ARCHIVED - CBC 2004-2005

WarningThe Standard on Web Usability replaces this content. This content is archived because Common Look and Feel 2.0 Standards have been rescinded.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

2004-2005 Fact Sheet

Factors and criteria

Summary of substantiating data

Rating

Management

a) An accountability framework, an action plan and accountability mechanisms are in place

The CBC explains managers' and employees' obligations to the public in its Official Languages On-line Manual, which is available on the intranet. The guide also addresses language of work. Expectations are clearly specified.

All vice presidents are involved in setting objectives. The CBC strategic plan includes official languages, which are an integral part of the Corporation's activities.

For the CBC/Radio-Canada, a fundamental focus is to ensure that official language minority communities have access to programming that reflects their own realities and the realities of the rest of the country. There is an action plan pertaining to Part VII, entitled Implementation of Section 41 of the Official Languages Act. There is no separate action plan for sections IV, V and VI.

To enhance accountability, the Corporation meets frequently with representatives of linguistic minorities (minority associations, artists' groups, in partnership with local leaders). A list of achievements is systematically prepared every year in keeping with the strategic directions set out in the business plan for the period in question.

Fact Sheet

b) Visibility of official languages in the organization

The business plan summary addresses service to the two main linguistic communities. The annual report indicates any difficulties. Comprehensive audits including an OL component have been conducted in the past, but no recent examples were provided.

The acting champion, who is a member of the senior management group (EX group equivalent), is a member of the Executive Committee. The champion, who is actively involved in the handling of major issues, is the Vice President, Human Resources. The functional authority for OL participates in Executive Committee meetings as needed.

The two networks are increasingly linking their activities. Bringing the two language groups closer together is a priority for the President.

Fact Sheet

c) Complaints

When complaints are received and flagged by the Office of the Commissioner of Official Languages (OCOL), the CBC works with OCOL with a view to resolving the problem. Managers take appropriate action in the normal course of their duties.

Given that most complaints deal with the quality of the language used on air, the sharing of solutions is not seen as a necessary measure.

Fact Sheet

Service to the public - Part IV

a) Bilingual services advertised to the public and sufficient bilingual staff

The greetings used by receptionists and security guards indicate to the public that service is offered in both languages. The initial greeting is based on demographics (Anglophone majority, English greeting first, and vice versa). Signage is bilingual. Internet sites are tailored to each audience.

Fact SheetFact Sheet

b) Findings on active offer and service delivery

According to observations on in-person service made by the Office of the Commissioner of Official Languages in the fall of 2004, active visual offer was present in 60.0% of cases; active offer by the employee was made in 40.0% of cases, while service in the language of the minority was adequate in 90.0% of cases.

According to the latest telephone service audit conducted by the Public Service Human Resources Management Agency, active offer was present in the following proportions: employees - 62.5%, voice mail greetings - 71.9%, service availability - 87.5%.

Fact Sheet

c) The service agreements delivered by third parties or in partnership provide for the delivery of bilingual services

The Official Languages Guide states that third parties must respect the equal status of both official languages. No evidence of structured monitoring of services offered by third parties.

Fact Sheet

d) Bilingual services quality monitoring

There is a language advisor who monitors the quality of language used in broadcasts. A report on the quality of French used in broadcasts has been produced. The CBC is especially interested in regions where English plays a more influential role. Interactive communications are also a means of evaluating service quality (CBC and Radio-Canada). Public feedback is a good indicator, since television viewers and listeners feel they own the networks. No evidence of regular reminders to staff.

Managers, especially those responsible for integrated services, must make employees aware of the CBC's OL obligations. Managers continually monitor service quality and take specific measures as needed in response to public feedback.

Fact Sheet

Language of work - Part V

a) Adequate bilingual supervision and language of work policy

The CBC does not collect data on bilingual supervision.

The CBC has developed an official languages guide, which covers language of work. It is available on the intranet. It is mentioned during orientation sessions and awareness workshops.

Bilingualism is intimately related to the daily work of the centralized services serving the entire CBC/Radio-Canada staff or audiences from both language groups.

Fact Sheet

b) Use of each language in the workplace

At headquarters, reminders in print or electronic form are not distributed on a regular basis, since bilingualism is seen as an integral part of the central services located there.

Offering bilingual service is an essential part of all decisions leading to the centralization or integration of services (HR, information technology, reception services).

Both languages are used at Executive Committee meetings.

Given their obligation to remind employees of their language rights, meeting chairs state that participants may use either official language.

On the whole, outside the NCR, employees work in the language of the majority. The head of HR ensures that employees of central services are supervised in both languages.

No examples of monitoring mechanisms were provided.

