APPENDIX A - Audit objectives and criteria

Page 6 of 8

OBJECTIVES CRITERIA
  1. Ensure that Parks Canada senior management is committed to implementing Part IV of the Official Languages Act in order to provide visitors with services of equal quality in both official languages.
  1. Verify that Parks Canada has an official languages accountability framework.

  2. Verify that Parks Canada’s official languages action plan allows for the effective implementation of Part IV of the Official Languages Act with respect to services provided to visitors at national parks, national marine conservation areas and national historic sites, in person, by telephone, in writing, via electronic systems (including the Internet and social media) and through videos.

  3. Verify that Parks Canada has an official languages policy (or guidelines) that takes into account all of the components relating to services to the public, that is approved by senior management and that is in compliance with the Official Languages Act and the Official Languages (Communications with and Services to the Public) Regulations.

  4. Verify that Parks Canada is effective in informing all employees assigned to provide services at various sites, either in person or by telephone, about the requirements regarding service delivery in both official languages.

  5. Verify that the training modules for Parks Canada employees include the Agency’s obligations and employees’ responsibilities pertaining to official languages.

  6. Verify that Parks Canada takes official languages into account in the performance evaluations of senior executives, managers and employees with service delivery responsibilities.

  7. Verify that partnership agreements with various governments and contracts negotiated with third parties take Parks Canada’s language obligations into account.
  1. Ensure that Parks Canada provides the active offer and services of equal quality in English and French to the public at all of its sites. Ensure that the provision of bilingual services is planned effectively.
  1. Verify that Parks Canada actively offers and provides services in both official languages at national parks, national marine conservation areas and national historic sites. Verify that the services provided in person, by telephone, in writing, via electronic systems (including the Internet and social media) and through videos are of equal quality in English and French.

  2. Verify that the bilingual skills of employees at all Parks Canada sites are sufficient to ensure the provision of services of equal quality in English and French.
  1. Ensure that Parks Canada consults representatives of official language minority communities in the various regions and takes the results into consideration when planning for the provision of bilingual services.
  1. Verify that Parks Canada has initiated an internal reflection process in order to consider the impact of the DesRochers decision on its programs and on how it plans for the provision of bilingual services, and identify how it consults with representatives of official language minority communities in all provinces to determine their service needs and how these communities are informed of the Agency’s decisions.
  1. Ensure that Parks Canada is effectively monitoring the quality of service delivery in both official languages at all of its service points.
  1. Verify that Parks Canada has effective monitoring mechanisms (including internal auditing) to ensure that all of its services are of equal quality in both official languages.

  2. Verify that the results of the monitoring are used in service quality management in order to ensure continued improvement and tangible results.


Previous Page | Table of Contents | Next Page

ANNEXE A - Objectifs et critères de la vérification

Page 6 de 8

OBJECTIFS CRITÈRES
  1. S’assurer que la haute gestion de Parcs Canada s’est engagée à ce que la partie IV de la Loi sur les langues officielles soit mise en œuvre de façon à offrir aux visiteurs des services de qualité égale dans les deux langues officielles.
  1. Vérifier si Parcs Canada possède un cadre de responsabilisation en matière de langues officielles.

  2. Vérifier si le plan d’action de Parcs Canada en matière de langues officielles permet la mise en œuvre efficace de la partie IV de la Loi sur les langues officielles en ce qui a trait aux services offerts aux visiteurs aux parcs nationaux, aux aires marines nationales de conservation et aux lieux historiques nationaux, que ce soit en personne, au téléphone, par écrit, par vidéo ou par voie électronique (y compris le site Web et les médias sociaux).

  3. Vérifier si Parcs Canada a une politique sur les langues officielles (ou des lignes directrices) qui tient compte de toutes les composantes liées au service au public, qui a été approuvée par la haute gestion et qui est conforme à la Loi sur les langues officielles et à son règlement d’application.

  4. Vérifier si Parcs Canada communique efficacement les exigences en matière de prestation de services dans les deux langues officielles au personnel assigné à la prestation des services offerts aux divers lieux, en personne et au téléphone.

  5. Vérifier si les modules de formation destinés au personnel de Parcs Canada incluent les obligations de l’Agence et les responsabilités des employés en matière de langues officielles.

  6. Vérifier si Parcs Canada tient compte des langues officielles dans les évaluations de rendement de ses cadres supérieurs, de ses gestionnaires et des employés qui ont des responsabilités en matière de prestation de services.

  7. Vérifier si les ententes de partenariat conclues avec les différents gouvernements et les contrats signés avec des tiers tiennent compte des obligations linguistiques de Parcs Canada.
  1. S’assurer que Parcs Canada fait l’offre active et fournit au public des services de qualité égale en français et en anglais à tous les lieux. S’assurer que l’aménagement des services bilingues est efficace.
  1. Vérifier si Parcs Canada offre activement et assure des services dans les deux langues officielles aux parcs nationaux, aux aires marines nationales de conservation et aux lieux historiques nationaux. Vérifier si les services offerts en personne, au téléphone, par écrit, par vidéos et par voie électronique (y compris Internet et les médias sociaux) sont de qualité égale en français et en anglais.

  2. Vérifier si la capacité bilingue des employés aux différents lieux de Parcs Canada est suffisante et permet de fournir des services de qualité égale en français et en anglais.
  1. S’assurer que Parcs Canada consulte les représentants des communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire des différentes régions et qu’elle tient compte des résultats de ces consultations dans l’aménagement de ses services bilingues.
  1. Vérifier si Parcs Canada a effectué une réflexion à l’interne pour tenir compte des répercussions du jugement DesRochers sur ses propres programmes et sur l’aménagement des services bilingues, et déterminer de quelle façon l’Agence consulte les représentants des communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire dans toutes les provinces pour connaître leurs besoins en matière de services et comment elle les informe des décisions prises.
  1. S’assurer que Parcs Canada surveille, de manière efficace, son rendement en matière de prestation de services de qualité égale dans les deux langues à tous les lieux.
  1. Vérifier si Parcs Canada possède des mécanismes de contrôle efficaces (dont la vérification interne) pour veiller à ce que l’ensemble de ses services soit de qualité égale dans les deux langues officielles.

  2. Vérifier si les résultats de la surveillance sont utilisés dans la gestion de la qualité du service en vue d’une amélioration continue et de résultats tangibles.


Page précédente | Table des matières | Page suivante