(b) Promotion of linguistic duality (12.5%)

 

The implementation of a solid language training program has helped to promote the equal status and use of English and French. The CBSA works in partnership with the private sector, colleges and universities to deliver language training, and has signed agreements with the Canada School of Public Service (CSPS) and other departments to share resources (instructors and facilities). The CSPS encourages other departments to use the CBSA model.

The CBSA continues to encourage employees from outside Quebec to switch positions for a determined period of time with employees in Quebec to raise awareness of Canada’s linguistic duality.

Notices about competitions are sent to federal associations or councils in certain regions and placed in newspapers and other media.

The CBSA training college in Rigaud now includes an OL component in employees’ basic training to promote the equal status of English and French.

The Atlantic region is highly involved in the 29th Jeux de l’Acadie. The office is encouraging CBSA employees to volunteer to organize events. All regions participate in the Semaine de la Francophonie.

B

Subtotal: 

B

OVERALL RATING

B

ARCHIVÉE - Agence des services frontaliers du Canada 2007-2008

AvertissementLa Norme sur la facilité d'emploi des sites Web remplace ce contenu. Cette page Web a été archivée parce que les Normes sur la normalisation des sites Internet 2.0 ont étés annulées.

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Bulletin de rendement 2007-2008
Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC)

Facteurs et critères

Résumé des données justificatives

Note

Gestion (15 %)

a) Un cadre de responsabilisation, un plan d’action et des mécanismes de reddition de comptes sont en place
(5 %)

Le Cadre de responsabilisation de l’ASFC a été approuvé le 29 novembre 2006. Ce dernier a été communiqué en mai 2007 à l’ensemble de l’organisation par l’entremise d’un communiqué du vice-président de l’ASFC. Le Cadre précise les modalités d'exécution des obligations prévues aux parties IV, V, VI et VII de la Loi sur les langues officielles (la Loi) et comprend des informations relatives à la coordination du travail entre tous ces intervenants. Le Cadre contient également une section sur la surveillance des LO à l'ASFC qui est accompagnée d'indicateurs de rendement précis.

En guise de Plan d'action, l'ASFC a élaboré une feuille de route pour les langues officielles qui tient compte des quatre principes essentiels de sa stratégie en matière de langues officielles : l'élaboration de politiques, la surveillance, l'éducation et la sensibilisation et la formation linguistique. Cette feuille de route, qui a été approuvée par le Comité de gestion en 2005 et porte sur les parties IV, V, VI, VII de la Loi et englobe toutes les priorités sur les LO de l'ASFC, incluant les priorités établies à la suite de la vérification des postes frontaliers dans les aéroports par l'Agence de la fonction publique du Canada (AFPC) et le Commissariat. Elle contient des objectifs à atteindre, des échéanciers ainsi que les mesures à prendre pour atteindre les objectifs. Les plans de travail annuels s’inspirent de cette feuille de route.

Une mise à jour des progrès de la réalisation des activités que comprend la feuille de route est effectuée de façon périodique et discutée au Comité de gestion. La Division des LO et le Réseau des coordonnateurs des LO participent à cet exercice. Les ententes de gestion du rendement des cadres intermédiaires et supérieurs comprennent des objectifs en matière de LO.

A

b) Visibilité des langues officielles dans l’organisation (5 %)

Le Plan stratégique 2006-2008 de la Direction générale des ressources humaines aborde les LO lorsqu'il est question de stratégies pour recruter la main-d'œuvre qualifiée et représentative nécessaire pour accomplir son mandat. Plus spécifiquement, il traite de la formation linguistique et du maintien de l'acquis pour accroître la capacité bilingue de l'ASFC.

Le Rapport sur le rendement 2006-2007 de l'ASFC contient une section sur les LO. Le Rapport sur les plans et priorités 2006-2007 de l'ASFC traite de l’élaboration d’un plan intégré des ressources humaines pour 2008-2009 qui inclut les langues officielles.