Fact Sheet

Equitable participation - Part VI

a) Percentage of Francophone participation throughout Canada

Overall, 46.95% of employees are Francophone. The vast majority of Francophone employees work in Quebec.

(Source: Official Languages Division, CBC, January 2005)

Fact SheetFact Sheet

b) Percentage of Anglophone participation in Quebec

In Quebec, 4.76% of employees are Anglophone.

(Source: Official Languages Division, CBC, January 2005)

Fact Sheet

Development of minority language communities and promotion of linguistic duality - Part VII

a) Strategic planning and the development of policies and programs take into account the development of minority language communities

The Broadcasting Act includes provisions in this regard (service to linguistic minorities), which are guiding principles for the CBC. These principles are considered in planning (see business plan).

Regional programming directors ensure that Part VII objectives are taken into account.

French television has created a regional board with minority Francophone representatives. The board meets twice a year. Various other formats are used to consult and take the pulse of the community (visits by senior management, ad hoc committees, association general assembly meetings etc.). The CBC liaises with the Fédération culturelle canadienne-française /FCCF (office in Montréal), which represents Francophone artists outside Quebec. This provides access to a directory of French language researchers, authors and performers (to whom training workshops are also offered). According to the 2003–2004 Summary of Achievements, English-language CBC Radio and Television news teams continued to broadcast reports from Montréal neighbourhoods and once again took part in the Townshippers' Day event, which salutes the vitality of the Eastern Townships English-speaking community.

The CBC has developed a strategy for the implementation of section 41 for the benefit of both official languages minorities.

Local stations, which are close to their (Francophone or Anglophone) audiences, manage the purchase of airtime and space. Since each station's activities are directed to an audience of a specific language group, bilingual advertising is not always appropriate. The Official Languages Guide contains a provision on the use of media serving official language minorities.

The public is quite vocal and makes the CBC/Radio-Canada aware of minority community needs. Moreover, the President places great emphasis on raising awareness by means of "transcultural" initiatives.

Fact SheetFact Sheet

b) Strategic planning and the development of policies and programs take into account the promotion of linguistic duality

Since the rationalization exercise at the CBC, its executives have sought opportunities to pool resources. Decision makers always consider whether the other network could benefit from planned productions. This gives rise to interesting and productive collaborations (documentaries, stories from abroad). The interest in promoting linguistic duality is at the heart of this new organizational culture. As part of their orientation, new journalists are made aware of linguistic duality.

Regional programming directors ensure that Part VII objectives are taken into account, in accordance with the action plan.

Among other examples, the CBC's activities include liaison with the Évangéline arts council; participation in the international Francophone film festival in Acadia, production of Culture-Choc/Culture Shock, a bilingual program on cultural diversity hosted by Gregory Charles; bilingual production (parallel shooting) of Ciao Bella; a 13-episode situation comedy broadcast in the fall of 2004; participation in the Rendez-vous de la Francophonie; and the special presentation of the TV game show La Fureur to Ottawa's minority Francophone community.

Fact SheetFact Sheet

OVERALL RATING

Fact Sheet

ARCHIVÉE - Société Radio-Canada 2004-2005

AvertissementLa Norme sur la facilité d'emploi des sites Web remplace ce contenu. Cette page Web a été archivée parce que les Normes sur la normalisation des sites Internet 2.0 ont étés annulées.

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Fiche d'information 2004-2005

Facteurs et critères

Résumé des données justificatives

Note

Gestion

a) Un cadre de responsabilisation, un plan d'action et des mécanismes de reddition de comptes sont en place

La Société Radio-Canada explique les obligations des gestionnaires et des employés envers le public dans son Guide des langues officielles disponible sur l'intranet. La question de la langue de travail y est aussi traitée. Les attentes y sont clairement précisées.

Tous les vice-présidents participent à la détermination des objectifs. Le plan stratégique de Radio-Canada englobe le volet des langues officielles, qui constitue une partie intégrante des activités de la Société.

Pour CBC/Radio-Canada, veiller à ce que les communautés de langue officielle vivant en situation minoritaire aient accès à des émissions qui reflètent leurs réalités et les réalités du reste du pays constitue une préoccupation fondamentale. La partie VII fait l'objet d'un plan d'action intitulé Mise en œuvre de l'article 41 de la Loi sur les langues officielles. Il n'existe pas de plan d'action distinct pour les parties IV, V et VI.

Pour aider à rendre compte, la Société rencontre fréquemment des représentants des minorités linguistiques (rencontres avec des associations minoritaires, groupes d'artistes, en partenariat avec les dirigeants locaux). Une liste des réalisations est préparée systématiquement à tous les ans en fonction des orientations stratégiques annoncées dans le plan d'entreprise pour la période visée.

