ARCHIVED - Business Development Bank of Canada 2005-2006

WarningThe Standard on Web Usability replaces this content. This content is archived because Common Look and Feel 2.0 Standards have been rescinded.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

2005-2006 Fact Sheet

Factors and criteria

Summary of substantiating data

Rating

Management

a) An accountability framework, an action plan and accountability mechanisms are in place (5%)

The Business Development Bank of Canada (BDC) does not have an official languages (OL) accountability framework. However it has an OL policy that covers the responsibilities of supervisors and managers under Parts IV, V and VI of the Official Languages Act (The Act).

The BDC does not have an action plan relating to Parts IV, V and VI of the Act. The BDC integrates OL in its daily operations, its mandate and its organizational priorities. However, it has an action plan to ensure the full implementation of Part VII of the Act.

Accountability measures within the organization take various forms: internal audits to ensure the respect of the Official Languages Program (OLP), reminders sent to managers and discussions during senior management meetings.

b) Visibility of official languages in the organization (5%)

The review of the Corporate Plan Summary Report indicated, among other things, that the BDC "continues to respect the Act, and its operations are in adherence to the regulations and policies implemented by Treasury Board Secretariat, giving special attention to the economic and social development of minority official language communities."

OL are integrated into internal audits. During 2004-2005, 35 branches were visited, of which 17 were designated bilingual. The audit consisted of verifying signage, the availability of documentation, the active offer and the service in both OL.

The champion, who is at a level equivalent to that of an assistant deputy minister, is a member of the Executive Management Committee and attends its meetings, which are held every second Friday. The champion raises OL issues for discussion at this committee as needed. There is an ongoing dialogue between the Official Languages Coordinator and the champion. OL are well co-ordinated.

c) Complaints (5%)

The OL Coordinator is responsible for handling and resolving complaints in conjunction with the manager or vice president of the branch concerned. She plays a central coordinating role. BDC receives very few complaints. When BDC partners with an external supplier, it requires the supplier to sign-off/confirm their understanding of BDC’s obligations with respect to the Act.

The Office of the Commissioner of Official Languages (OCOL) has not identified any systemic problem.

Service to the public - Part IV

a) Bilingual services advertised to the public and sufficient bilingual staff (4%)

The BDC’s bilingual services are listed in BUROLIS and BDC’s bilingual points of service appear in the Blue Pages in both OL.

Although BDC has bilingual branches across the country, it does not designate staff positions as such. Therefore, it is not in a position to produce statistics on whether employees occupying bilingual positions that serve the public meet the language requirements of their positions.

However, BDC reported that as of March 2005, 6 out of 48 designated bilingual branches did not have bilingual resources on site. Because these branches are smaller ones, staff movements seldom occur. BDC therefore encourages the employees to take second language courses.

b) Findings on active offer and service delivery (15%)

According to the observations of in-person service made by OCOL in the fall of 2005, active visual offer was present in 77% of cases, active offer by staff was made in 23% of cases, while service in the language of the linguistic minority was adequate in 46% of cases.

According to the observations of service on the telephone made by OCOL in the fall of 2005, active offer of service by staff or by an automated system was made in 86% of cases, while service in the language of the linguistic minority was adequate in 79% of cases.

c) The service agreements delivered by third parties or in partnership provide for the delivery of bilingual services (2%)

The BDC requires that third-party service providers (e.g. advertisements or Employee Assistance Services) offer services in both OL. The BDC also requires a letter from the third party confirming that active offer of service to users/clients in both languages was offered. BDC verifies that services were provided in both OL through the annual employee engagement survey and its customer satisfaction survey.

d) Bilingual services quality monitoring (4%)

Orientation sessions are given to all new employees and include an OL component. Offices are reminded of the importance of greeting members of the public in both OL and of providing services in the language chosen by the client. Leaders are reminded that bilingual locations are required to have bilingual resources in order to ensure the services in both OL. Each branch manager has a tool called the Survival Kit covering the steps to take for all their OL responsibilities, e.g. how to ensure the availability of bilingual services, their language of work obligations, advertising in minority community media, etc.

