INTRODUCTION

Page 3 of 8

Parks Canada Agency, which has reported to Parliament since 1998 through the Minister of Environment, protects and promotes significant representations of Canada’s natural and cultural heritage. Responsible for one of the world’s largest networks of heritage sites, it fosters public understanding, appreciation and enjoyment of Canada’s cultural heritage in ways that ensure the ecological and commemorative integrity of these places for present and future generations. Parks Canada provides meaningful recreational and educational experiences to millions of visitors. The Agency has a duty to ensure that the public can communicate with it in English or French at its headquarters as well as in all national parks, national marine conservation areas and national historic sites in Canada. This requirement is set out in paragraphs 9 (a), (b) and (c) of the Official Languages (Communications with and Services to the Public) Regulations under the Official Languages Act.

In 2011, Parks Canada celebrated its 100th anniversary. On May 19, 1911, the Government of Canada created the Dominion Parks Branch, which later became Parks Canada. Over the years, the Agency has been a part of Indian Affairs and Northern Affairs Canada and Canadian Heritage. Our audit was timely because there were many festivities planned across Canada to celebrate the Agency’s centennial.

Parks Canada, which has some 4,000 employees, manages 43 national parks, 167 national historic sites and 4 national marine conservation areas. In 2009–2010, the Agency welcomed close to 21 million visitors to its sites. It has a highly decentralized organizational structure, including 4 service centres and 33 field units across Canada, where a large number of employees hold seasonal positions, which brings its own challenges.

Our research revealed that the Agency has some difficulty when it comes to providing service to the public. Parks Canada needs to understand the changing recreational patterns of Canadians and visitors from abroad in order to provide meaningful experiences in innovative and interactive ways. It must also maintain or restore the ecological and commemorative integrity of the sites while offering its visitors educational programs and activities that cultivate understanding. Specifically, in 2005, the Minister of the Environment asked Parks Canada to invest in public education and the enhancement of visitor experiences in order to create a broader culture of conservation. Responding to this demand, the Agency underwent a major restructuring and created the External Relations and Visitor Experience Directorate in 2005. Activities carried out by the new directorate help the Agency to better understand and serve the interests of Canadians, to provide opportunities for relevant and educational experiences, and to coordinate outreach efforts more effectively to foster personal relationships between Canadians and their heritage sites. To meet these objectives, Parks Canada established service standards, detailed in Parks Canada Service – Quality Service Standards for You, which were communicated to all personnel. We were told that the restructuring had resulted in extensive work on job classification, including the development of generic work descriptions and a review of language requirements of positions.

The Agency delivers its mandate through a program activity architecture composed of six main activities. The program activity architecture is the structure used by the Agency to present its corporate plan and to report to Parliament and to Canadians. The Agency’s core programs work to establish heritage places, conserve heritage resources, promote public appreciation and understanding, and enhance visitor experience. The Agency and its partners provide opportunities for enhanced visitor experiences by setting the stage for visitors to enjoy meaningful, high-quality experiences through the provision of information, infrastructure and facilities, and through programs, services and personnel that respond to visitor needs and expectations.

The Agency indicated that its core programs are linked by many interconnected priorities and expected results. These programs form the platform on which Parks Canada defines its contribution to federal sustainable development goals.

Audit objectives and legislative framework

Although Parks Canada has a number of obligations under the Act, our audit focused mainly on Part IV, communications with and services to the public in both official languages in national parks, national marine conservation areas and national historic sites. The purpose of the Act is to ensure respect for English and French as the official languages of Canada, their equality of status, and equal rights and privileges as to their use in all federal institutions. The Act also guarantees the right of the public to have equal access to services of equal quality in both official languages. This obligation applies to the Agency’s headquarters as well as its entire network. Parks Canada is required to meet its obligations under the Act and under paragraphs 9 (a), (b) and (c) of the Official Languages (Communications with and Services to the Public) Regulations, among others. To do this, Parks Canada must implement the policies and practices relevant to its mandate.

Parks Canada is also subject to section 25 of the Act, which concerns services provided by third parties on its behalf. This obligation means that the institution is required to verify that organizations or businesses that provide service to the public or that communicate with members of the public on behalf of Parks Canada do so while fully complying with the requirements of Part IV of the Act. Parks Canada must ensure that third parties, including cooperating associations,1 concession holders and organizations that manage national historic sites, communicate with the public and provide their services in both official languages as if they were the institution itself.