Fiche d'information

b) Visibilité des langues officielles dans l'organisation

Le sommaire du plan d'entreprise traite du service aux deux grandes collectivités linguistiques. Le rapport annuel fait mention des difficultés, s'il y a lieu. Des vérifications exhaustives comprenant un volet LO ont été réalisées par le passé, mais l'organisme n'a fourni aucun exemple récent.

La championne suppléante, cadre supérieure (de niveau équivalent à la catégorie EX), est membre du comité de gestion. Le champion, qui intervient dans les grands dossiers, est le premier vice-président, Ressources humaines. La responsable fonctionnelle des LO participe aux réunions du CE au besoin.

Les deux réseaux fonctionnent de plus en plus en relation l'un avec l'autre. C'est une priorité du PDG de rapprocher les deux groupes linguistiques.

Fiche d'information

c) Les plaintes

Lorsque les plaintes sont reçues et signalées par le Commissariat aux langues officielles, Radio-Canada collabore avec celui-ci en vue d'un règlement. Dans le cadre normal de leurs fonctions, les gestionnaires assurent le suivi nécessaire.

La mise en commun des solutions n'est pas jugée nécessaire étant donné que la plupart des plaintes ont trait à la qualité de la langue utilisée en ondes.

Fiche d'information

Service au public - Partie IV

a) Services bilingues annoncés au public et effectif bilingue adéquat

Dans leurs formules d'accueil, les réceptionnistes et les gardes de sécurité font savoir au public que le service est offert dans les deux langues. L'accueil initial est fonction des proportions démographiques (majorité anglophone, accueil anglophone en premier, et inversement). La signalisation est bilingue. Les sites Internet sont adaptés à chaque auditoire.

Fiche d'informationFiche d'information

b) Observations sur l'offre active et prestation de services

D'après les observations sur le service en personne recueillies par le Commissariat aux langues officielles à l'automne 2004, l'offre active visuelle était présente dans 60,0 % des cas, l'offre active par les préposés était faite dans 40,0 % des cas tandis que le service dans la langue de la minorité était adéquat dans 90,0 % des cas.

La dernière vérification du service téléphonique effectuée par l'Agence de gestion des ressources humaines de la fonction publique établit que l'offre active est faite par les préposés dans 62,5 % des cas et sur les répondeurs dans 71,9 % des cas, tandis que le service est disponible dans 87,5 % des cas.

Fiche d'information

c) Les ententes de services livrés par des tiers ou en partenariat prévoient la prestation des services bilingues

Le Guide des langues officielles précise que les tiers doivent respecter l'égalité du statut des deux langues officielles. Absence d'exemples de contrôles structurés des services offerts par des tiers.

Fiche d'information

d) Surveillance de la qualité des services bilingues

Il y a un conseiller linguistique qui veille à assurer la qualité de la langue utilisée en ondes. Un rapport sur la qualité du français à l'antenne a été produit. La SRC s'intéresse particulièrement aux régions où l'influence de l'anglais est plus prononcée. Les communications interactives permettent aussi d'évaluer la qualité du service (CBC et Radio-Canada). La rétroaction du public est un bon indicateur; les téléspectateurs/auditeurs se considèrent comme les propriétaires des réseaux. Absence d'exemples de rappels réguliers aux employés.

Les gestionnaires, et tout particulièrement les responsables des services intégrés, doivent sensibiliser les employés aux obligations de la SRC en matière de LO. Les gestionnaires surveillent en permanence la qualité des services et prennent des mesures ponctuelles au besoin en fonction de la rétroaction du public.

Fiche d'information

Langue de travail - Partie V

a) Surveillance bilingue adéquate et politique sur la langue de travail

La SRC ne recueille pas de données sur la surveillance bilingue.

La SRC a élaboré un guide des langues officielles, qui traite de la langue de travail. Il est affiché dans l'intranet. Il en est question lors des séances d'orientation et des ateliers de sensibilisation.

La notion de bilinguisme est intimement liée au travail quotidien des services centralisés qui desservent l'effectif complet de CBC/Radio-Canada ou les deux auditoires linguistiques.

Fiche d'information

b) Utilisation de chaque langue au travail

À l'Administration centrale, on ne fait pas de rappels écrits ou électroniques de façon régulière puisqu'on considère que le bilinguisme va de soi dans le contexte des services centraux.

Offrir un service bilingue est un élément essentiel des décisions menant à toute centralisation ou intégration des services centraux (RH, technologie de l'information, services d'accueil).

Les deux langues sont utilisées aux réunions du comité de gestion.