An OL presentation was developed and given to some senior managers. During the coming year, the person responsible for the OL program intends to deliver this presentation to all 20 vice presidents of branches across Canada. The presentation reiterates the role of the Public Service Human Resources Management Agency of Canada; OCOL; the BDC obligations under the Act as a Crown corporation; obligations referring to service to the public, language of work, equitable participation and enhancing the vitality of OL minority communities.

BDC implemented a training program for first-time managers. The program, called Transitional Leadership Program, incorporates various areas of responsibilities that the new managers will have to handle on a daily basis. OL are a component of this training program. The first session was delivered December 6, 2005. In addition, BDC revamped its virtual orientation site for new employees. OL responsibilities are included in this site.

The reports of the audit done in 2004-05 were forwarded to the responsible managers for follow-up and corrections, when applicable. Through the performance management process, branch managers were evaluated on the audit and on the corrective measures put in place. Moreover, the BDC conducts an ongoing customer service satisfaction survey and reports the findings at the end of each fiscal year. This particular survey queries the participants about language of service.

Language of work - Part V

a) Adequate bilingual supervision and language of work policy (12.5%)

84% of supervisors in bilingual regions who are required to supervise their employees in both official languages are able to do so. (Source: 2004-2005 Annual Review of Official Languages, March 31, 2005)

BDC adopted a policy on language of work and is continuing its implementation. It reiterates the rights of employees working in bilingual regions for language of work purposes to be supervised in the language of their choice. It refers to personal services to be provided in the OL of choice of the employee and administrative measures to be undertaken when required. It also stipulates the fact that work instruments are to be provided simultaneously in both OL. It also indicates that all professional training and development programs must be made available in both OL.

In order to support the language of work policy, translation services are available. BDC also has a second-language training program offered to all employees, regardless of whether they work at a bilingual point of service or not. Although a budget of $270,000 was assigned to second-language training in 2005, $390,000 was spent due to the high interest of BDC employees in that particular area.

b) Establishment of an environment conducive to both official languages (12.5%)

BDC developed an official languages corner in its newsletter, BDC Etc, to enhance all employees’ and managers’ knowledge of the Act. The newsletter is currently published six times a year and includes a page on all aspects of OL. The OL Policy serves as a reminder of the rights and obligations to managers and employees.

Meetings to disseminate information to employees of both language groups are held in both OL. Participants are invited to use the OL of their choice. In general, local meetings at the branch level or Head Office are held either in the language of the majority group or are carried out in a bilingual format. Meetings of the Bank’s executive management committee are also held in both OL.

BDC conducts an annual employee engagement survey. The most recent report for 2004 indicates that 76% of all BDC employees responded that people are treated fairly regardless of the language used at work.

Equitable participation - Part VI

a) Percentage of Francophone participation throughout Canada (5%)

Francophones account for 41% of the BDC workforce as a whole. (Source: 2004-2005 Annual Review of Official Languages, March 31, 2005)

b) Percentage of Anglophone participation in Quebec (5%)

Anglophones account for 19% of the BDC workforce in Quebec. (Source: 2004-2005 Annual Review of Official Languages, March 31, 2005)

Development of official language minority communities and promotion of linguistic duality - Part VII

a) Strategic planning and the development of policies and programs take into account the development of minority language communities (12.5%)

The BDC has an action plan for the application of section 41 pertaining to the development of official language minority communities.

Consideration of OL minority community development is an integral part of the way the BDC does business. Local BDC account managers build networks of business customers and local organizations (including official-language minority business groups) for potential business development. There are also consultations at a more senior level by the Vice Presidents in Ottawa, in New Brunswick, in Quebec (and in 2004 in BC) with official language minority organizations.

In areas/regions where there is a sizeable minority-language business population, specific plans are put in place at the local level to ensure that the minority-language businesses are reached. Examples include Manitoba where Francophone account managers have developed further relations with the province’s major francophone business organizations (Conseil de développement économique des municipalités bilingues du Manitoba, Chambre de commerce de Saint-Boniface, Caisses Populaires du Manitoba, Club des hommes d’affaires et Corporations de développement communautaire) by actively promoting BDC’s services, participating in their events and maintaining frequent contacts.