Methodology

Our audit was carried out in compliance with the standards set forth in the Office of the Commissioner of Official Languages’ external audit policy. The results are specific to this audit and do not preclude the possibility that other problems could exist within the institution.

Our audit involved an analysis of all the activities related to bilingual service delivery in order to verify the Agency’s compliance with Part IV of the Act. The objectives of the audit were to examine whether Parks Canada senior management was committed to implementing Part IV of the Act in order to provide visitors with services of equal quality in English and French; whether front-line personnel at all sites provided the active offer and services of equal quality in both official languages to the public in person, by telephone, in writing, via electronic systems (including the Internet and social media) and through videos; whether the Agency consulted representatives of official language minority communities in the various regions when developing its programs and activities and took the specific needs of these communities into account when planning for the provision of bilingual services; and whether the Agency effectively monitored the quality of its service delivery in both official languages in all national parks, national marine conservation areas and national historic sites.

We began the audit at Parks Canada headquarters and then conducted on-site visits and made observations of service provided by telephone from June to October 2011. During our audit, we made scheduled visits to 13 national parks, 2 national marine conservation areas and 18 national historic sites in 10 provinces. We also visited seven sites that were not part of the scheduled visits. We made observations of service provided by telephone among the 40 sites visited. These sites are listed in Appendix B. It is our opinion that this audit allowed us to present an overall picture of bilingual service delivery for Parks Canada visitors.

Over the course of the audit, we conducted 120 interviews with Parks Canada staff, including the Official Languages Champion, the researcher and program analyst at the National Resourcing Programs Unit who is responsible for coordinating activities related to the Agency’s official languages program, senior executives, managers, team leaders, Visitor Services interpreters and attendants, and lock keepers who work in the national parks, national marine conservation areas and national historic sites. We also interviewed Parks Canada’s official languages specialist at the Western and Northern Service Centre, as well as representatives of official language minority communities in the provinces.

We then examined documents obtained from the National Resourcing Programs Unit—which is responsible for coordinating, monitoring and supporting programs related to the Act—including a business plan, a draft official languages action plan, policies, guidelines, service standards and the Hello! Bonjour! tool kit. We also examined documents collected during on-site visits, including numerous publications, organizational charts, memoranda of understanding, generic work descriptions, interpretive programs, official languages work tools, follow-up reports on the Visitor Information Program survey, visitor experience training material, annual official languages reviews submitted to the Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat, correspondence and performance agreements. We examined Parks Canada’s intranet, Web site, Facebook page, Twitter messages and YouTube videos.

Notes

1 Cooperating associations raise funds to promote a national park or national historic site.



Previous Page | Table of Contents | Next Page

INTRODUCTION

Page 3 de 8

L’Agence Parcs Canada, qui relève du Parlement par l’entremise du ministre de l’Environnement depuis 1998, protège et met en valeur des exemples représentatifs du patrimoine naturel et culturel du Canada. Responsable d’un des plus importants réseaux de lieux patrimoniaux au monde, elle favorise chez les Canadiens et les Canadiennes la connaissance, l’appréciation et la jouissance du patrimoine, de manière à en assurer l’intégrité écologique et commémorative pour les générations d’aujourd’hui et de demain. Parcs Canada offre à des millions de visiteurs des expériences de séjour et éducatives enrichissantes. L’Agence a l’obligation de s’assurer que le public peut communiquer avec elle en français ou en anglais à son siège social ainsi que dans tous les parcs nationaux, les aires marines nationales de conservation et les lieux historiques nationaux au Canada. Cette exigence est stipulée aux paragraphes 9 a) b) et c) du Règlement sur les langues officielles – communications avec le public et prestation des services afférents à la Loi sur les langues officielles.

En 2011, Parcs Canada a fêté son centième anniversaire. Le 19 mai 1911, le gouvernement avait créé la Direction des parcs du dominion, qui est devenu Parcs Canada. Au fil des années, l’Agence a fait partie du ministère des Affaires indiennes et du Nord Canada et de Patrimoine canadien. Notre vérification arrivait à point nommé puisque plusieurs festivités pour souligner le centenaire de l’Agence avaient été planifiées partout au Canada.

Parcs Canada, qui compte environ 4 000 employés, gère 43 parcs nationaux, 167 lieux historiques et 4 aires marines de conservation. En 2009-2010, l’Agence a reçu dans ses lieux près de 21 millions de visiteurs. Elle est dotée d’une structure organisationnelle fortement décentralisée, qui compte 4 centres de services et 33 unités de gestion à travers le Canada, où un bon nombre d’employés occupent des postes saisonniers, ce qui, nul doute, présente des défis.