Les LO ont été abordées en 2007 au Comité des ressources humaines auquel siègent la championne des LO, les vice-présidents et le président de l’ASFC.

La directrice des LO, qui est également responsable de la partie VII, rencontre la championne une fois par mois pour discuter des questions liées aux LO.

L’ASFC est au fait de l’importance de prendre en considération les LO lors des vérifications internes, mais ces dernières ne font pas partie du plan de vérification pour l’instant.

B

c) Les plaintes et les suivis (5 %)

Pour le règlement des plaintes, l'ASFC se réfère à sa Directive sur le règlement des plaintes en matière de LO. Cette dernière a été approuvée par le Comité de gestion le 29 novembre 2006 et publiée le 1er mai 2007. Elle tient compte des plaintes déposées au Commissariat aux langues officielles et celles présentées directement à l'ASFC.

L'ASFC utilise un système de suivi électronique pour documenter et connaître le statut des dossiers de plaintes. Lorsqu'une plainte est reçue, elle est enregistrée et transmise au coordonnateur des LO de la région ou de la direction générale visée. Le coordonnateur des LO et le gestionnaire responsable mènent une enquête et préparent une réponse qui est ensuite envoyée au directeur général concerné. Cette réponse est ensuite examinée par la Division des LO avant d'être acheminée au Commissariat aux langues officielles.

Le directeur régional et le directeur des RH sont informés des plaintes en matière de LO. De plus, la championne est informée, ainsi que le président de l’ASFC qui se préoccupe des LO dans son institution.

A

Sous‑total :

A

Service au public -Partie IV (25 %)

a) Services bilingues annoncés au public et effectif bilingue adéquat (3 %)

En partenariat avec l’AFPC et Statistique Canada, l'ASFC a participé à la révision de l'application de la partie IV de la Loi (communications avec le public et prestation des services) dans tous ses bureaux aux points d'entrée. À la suite de la restructuration de 2003, les coordonnateurs régionaux ont identifié les bureaux bilingues. Les mises à jour requises ont été envoyées à l’AFPC en novembre 2007 afin de mettre à jour dans Burolis les informations concernant ses bureaux.

Lorsqu'il y a fermeture ou déménagement de bureaux, la Direction générale du contrôle communique ces informations à la directrice des LO, qui, par la suite, fait une demande de mise à jour de Burolis auprès de l’AFPC.

Au total, 89 % des titulaires de postes bilingues servant le public satisfont aux exigences linguistiques de leur poste. (Source : Système d'information sur les postes et la classification [SIPC], 31 mars 2007)

B

b) Observations sur l’offre active et la prestation des services (15 %)

D'après les observations sur le service en personne recueillies par le Commissariat, entre la mi-juin et la mi-juillet 2007, l'offre active visuelle était présente dans 92 % des cas, l'offre active par les préposés était faite dans 27 % des cas, tandis que le service dans la langue de la minorité linguistique était adéquat dans 79 % des cas.

D'après les observations sur le service au téléphone recueillies par le Commissariat entre la mi-juin et la mi-juillet 2007, l'offre active par les préposés ou par un système automatisé était faite dans 97 % des cas, tandis que le service dans la langue de la minorité linguistique était adéquat dans 91 % des cas.

C

c) Les ententes de services livrés par des tiers ou en partenariat prévoient la prestation des services bilingues (2 %)

Une clause linguistique type fait partie du gabarit utilisé pour la préparation d'ententes concernant la prestation de services par des tiers.

Il n'y a pas de mesures de contrôle pour confirmer que les services des tiers sont effectivement fournis dans les deux LO et sont de qualité.

B

d) Politique sur le service au public et surveillance de la qualité des services bilingues
(5 %)

L'ASFC a élaboré une politique sur la communication avec le public et la prestation de services. La politique précise les obligations de l'ASFC en tant qu'entité et celles des employés qui travaillent dans un bureau bilingue. Elle sensibilise également l'ensemble du personnel à l'engagement de l'Agence à respecter l'égalité du français et de l'anglais. Cette politique a été communiquée à l’ensemble des employés le 1er mai 2007.