In Vancouver, one of the account managers is a member of the Francophone Chamber of Commerce. The account manager has also been in contact with the head of the Educa-Centre, which provides assistance to French entrepreneurs. During Small Business Week, the branch advertises in the Francophone directory and also in L’Express du Pacifique.

The Head Office is responsible for almost all advertising, but some local branches can and do place advertising or other messages themselves. The Survival Kit reflects the Treasury Board Secretariat policy requirement to ensure equivalent coverage each time. The Public Affairs department has a national advertising plan and handles a 12-month advertising budget for bilingual placements.

As part of its national advertising campaign, BDC will continue to place advertisements across the country in minority language media; it will continue to enhance its profile with OL minority communities via its television advertising on RDI, Newsworld, CBC and Radio Canada.

Local branches have official outreach plans for representatives of minority communities. For example, in Quebec, the BDC advisory group presented a series of one-day seminars for the Anglophone community; these seminars were offered in cooperation with the Regional Economic Development Agency and included workshops on different topics such as strategic marketing and compliance with ISO 9000:2000 standards.

b) Strategic planning and the development of policies and programs take into account the promotion of linguistic duality (12.5%)

As per the results-based action plan implementation of section  41 of the Act, BDC integrates the application of Part VII related to the advancement of English and French in its daily operations, its mandate and its organizational priorities. Through business development, membership in associations, partnerships, financial services and consulting groups, BDC maintains an active presence nationwide in relation to both linguistic groups. BDC considers its bilingual institutional capacity as a competitive business advantage, thereby promoting linguistic duality.

Leaders are aware of the importance of promoting linguistic duality, as indicated in the results-based action plan implementation of section  41 of the Act. A number of sessions on the topic were delivered to leaders who will in turn disseminate the information to their employees.

The Public Affairs department at Head Office is mainly responsible for placing advertisements in various media and it ensures equal status for both official languages.

In 2004-2005, the Halifax branch sponsored $5,000 for the Congrès Mondial Acadien and another $5,000 for the French for the Future/Le français pour l’avenir whose goals are to ensure bilingualism and celebrate Francophone culture.

OVERALL RATING

ARCHIVÉE - Banque de développement du Canada 2005-2006

AvertissementLa Norme sur la facilité d'emploi des sites Web remplace ce contenu. Cette page Web a été archivée parce que les Normes sur la normalisation des sites Internet 2.0 ont étés annulées.

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Fiche d'information 2005-2006

Facteurs et critères

Résumé des données justificatives

Note

Gestion

a) Un cadre de responsabilisation, un plan d'action et des mécanismes de reddition de comptes sont en place (5 %)

La Banque de développement du Canada (BDC) n'a pas de cadre de responsabilisation en matière de langues officielles (LO). Elle dispose toutefois d'une politique sur les LO qui traite des obligations des superviseurs et des gestionnaires aux termes des parties IV, V et VI de la Loi sur les langues officielles (LLO).

La BDC n'a pas de plan d'action pour les parties IV, V et VI de la LLO. Elle intègre les LO dans ses activités quotidiennes, son mandat et ses priorités organisationnelles. Elle dispose toutefois d'un plan d'action pour assurer la mise en oeuvre complète de la partie VII de la LLO.

Les mesures de responsabilisation de l'organisme prennent diverses formes : vérifications internes pour veiller au respect du programme des LO, rappels envoyés aux gestionnaires et discussions durant les réunions de la haute direction.

b) Visibilité des langues officielles dans l'organisation (5 %)

L'examen de l'état récapitulatif du plan directeur indiquait, entre autres, que la BDC « continue [...] de respecter la Loi sur les langues officielles, et ses activités sont conformes aux règlements et politiques établis par le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor, et favorisent l'épanouissement économique et social des collectivités minoritaires de langue officielle  ».

Les LO sont intégrées aux vérifications internes. Durant l'exercice 2004-2005, 17 des 35 succursales visitées étaient désignées bilingues. La vérification touchait l'affichage, la disponibilité de documentation, l'offre active et le service dans les deux LO.

