ARCHIVED - Appendix B: Complaints – Summary analysis and table

WarningThe Standard on Web Usability replaces this content. This content is archived because Common Look and Feel 2.0 Standards have been rescinded.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Page 12 of 15

From April 1, 2008, to March 31, 2009, the Office of the Commissioner of Official Languages received 785 complaints related to implementation of the Official Languages Act. Of those complaints, 606 (77%) were considered admissible because, in the Office of the Commissioner’s opinion, they related to an obligation set out in the Act, involved an institution subject to the Act and concerned a specific incident.

These complaints involved 74 federal institutions, particularly institutions that, because of their mandate, have frequent contact with the general public. The majority of these complaints (90%) were made by Francophones. More than half of the alleged infractions occurred in the National Capital Region or the Atlantic provinces. Table 1 presents the data by province and territory.

Of the 606 admissible complaints recorded this year, 63% involved language of service; 18%, language of work; 5%, the advancement of English and French; 12%, the language requirements of positions in the federal public service; and 1%, equitable participation.

Table 1 - Number of admissible complaints in 2008–2009, by province or territory and by category
Province or Territory Admissible
Complaints
Service
to the
Public
Language
of Work
Equitable
Participation
Advancement
of English
and French
Language
Requirements
Other
National Capital
Region (Ontario)
163 96 43 4 8 11 1
Ontario 105 72 22 2 2 5 2
Quebec 66 41 19 2 3 1
Nova Scotia 42 17 3 22
Manitoba 19 14 1 3 1
New Brunswick 49 22 9 1 1 16
National Capital
Region (Quebec)
67 36 10 13 8
Alberta 28 26 1 1
British colombia 22 19 1 2
Prince Edward Island 17 14 3
Saskatchewan 6 5 1
Newfoundland
and Labrador
7 6 1
Northwest
Territories
3 2 1
Yukon 1 1
Nunavut
Outside Canada 11 11
Total 606 382 107 11 29 71 6


Previous Page | Table of Contents | Next Page

ARCHIVÉE - Annexe B : Les plaintes - Analyse sommaire et tableau

AvertissementLa Norme sur la facilité d'emploi des sites Web remplace ce contenu. Cette page Web a été archivée parce que les Normes sur la normalisation des sites Internet 2.0 ont étés annulées.

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Page 12 de 15

Du 1er avril 2008 au 31 mars 2009, le Commissariat aux langues officielles a reçu 785 plaintes liées à la mise en œuvre de la Loi sur les langues officielles. De ces plaintes, 606 (77 p. 100) ont été jugées recevables parce que, de l’avis du Commissariat, elles se rapportaient à une obligation énoncée dans la Loi, mettaient en cause une institution assujettie à la Loi et concernaient un incident précis.

Ces plaintes concernaient 74 institutions fédérales, surtout des institutions qui, à cause de leur mandat, entretiennent des contacts fréquents avec le grand public. La majorité de ces plaintes (90 p. 100) proviennent de francophones. Plus de la moitié des infractions alléguées sont survenues dans la région de la capitale nationale ou dans les provinces de l’Atlantique. Le tableau 1 présente l’ensemble des données par province ou territoire.

Des 606 plaintes recevables enregistrées cette année, 63 p. 100 concernaient la langue de service; 18 p. 100, la langue de travail; 5 p. 100, la promotion du français et de l’anglais; 12 p. 100, les exigences linguistiques des postes de la fonction publique fédérale; et 1 p. 100, la participation équitable.

Tableau 1 - Nombre de plaintes recevables en 2008-2009, par province ou territoire et par catégorie
Province ou territoire Plaintes
recevables
Service
au public
Langue
de travail
Participation
équitable
Promotion du
français et
de l’anglais
Exigences
linguistiques
Autres
Région de la capitale
nationale (Ontario)
163 96 43 4 8 11 1
Ontario 105 72 22 2 2 5 2
Québec 66 41 19 2 3 1
Nouvelle-Écosse 42 17 3 22
Manitoba 19 14 1 3 1
Nouveau-Brunswick 49 22 9 1 1 16
Région de la capitale
nationale (Québec)
67 36 10 13 8
Alberta 28 26 1 1
Colombie-Britannique 22 19 1 2
Île-du-Prince-Édouard 17 14 3
Saskatchewan 6 5 1
Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador 7 6 1
Territoires du
Nord-Ouest
3 2 1
Yukon 1 1
Nunavut
À l’extérieur du Canada
11 11
Total 606 382 107 11 29 71 6


Page précédente | Table des matières | Page suivante