Les employés affectés au service au public sont informés sur la façon de livrer les services par le biais de sessions d'information offertes par les coordonnateurs régionaux qui diffèrent selon l'auditoire ciblé : gestionnaires, employés bilingues ou employés unilingues. Une formation auprès des agents de l’ASFC sur l’offre active a eu lieu pour la région de Toronto et les Prairies.

La fréquence de ces rappels varie en fonction des régions. Certaines régions ont aussi élaboré des trousses d'information à l'intention des employés. La directrice des LO anime des discussions sur la prestation de services aux tables de gestion afin que les employés comprennent bien leurs obligations et les fondements de celles-ci.
La région de Windsor‑St. Clair poursuit les présentations systématiques sur l'offre active et sur le Programme des LO à l'ASFC auprès de tous les nouveaux agents.

D’autre part, la gestionnaire du Programme des LO s'est rendue le 1er novembre dans la région du Nord de l’Ontario afin de clarifier certaines perceptions relatives à l'offre active auprès de la direction de façon à communiquer aux employés un message clair sur la question de l'offre active.

La directrice des ressources humaines ainsi que la gestionnaire du Programme des LO se sont rendues à l’aéroport international Lester B. Pearson pour sensibiliser les directeurs et les employés à l’importance de faire une offre active. Depuis, une liste des employés bilingues en poste est remise systématiquement à tous les employés unilingues.

Les coordonnateurs de la région du Grand Toronto ont développé un traducteur de poche qui contient les phrases clés à utiliser lorsqu'un employé unilingue doit référer un client à un employé bilingue. Ces outils ont été distribués à tous les employés unilingues. De plus, deux professeurs de français à temps plein sont dorénavant disponibles afin d’aider les employés désireux d’améliorer leur compétence en français.

Les surintendants et les coordonnateurs régionaux des LO effectuent des vérifications ponctuelles de la disponibilité et de la qualité des services au public dans la langue officielle de la minorité linguistique. L'évaluation de rendement des employés bilingues qui fournissent des services au public comprend des objectifs en matière de LO.

Une vérification a été faite le 20 octobre 2007 sur l’offre active par téléphone de tous les bureaux désignés bilingues aux fins de communication avec le public et de la prestation de services.

B

Problème particulier

Un problème particulier est en voie de résolution : la prestation de services en français aux comptoirs de l'ASFC à l'aéroport international Lester B. Pearson de Toronto et aux postes frontaliers routiers de la province de l'Ontario.

Sous‑total :

C*

Langue de travail - Partie V (25 %)

a) Politique sur la langue de travail et surveillance bilingue adéquate (12,5 %)

L'ASFC a élaboré une Politique sur les langues officielles de travail. Elle précise, pour les régions désignées comme bilingues ou unilingues, les obligations pour la langue de travail au niveau des éléments suivants : supervision, services personnels et centraux, formation et perfectionnement, instruments de travail, communications internes et langue à employer lors des réunions. Cette politique est entrée en vigueur le 1er mai 2007.

L’ASFC a élaboré une trousse préparatoire à la formation linguistique et une trousse sur le maintien de l’acquis qui sont distribuées à tous les employés qui vont en formation linguistique dans le but d’améliorer leurs chances de réussite et la rétention de la langue seconde.
Un lexique bilingue de l’ASFC est disponible sur l’intranet. Les réunions du Comité de gestion se déroulent dans les deux LO.

Une séance de formation sur la langue de travail a été offerte, entre autres, dans la région de l’Atlantique aux employés de l’ASFC, expliquant le protocole de communication entre les régions. Des guides d’orientation sur les LO destinés aux gestionnaires et aux employés sont en cours d’élaboration, dont une politique sur la formation linguistique et le maintien de l’acquis.