La championne, d'un niveau équivalent à celui de sous-ministre adjoint, est membre du comité de direction et assiste aux réunions de celui-ci qui ont lieu un vendredi sur deux. La championne soulève les questions sur les LO qui seront abordées, au besoin, par ce comité. Il y a dialogue continu entre la coordonnatrice des LO et la championne. Les LO sont bien coordonnées.

c) Les plaintes (5 %)

La coordonnatrice des LO est responsable du traitement et du règlement des plaintes, de concert avec le gestionnaire ou le vice-président de la succursale concernée. Elle joue un rôle central de coordination. Le nombre de plaintes est très limité. Lorsque la BDC fait affaire avec un fournisseur externe, elle lui demande d'attester et de confirmer par écrit qu'il comprend les obligations de la BDC en ce qui concerne la LLO.

Le Commissariat aux langues officielles (CLO) n'a pas décelé de problème systémique.

Service au public - Partie IV

a) Services bilingues annoncés au public et effectif bilingue adéquat (4 %)

Les services bilingues de la BDC sont annoncés dans le répertoire Burolis, et ses points de service bilingues sont répertoriés dans les deux LO dans les pages bleues.

Bien que la BDC compte des succursales bilingues un peu partout au pays, elle ne désigne pas de postes bilingues. Par conséquent, elle n'est pas en mesure de fournir de statistiques qui permettraient de vérifier si les employés qui occupent des postes bilingues et qui dispensent des services au public satisfont aux exigences linguistiques de leurs postes.

La BDC indiquait toutefois que, en date de mars 2005, 6 des 48 succursales désignées bilingues ne disposaient pas de ressources bilingues sur place. Étant donné que ces succursales comptent parmi les plus petites, les mouvements de personnel sont rares. La BDC encourage par conséquent les employés à suivre des cours de langue seconde.

b) Observations sur l'offre active et la prestation des services (15 %)

D'après les observations sur le service en personne recueillies par le CLO à l'automne 2005, l'offre active visuelle était présente dans 77 % des cas, l'offre active par les préposés était faite dans 23 % des cas, tandis que le service dans la langue de la minorité linguistique était adéquat dans 46 % des cas.

D'après les observations sur le service au téléphone recueillies par le CLO à l'automne 2005, l'offre active par les préposés ou par un système automatisé était faite dans 86 % des cas, tandis que le service dans la langue de la minorité linguistique était adéquat dans 79 % des cas.

c) Les ententes de services livrés par des tiers ou en partenariat prévoient la prestation des services bilingues (2 %)

La BDC exige que les tiers fournisseurs de services (aide aux employés, publicité, etc.) offrent des services aux utilisateurs/clients dans les deux LO, et qu'ils l'attestent dans une lettre. La BDC vérifie que les services ont été offerts dans les deux LO au moyen de ses sondages annuels auprès des employés et des clients.

d) Surveillance de la qualité des services bilingues (4 %)

Des séances d'orientation sont offertes à tous les nouveaux employés et comportent un volet sur les LO. On rappelle aux bureaux l'importance d'accueillir les membres du public dans les deux LO et d'offrir des services dans la langue choisie par le client.

On rappelle aux dirigeants que les endroits désignés bilingues sont tenus d'avoir des ressources bilingues afin de pouvoir offrir des services dans les deux LO. Chaque gestionnaire de succursale dispose d'un outil appelé « la trousse de survie » qui traite des mesures à prendre relativement aux LO, par exemple la façon d'assurer la disponibilité de services bilingues, la langue de travail et la publicité dans la presse de la communauté linguistique minoritaire.

Une présentation sur les LO a été élaborée et donnée à certains cadres supérieurs. Pendant la prochaine année, la personne responsable du programme des LO entend faire cette présentation aux 20 vice-présidents des succursales au Canada. La présentation réitère le rôle de l'Agence de gestion des ressources humaines de la fonction publique du Canada et de la commissaire aux langues officielles; les obligations de la BDC aux termes de la LLO en tant que société d'État; et les obligations relatives au service au public, la langue de travail, la participation équitable et l'épanouissement des communautés de LO en situation minoritaire.