Nos recherches nous ont permis d’apprendre que l’Agence connaissait des difficultés en ce qui a trait à la prestation des services au public. En effet, il lui faut comprendre l’évolution des tendances en matière de loisirs parmi les visiteurs canadiens et étrangers afin de leur offrir des expériences enrichissantes, novatrices et interactives, en plus de maintenir ou de rétablir l’intégrité écologique et commémorative des lieux. Ce faisant, l’Agence doit aussi offrir aux visiteurs des programmes de sensibilisation et des activités qui favorisent leur compréhension. Spécifiquement, en 2005, le ministre de l’Environnement avait demandé à Parcs Canada d’investir dans la sensibilisation du public et dans l’amélioration des expériences des visiteurs en vue de créer une culture générale de la conservation. Pour répondre à cette demande, l’Agence a procédé à une restructuration importante et a créé, en 2005, la Direction générale des relations externes et de l’expérience du visiteur. Les activités de cette nouvelle direction aident l’Agence à mieux comprendre et à mieux servir les intérêts des Canadiens et des Canadiennes, et à leur offrir des occasions de vivre des expériences pertinentes et éducatives, à mieux coordonner les efforts de sensibilisation de la population afin que celle-ci s’attache à ses lieux patrimoniaux. Pour atteindre ces objectifs, Parcs Canada s’est dotée de normes de service, détaillées dans le document Le service Parcs Canada – Normes de service de qualité pour vous, qui ont été communiquées à tout le personnel. Nous avons été informés que cette restructuration a mené, entre autres, à un travail exhaustif de classification des postes, qui a inclus l’élaboration de descriptions de travail génériques et l’examen des exigences linguistiques des postes.

L’Agence exécute son mandat au moyen d’une architecture des activités de programme (AAP) composée de six volets principaux. L’AAP est la structure utilisée par l’Agence pour présenter son plan d’entreprise et rendre des comptes au Parlement et aux Canadiens et Canadiennes. Les programmes de base de l’Agence visent les objectifs suivants : créer des lieux patrimoniaux, préserver les ressources patrimoniales, favoriser l’appréciation et la compréhension du public, améliorer les expériences des visiteurs. L’Agence et ses partenaires offrent à ces derniers la possibilité de vivre des expériences enrichissantes et de qualité en leur fournissant de l’information, des infrastructures et des installations, et en mettant à leur disposition des programmes, des services et du personnel qui répondent à leurs besoins et à leurs attentes.

L’Agence a indiqué que ses programmes de base ont en commun bon nombre de priorités et de résultats escomptés, qui sont étroitement liés. Ces programmes forment l’assise qui lui permet de définir sa contribution aux objectifs de développement durable du gouvernement fédéral.

Objectifs de la vérification et cadre législatif

Parcs Canada possède plusieurs obligations en vertu de la Loi sur les langues officielles. Toutefois, notre vérification portait essentiellement sur la partie IV de la Loi, à savoir les communications avec le public et la prestation des services offerts au public dans les deux langues officielles dans les parcs nationaux, les aires marines nationales de conservation et les lieux historiques nationaux. Un des objets de la Loi est d’assurer le respect du français et de l’anglais à titre de langues officielles du Canada, leur égalité de statut et l’égalité de droits et de privilèges quant à leur usage dans toutes les institutions fédérales. Elle garantit au public un accès égal ainsi que des services de qualité égale dans les deux langues officielles. Cette obligation s’applique à l’administration centrale ainsi qu’à tout le réseau de l’Agence. Parcs Canada doit notamment satisfaire à ses obligations découlant de la Loi sur les langues officielles ainsi qu’aux paragraphes 9 a) b) et c) du Règlement sur les langues officielles – communications avec le public et prestation des services afférent. Pour ce faire, Parcs Canada doit mettre en œuvre des politiques et des pratiques pertinentes dans le contexte de son mandat.

Par ailleurs, l’institution est assujettie à l’article 25 de la Loi, qui porte sur les services offerts par les tiers pour le compte de Parcs Canada. Cette obligation fait en sorte que l’institution est tenue de veiller à ce que les organismes ou les entreprises qui offrent des services au public ou communiquent avec lui pour son compte le font en respectant entièrement les exigences prévues par la partie IV de la Loi. Ainsi, Parcs Canada doit s’assurer que les tiers, comme des associations coopérantes1, des concessionnaires et des sociétés qui gèrent les lieux historiques nationaux, communiquent avec le public et offrent leurs services dans les deux langues officielles comme si l’institution en était l’émettrice ou la prestataire.