Des outils sur la langue de travail ont été distribués à la direction et aux employés, comme des exemples de bloc‑signature, des messages bilingues pour la boîte vocale et des courriels de réponse automatique en cas d’absence.

Le recrutement à l’ASFC met l’accent sur l’embauche et la formation de personnel bilingue. Une vaste campagne de sensibilisation est en cours à cet effet.
Des professeurs de français ont été embauchés à l’aéroport Pearson pour faciliter l’apprentissage du français et sensibiliser les employés de l’ASFC à la dualité linguistique.

Au total, 94 % des cadres titulaires de postes bilingues sont bilingues, alors que 86 % des superviseurs en région bilingue satisfont aux exigences de leur poste respectif. (Source : SIPC, 31 mars 2007)

B

b) Utilisation de chaque langue officielle au travail (12,5  %)

L'ASFC se fie sur les résultats du sondage de la fonction publique et d'autres sondages internes menés par les régions, directions générales ou divisions pour vérifier l'état d'application de la Politique sur les langues officielles de travail. Elle utilise aussi les résultats d'évaluation du rendement des gestionnaires bilingues qui assurent une supervision et ceux des employés bilingues qui fournissent des services personnels et centraux puisque l'évaluation contient des objectifs sur les LO. La présence ou l'absence de plaintes par rapport à la langue de travail sert aussi d'indicateur pour vérifier l'application de la Politique.

La directrice des LO et les coordonnateurs des LO surveillent les signatures utilisées par les employés dans leurs courriels, les informations affichées sur l’intranet et les messages courriels pour absences prolongées.
Les coordonnateurs régionaux font état de la langue de travail à la haute direction une fois l’an.

L’ASFC va profiter de la campagne des LO de l’AFPC pour rappeler à tous ses employés l’importance des LO en milieu de travail.

Le sondage effectué par Statistique Canada pour le compte du Commissariat a établi que 66 % de l'ensemble des répondants francophones de la région de la capitale nationale (RCN), du Nouveau-Brunswick et des régions bilingues de l'Ontario étaient « entièrement d'accord » ou « plutôt d'accord » avec le régime de la langue de travail. Au Québec, la proportion de répondants anglophones du même avis se situait à 73 %.

C

Sous‑total :

C

Participation équitable - Partie VI (10 %)

a) Pourcentage de participation francophone dans l’ensemble du Canada (5 %)

Dans l'ensemble du Canada, l'effectif est composé à 23,1 % de francophones. (Source : SIPC, 31 mars 2007)

A

b) Pourcentage de participation anglophone au Québec (5 %)

Au Québec, l'effectif est composé à 13,3 % d'anglophones. (Source : SIPC, 31 mars 2007)

A

Sous‑total :

A

Développement des communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire et promotion de la dualité linguistique - Partie VII (25 %)

 

La promotion de la dualité linguistique et le développement des communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire (CLOSM) sont mentionnés dans le Cadre de responsabilisation de l’ASFC.

L’ASFC a élaboré un plan d’action ainsi qu’un cadre de responsabilisation concernant la partie VII, détaillant les étapes à franchir et les mesures positives à prendre pour s’acquitter de ses obligations. Ces documents devraient être approuvés en mars 2008.

La haute direction a été sensibilisée en 2006, mais aucune autre séance de sensibilisation n’a eu lieu en 2007.

Dans le cadre de l’évaluation des présentations au Conseil du Trésor, l’ASFC tient compte des répercussions en matière de LO sur les CLOSM et de la promotion du statut égal du français et de l’anglais.

Un coordonnateur de la partie VII a été nommé en septembre 2007. Des séances de sensibilisation sur les besoins des CLOSM ont eu lieu auprès des coordonnateurs des LO, des directeurs et des gestionnaires pour partager et faire comprendre les informations en provenance de Patrimoine canadien.