La BDC a mis en oeuvre un programme de formation pour les nouveaux gestionnaires. Le programme, qui porte sur le leadership transitoire, touche divers domaines de responsabilité dont les gestionnaires doivent quotidiennement traiter. Les LO constituent un volet de ce programme de formation. La première séance a été offerte le 6 décembre 2005. En outre, la BDC a réorganisé son site d'orientation en ligne destiné aux nouveaux employés. Les obligations en matière de LO figurent sur ce site.

Les rapports de la vérification effectuée en 2004-2005 ont été transmis aux gestionnaires chargés de faire le suivi et d'apporter, au besoin, des corrections. Les gestionnaires, par le biais du processus de gestion du rendement, ont été évalués sur la vérification et les mesures correctives mises en place. Par ailleurs, la BDC effectue en permanence un sondage sur le degré de satisfaction à l'égard du service à la clientèle et présente ses observations à la fin de chaque exercice. Ce sondage interroge les participants sur la langue de service.

Langue de travail - Partie V

a) Surveillance bilingue adéquate et politique sur la langue de travail (12,5 %)

84 % des surveillants en région bilingue tenus de superviser leurs employés dans les deux LO peuvent le faire. (Source : Bilan annuel sur les langues officielles 2004-2005, 31 mars 2005)

La BDC a adopté une politique sur la langue de travail et poursuit sa mise en oeuvre. Elle réitère le droit des employés qui travaillent dans les régions bilingues pour fins de la langue de travail d'être supervisés dans la langue de leur choix. Elle fait référence aux services personnels offerts dans la LO choisie par l'employé et aux mesures administratives qui doivent être prises, au besoin. La politique précise également que les instruments de travail doivent être offerts simultanément dans les deux LO. De plus, elle indique que tous les programmes de formation professionnelle et de perfectionnement doivent être offerts dans les deux LO.

Pour appuyer la Politique sur la langue de travail, des services de traduction sont disponibles. La BDC offre également un programme de formation en langue seconde à tous ses employés, peu importe qu'ils travaillent dans un service bilingue ou non. Bien qu'un budget de 270 000 $ ait été affecté à la formation en langue seconde en 2005, une somme de 390 000 $ a été dépensée en raison du fort intérêt des employés à cet égard.

b) Création d'un milieu propice aux deux langues officielles (12,5 %)

La BDC a lancé une chronique sur les LO dans son bulletin d'information, BDC Etc, pour que les employés et les gestionnaires améliorent leur connaissance de la LLO. Le bulletin est actuellement publié six fois par année et comporte une page sur tous les aspects des LO.

La Politique sur les LO rappelle les droits et les obligations aux gestionnaires et aux employés.

Les réunions visant à diffuser de l'information aux employés des deux groupes linguistiques se déroulent dans les deux LO. Les participants sont invités à utiliser la LO de leur choix. En général, les réunions locales qui se déroulent dans les succursales ou au siège social se tiennent dans la langue du groupe majoritaire ou sous forme bilingue. Les réunions du comité de direction de la BDC se déroulent dans les deux LO.

La BDC effectue un sondage annuel auprès de ses employés. Le rapport le plus récent, pour 2004, indique que 76 % de tous les employés de la BDC jugeaient que les gens sont traités de façon juste, sans égard à la langue utilisée au travail.

Participation équitable - Partie VI

a) Pourcentage de participation francophone dans l'ensemble du Canada (5 %)

L'effectif de la BDC est composé à 41 % de francophones dans l'ensemble du Canada. (Source : Bilan annuel sur les langues officielles 2004-2005, 31 mars 2005)

b) Pourcentage de participation anglophone au Québec (5 %)

L'effectif de la BDC est composé à 19 % d'anglophones au Québec. (Source : Bilan annuel sur les langues officielles 2004-2005, 31 mars 2005)

Développement des communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire et promotion de la dualité linguistique - Partie VII

a) La planification stratégique ainsi que l'élaboration de politiques et de programmes tiennent compte du développement des communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire (12,5 %)

La BDC a un plan d'action concernant l'application de l'article 41 qui porte sur le développement des communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire.