Comme ils ont l'obligation de rappeler les droits linguistiques, les présidents de réunion disent aux participants qu'ils peuvent s'exprimer dans les deux langues.

De façon générale, à l'extérieur de la RCN, les employés travaillent dans la langue de la majorité linguistique. Le chef des RH voit à ce que la supervision des employés des services centraux soit assurée dans les deux langues.

La SRC n'a pas fourni d'exemples de mécanismes de contrôles.

Fiche d'information

Participation équitable - Partie VI

a) Pourcentage de participation francophone dans l'ensemble du Canada

46,95 % des employés de la SRC au Canada sont francophones. La grande majorité des employés francophones travaillent au Québec.

(Source : Division des langues officielles, Radio-Canada, janvier 2005)

Fiche d'informationFiche d'information

b) Pourcentage de participation anglophone au Québec

4,76 % des employés de la SRC au Québec sont anglophones.

(Source : Division des langues officielles, Radio-Canada, janvier 2005)

Fiche d'information

Développement des communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire et promotion de la dualité linguistique - Partie VII

a) La planification stratégique ainsi que l'élaboration de politiques et de programmes tiennent compte du développement des communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire

La Loi sur la radiodiffusion contient des dispositions sur cette question (service aux minorités linguistiques), lesquelles servent de principes directeurs à la SRC. Ces principes entrent en ligne de compte dans la planification (voir le plan d'entreprise).

Les directeurs régionaux de la programmation veillent au respect des objectifs relevant de la partie VII, conformément au plan d'action.

La Télévision française a créé un Panel des régions où siègent des représentants de la minorité francophone. Le Panel se réunit deux fois par an. Divers autres formats sont utilisés pour consulter et prendre le pouls des communautés (visites de la haute direction, comités ad hoc, réunions des assemblées générales des associations, etc.). La SRC assure la liaison avec la Fédération culturelle canadienne-française/FCCF (bureau à Montréal), qui représente des artistes francophones hors Québec. Il est ainsi possible d'avoir accès à un répertoire de recherchistes, d'auteurs et d'interprètes de langue française (à qui l'on offre aussi des ateliers de formation). D'après l'État des réalisations de 2003-2004, les équipes de nouvelles de la radio et de la télévision de langue anglaise ont continué de diffuser des reportages depuis les quartiers de Montréal et ont participé une fois de plus à l'activité Townshippers' Day, qui souligne la vitalité de la collectivité anglophone des Cantons de l'Est.

Radio-Canada a élaboré une stratégie de mise en œuvre de l'article 41 dans l'intérêt des deux communautés minoritaires de langue officielle.

L'achat d'espace et de temps d'antenne est géré par les stations locales, qui sont proches de leurs auditoires cibles (francophone ou anglophone). Étant donné que les activités d'une station visent l'auditoire formé par un groupe linguistique distinct, la publicité bilingue n'est pas toujours pertinente. Le Guide des LO comporte une disposition sur l'utilisation des médias desservant les minorités de langue officielle.

Le public lui-même, très expressif, sensibilise la collectivité de Radio-Canada/CBC aux besoins des communautés minoritaires. D'autre part, le président accorde une grande importance à la sensibilisation au moyen d'initiatives « transculturelles ».

Fiche d'informationFiche d'information

b) La planification stratégique ainsi que l'élaboration de politiques et de programmes tiennent compte de la promotion de la dualité linguistique

À la suite de la rationalisation dont la SRC a fait l'objet, ses dirigeants cherchent les occasions de mettre les ressources en commun. Les décideurs se demandent toujours si l'autre réseau peut bénéficier des productions envisagées. Cela donne lieu à des collaborations intéressantes et fructueuses (documentaires, reportages à l'étranger). Le souci de promouvoir la dualité linguistique est au cœur de cette nouvelle culture organisationnelle. Dans le cadre de l'orientation qu'ils reçoivent, les nouveaux journalistes sont sensibilisés à la dualité linguistique.

Les directeurs régionaux de la programmation veillent au respect des objectifs relevant de la partie VII, conformément au plan d'action.

Parmi les exemples d'activités, signalons la liaison avec le conseil des arts Évangéline; la participation au festival international du film francophone en Acadie; la production de l'émission Culture-Choc/Culture Shock, émission bilingue sur la diversité culturelle; animée par Gregory Charles; la production bilingue (en parallèle) de Ciao Bella, comédie de situation en 13 épisodes dont la diffusion a eu lieu à l'automne 2004; la participation au Rendez-vous de la Francophonie et, enfin, la présentation spéciale du jeu télévisé La Fureur à Ottawa, en milieu francophone minoritaire.

Fiche d'informationFiche d'information

NOTE GLOBALE

Fiche d'information