Les coordonnateurs régionaux des LO ont commencé à consulter les associations porte-parole régionales et nationales, et à établir des partenariats avec d'autres institutions fédérales.

Le personnel qui élabore les politiques et programmes pouvant avoir une incidence sur la promotion de la dualité linguistique a été indirectement sensibilisé à l'obligation de prendre des mesures positives par le biais de la campagne de sensibilisation de la Direction des langues officielles (DLO) de l’ASFC.

Certains des programmes et politiques ont été revus pour déterminer ceux ayant une incidence sur la promotion de la dualité linguistique. Ce fut le cas dans le cadre de l'exercice de planification des ressources humaines. Mais, en général, seulement les nouveaux programmes et les nouvelles politiques sont revus et incluent une partie sur les CLOSM et la dualité linguistique.

a) Développement des communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire (12,5 %)

 

Les coordonnateurs régionaux assurent la liaison régionale avec les CLOSM. Une liste d'associations porte-parole concernées a été partagée avec les coordonnateurs régionaux et on leur a demandé de communiquer avec ces dernières pour s'identifier.

La région de Vancouver est impliquée dans le développement des CLOSM en encourageant le recrutement d’étudiants bilingues pour des emplois d’été et du recrutement permanent d’employés bilingues en vue des Jeux olympiques de 2010.

La perspective régionale est prise en compte, comme dans le cas de l’Atlantique ou la coordonnatrice régionale est entrée en contact avec les CLOSM du Nouveau-Brunswick.

L’ASFC travaille de concert avec les ministères membres du portefeuille de la Sécurité publique dans le but d’adopter une approche concertée de leurs efforts pour travailler en collaboration avec les CLOSM. Des rencontres à ce sujet ont lieu deux à trois fois par an.
La région du Pacifique distribue régulièrement aux centres d'emploi les dépliants sur la campagne de recrutement. De plus, depuis le mois d'octobre, la région du Pacifique distribue également ces dépliants aux collèges et universités francophones de la région (Éducacentre/Université Simon Fraser). La région de Niagara‑Fort Erie est très impliquée dans la communauté francophone de Welland et des dépliants sont également transmis aux divers centres francophones. La région du Grand Toronto (GTA) a participé à la foire de l'emploi de l'Université York.

L’ASFC a établi des contacts avec certaines institutions, telles que la Cité collégiale et l'Université d'Ottawa afin d'établir un partenariat en vue de faire connaître aux étudiants francophones les possibilités d'emploi au sein de l'ASFC.

B

b) Promotion de la dualité linguistique (12,5 %)

 

La mise sur pied d’un programme solide de formation linguistique a comme effet escompté de promouvoir l'égalité de statut et l'usage du français et de l'anglais. L'ASFC travaille en partenariat avec le secteur privé, les collèges et les universités pour offrir une formation linguistique et a établi des ententes avec l'École de la fonction publique du Canada (EFPC) et d'autres ministères pour partager des ressources (enseignants et locaux). D'ailleurs, l'EFPC encourage les autres ministères à utiliser le modèle de l'ASFC.

L’ASFC continue à encourager les employés de l’extérieur du Québec à échanger de poste pendant une durée déterminée avec ceux du Québec pour favoriser la sensibilisation à la dualité linguistique du Canada.

Les avis de concours sont communiqués aux associations ou conseils fédéraux dans certaines régions par l'intermédiaire des journaux et d'autres médias.

Le collège de formation de l’ASFC à Rigaud inclut maintenant un aspect des LO dans la formation de base des employés afin, entre autres, de promouvoir l’égalité de statut du français et de l’anglais.

La région de l'Atlantique est très impliquée dans la 29e finale des Jeux de l'Acadie. En effet, la région encourage les employés de l'ASFC à devenir bénévoles pour l'organisation d'événements. Toutes les régions participent à la Semaine de la Francophonie.

B

Sous‑total :  

B

NOTE GLOBALE

B