Le développement des communautés de LO en situation minoritaire fait partie intégrante du mode de fonctionnement de la BDC. Les directeurs de comptes locaux de la BDC créent des réseaux de clients commerciaux et d'organisations locales (y compris des groupes d'entreprises vouées aux communautés linguistiques minoritaires) concernant les possibilités de développement des entreprises. Au niveau supérieur, les vice-présidents mènent également des consultations à Ottawa, au Nouveau-Brunswick, au Québec (et en Colombie-Britannique en 2004) avec des organisations vouées aux LO minoritaires.

Dans les régions où existe une clientèle de langue officielle considérable, des plans officiels sont en place à l'échelle locale pour joindre les entreprises de la communauté linguistique minoritaire. Au nombre des exemples, mentionnons le Manitoba où les directeurs de comptes francophones ont établi des relations plus approfondies avec les principales entreprises francophones de la province (Conseil de développement économique des municipalités bilingues du Manitoba, Chambre de commerce de Saint-Boniface, Caisses populaires du Manitoba, Club des hommes d'affaires et Corporations de développement communautaire) en faisant une promotion active des services de la BDC, en participant à leurs activités et en maintenant des contacts fréquents.

À Vancouver, un des directeurs de comptes est membre de la Chambre de commerce francophone. Il a également établi des liens avec le dirigeant de Éducacentre, qui offre de l'aide aux entrepreneurs francophones. Durant la Semaine de la petite entreprise, la succursale fait de la publicité dans le répertoire francophone ainsi que dans L'Express du Pacifique.

Le siège social se charge de presque toute la publicité, mais il arrive que des succursales placent elles mêmes des messages publicitaires ou autres. La « trousse de survie » rappelle la politique du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor, qui est d'assurer en tout temps une place équivalente aux deux langues. La Direction des affaires publiques de la BDC a un plan de publicité national et gère un budget publicitaire annuel pour le placement bilingue. Dans le cadre de sa campagne de publicité nationale, la BDC continuera de placer, partout au pays, des messages publicitaires dans la presse de la communauté linguistique minoritaire; elle continuera d'accroître sa visibilité auprès des communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire au moyen de la publicité télévisée sur RDI, Newsworld, CBC et Radio-Canada.

Les succursales locales ont des plans officiels pour joindre les représentants des communautés linguistiques minoritaires. Par exemple, au Québec, le groupe-conseil de la BDC a présenté diverses conférences d'une journée à l'intention de la communauté anglophone. Ces conférences ont été offertes conjointement avec le ministère du Développement économique régional et comprenaient des ateliers sur différents sujets comme le marketing stratégique et le passage à la norme ISO 9000:2000.

b) La planification stratégique ainsi que l'élaboration de politiques et de programmes tiennent compte de la promotion de la dualité linguistique (12,5 %)

Selon le plan d'action axé sur les résultats concernant la mise en oeuvre de l'article 41 de la LLO, la BDC intègre la mise en oeuvre de la partie VII, qui porte sur la promotion de l'anglais et du français dans ses activités quotidiennes, son mandat et ses activités organisationnelles. Que ce soit par l'entremise du développement des affaires, l'adhésion à des associations, des partenariats, des services financiers et des groupes de consultation, la BDC maintient une présence active à l'échelle nationale à l'égard des deux groupes linguistiques.

La BDC considère sa capacité de fonctionner dans les deux langues officielles comme un avantage commercial concurrentiel qui, par conséquent, favorise la dualité linguistique.

Les dirigeants reconnaissent l'importance de la promotion de la dualité linguistique, comme l'indique le plan d'action axé sur les résultats concernant la mise en oeuvre de l'article 41 de la LLO. Un certain nombre de séances sur le sujet ont été offertes aux dirigeants qui, de leur côté, diffuseront l'information à leurs employés.

Le Service des affaires publiques au siège social est principalement responsable de placer les annonces publicitaires dans divers médias et d'assurer l'égalité des deux LO.

En 2004-2005, la succursale de Halifax a versé 5 000 $ au Congrès mondial acadien et une autre somme de 5 000 $ à French for the Future/Le français pour l'avenir dont les objectifs visent à assurer le bilinguisme et à célébrer la culture francophone.

NOTE GLOBALE