Méthodologie

La vérification a été menée conformément aux normes énoncées dans la politique de vérification externe du Commissariat aux langues officielles. Les résultats de la vérification sont ponctuels et n’excluent pas la possibilité qu’il puisse exister d’autres problèmes au sein de l’institution.

Notre vérification consistait à réaliser une analyse de l’ensemble des activités liées à la prestation des services bilingues dans le but de vérifier la conformité de l’Agence à la partie IV de la Loi. Elle visait à déterminer si la direction de Parcs Canada s’était engagée à l’égard de la mise en œuvre de la partie IV de la Loi, de façon à offrir aux visiteurs des services de qualité égale en français et en anglais; si le personnel de première ligne dans tous les lieux faisait l’offre active et fournissait au public des services de qualité égale dans les deux langues officielles en personne, au téléphone, par écrit, par l’entremise des systèmes électroniques (y compris le site Web et les médias sociaux) et les vidéos. Nous avons aussi vérifié si Parcs Canada consultait les représentants des communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire des différentes régions lorsqu’elle élabore ses programmes et ses activités et si l’Agence tenait compte des besoins particuliers de ces communautés au moment d’organiser l’aménagement de ses services bilingues. Enfin, nous avons vérifié si l’Agence surveillait, de manière efficace, la qualité de son rendement en matière de prestation de services dans les deux langues officielles dans la totalité des parcs nationaux, des aires marines nationales de conservation et des lieux historiques nationaux.

Nous avons entamé la vérification à l’administration centrale de Parcs Canada, puis effectué des visites sur place et des observations au téléphone de juin à octobre 2011. Au cours de notre vérification, nous avons effectué des visites planifiées dans 13 parcs nationaux, 2 aires marines nationales de conservation ainsi que dans 18 lieux historiques nationaux situés dans les dix provinces. Nous avons aussi effectué des observations au téléphone auprès des 40 lieux visités. Nous avons également visité sept endroits qui ne faisaient pas partie des visites planifiées. La liste des lieux visités est présentée à l’annexe B. Nous sommes d’avis que cette vérification nous permet de présenter un portrait global de la prestation des services bilingues aux visiteurs à Parcs Canada.

D’abord, au cours de la vérification, nous avons réalisé plus de 120 entrevues avec des employés de Parcs Canada, notamment avec le champion des langues officielles et la recherchiste et analyste de programmes à l’unité des Programmes nationaux de ressourcement, chargée de la coordination des activités liées au programme des langues officielles de l’Agence, avec des cadres supérieurs, des gestionnaires, des chefs d’équipe, ainsi qu’avec des interprètes et des préposés aux Services aux visiteurs et des éclusiers qui travaillent dans les parcs nationaux, les aires marines nationales de conservation et les lieux historiques nationaux. Nous avons aussi interviewé l’employée responsable des langues officielles au Centre de service de l’Ouest et du Nord de même que des représentants des communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire dans les provinces.

Par la suite, nous avons examiné des documents obtenus de l’unité des Programmes nationaux de ressourcement, qui est chargée de la coordination, de la surveillance, et du soutien aux programmes reliés à la Loi, à savoir un plan d’entreprise, une ébauche du plan d’action sur les langues officielles, des politiques, des lignes directrices, les normes de service et la trousse Bonjour!/Hello! Nous avons également examiné des documents recueillis lors des visites sur place – une multitude de publications, des organigrammes, des protocoles d’entente, des descriptions de travail génériques, des programmes d’interprétation, des outils de travail en matière de langues officielles, des rapports donnant suite au sondage du programme d’information aux visiteurs (Visitor Information Program), du matériel de formation relative à l’expérience du visiteur, des revues annuelles des langues officielles présentées au Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor, de la correspondance et des ententes de rendement. Nous avons aussi examiné le réseau intranet, le site Web, la page Facebook, les messages sur Twitter et les vidéos YouTube de Parcs Canada.

Notes

1 Les associations coopérantes s’occupent de ramasser des fonds afin de promouvoir un parc national ou un lieu historique national.



Page précédente | Table des matières | Page suivante