ARCHIVED - CHAPTER IV - PART 1: OVERVIEW OF THE IMPLEMENTATION OF THE OFFICIAL LANGUAGES ACT

WarningThe Standard on Web Usability replaces this content. This content is archived because Common Look and Feel 2.0 Standards have been rescinded.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Page 18 of 25

THE COMMISSIONER’S TOOLS FOR ENSURING COMPLIANCE

The Commissioner uses a variety of means to ensure compliance with the Official Languages Act, assess the performance of federal institutions and respond to complaints and questions from the public about official languages. The tools presented in this section allow the Commissioner to obtain an overall portrait of how federal institutions fulfil—and understand—their official languages obligations, and what areas require stronger leadership from administrators to fully respect the letter and spirit of the Act. They also provide him with the necessary information to help him decide where proactive and preventive interventions might be valuable, whether to address or prevent a particular problem or to improve an institution’s performance.

The Commissioner takes preventive action by intervening when a given institution may have to take certain measures in response to a systemic problem or to prevent situations of noncompliance. The Commissioner can also intervene on his own initiative when he is informed by the public or the media of a possible infraction before a complaint is filed. Each year, the Commissioner also audits a number of federal institutions to better understand particular problem areas related to the implementation of the Act and to obtain public commitments from senior officials in these institutions to improve those areas where gaps were identified. The Commissioner reviews the performance of several institutions and issues annual report cards that assess the institutions’ performance with key areas of the Act. As language ombudsman, the Commissioner responds to requests for information about official languages from Canadians and investigates complaints regarding the implementation of the Act. Finally, when an institution does not take the necessary measures to follow up on the Commissioner’s recommendations or in other circumstances deemed appropriate, he may seek leave to intervene before the courts in actions undertaken by a complainant. This power is exercised when most other available options have run out or when the action raises important legal questions regarding the interpretation of the Act.

The information gathered through this range of interventions is brought together and analyzed to obtain a broader portrait of the official languages environment and compliance issues of a given year. It also allows the Commissioner to work strategically with certain institutions in a spirit of prevention and collaboration.

OVERALL PORTRAIT FOR 2007–2008

Complaints received in 2007–2008

Between April 1, 2007, and March 31, 2008, the Office of the Commissioner of Official Languages received 884 complaints from the public regarding the implementation of the Official Languages Act. When a complaint is first received under the current process, a decision is made as to whether it is considered admissible.

A complaint is admissible when it meets the following criteria: it relates to an obligation set forth in the Act, it involves an institution subject to the Act and it concerns a specific incident. Of the 884 complaints received in 2007–2008, a total of 634, or 72%, were deemed admissible. This year, a total of 86 institutions were the subject of the 634 admissible complaints that the Commissioner examined. Of these complaints, more than half implicated only ten institutions. Not all the investigations that determine whether or not the complaints are founded5 have been completed. Still, the large number of complaints received for so few institutions is indicative of which institutions must show stronger leadership in the coming year to improve their compliance with the Act. Most of these institutions are in frequent contact with the general public, therefore, they must pay special attention to their obligations under the Act and the language rights of the public they serve. The Commissioner expects these institutions to take action to address the key issues that led to such a large number of complaints.

TABLE 1
THE 10 INSTITUTIONS SUBJECT TO THE GREATEST NUMBER
OF ADMISSIBLE COMPLAINTS IN 2007–2008
INSTITUTION NUMBER OF
ADMISSIBLE COMPLAINTS
Air Canada 86
Canada Post 46
Service Canada 43
Canada Revenue Agency 28
National Defence 28
Canada Border Services Agency 25
Canadian Air Transport Security Authority 20
Royal Canadian Mounted Police 20
Citizenship and Immigration Canada 18
Public Works and Government Services Canada 17
Total 331

The majority of admissible complaints in 2007–2008 were filed by Francophones (91%), and over half of the alleged infractions occurred in either the National Capital Region (NCR) or in the Atlantic provinces. Some 13% of the complaints filed by Francophones were against offices located in Quebec, but outside the NCR.

In terms of complaint categories, more than twothirds (68%) of admissible complaints this year involved language of service, 18% involved language of work, 6% involved the advancement of English and French, 6% involved language requirements for positions in the federal public service and 2% involved equitable participation. The results of further analysis of some of these categories, including trends, follow.

Table 2 presents the number of admissible complaints filed in 2007–2008 broken down by province or territory and by category.

TABLE 2
NUMBER OF ADMISSIBLE COMPLAINTS IN 2007–2008 BY PROVINCE OR TERRITORY
AND BY CATEGORY
PROVINCE
OR TERRITORY
ADMISSIBLE
COMPLAINTS
SERVICE TO
THE PUBLIC
LANGUAGE
OF WORK
EQUITABLE
PARTICIPATION
ADVANCEMENT
OF ENGLISH
AND FRENCH
LANGUAGE
REQUIREMENTS
OTHER
National Capital
Region (Ontario)
167 105 37 4 10 10 1
Ontario 95 80 10 - 5 - -
Quebec 90 56 25 4 4 1 -
Nova Scotia 58 40 4 1 1 11 1
Manitoba 50 34 2 1 12 1 -
New Brunswick 49 19 15 1 1 13 -
National
Capital
Region (Quebec)
33 12 17 1 - 3 -
Alberta 27 27 - - - - -
British Columbia 22 22 - - - - -
Prince
Edward
Island
16 14 1 - 1 - -
Outside
Canada
9 9 - - - - -
Saskatchewan 7 7 - - - - -
Newfoundland
and Labrador
5 4 1 - - - -
Yukon 3 2 - - 1 - -
Northwest
Territories
3 1 - - 1 - 1
Nunavut  - - - - - - -
TOTAL 634 432 112 12 36 39 3
Trends in admissible complaints over the last three years

Although a snapshot of the complaints filed over the year provides important information about compliance issues, looking at trends over a longer period may provide a broader—and sometimes more revealing—portrait of the compliance environment. Table 3 presents certain trends in admissible complaints filed over the last three years as measured by a variety of indicators.

TABLE 3
TRENDS IN ADMISSIBLE COMPLAINTS FILED OVER THE LAST THREE YEARS
INDICATOR TREND OVERVIEW
Total number of
admissible complaints
Decrease In the last three years, the total number of admissible complaints has decreased by 9%, reaching its lowest level in the past decade. This may be due in part to the impact of the Commissioner’s evaluations of the performance of institutions, and the emergence of new mechanisms to resolve complaints within federal institutions. The Commissioner will examine this trend in greater detail over the coming year.
Region where
the alleged
infraction occurred
Some change For the past three years, the National Capital Region has consistently been the region where the highest number of alleged infractions have occurred. While it is interesting to note that there has been a 31% drop in the number of complaints from the Atlantic region in the last three years, this change was partly offset by an increase in both Ontario and Quebec.
Category of
the complaint
No change Service to the public has consistently been the subject of the highest number of admissible complaints over the last three years, averaging 62% of all admissible complaints. Language of work comes in second, followed by language requirements for positions in the federal public service and the advancement of English and French.
The 10 institutions
subject to the
greatest number of
admissible complaints
Some change Over the last three years, the 10 institutions subject to the greatest number of admissible complaints have tended to be those that, by virtue of their mandate, have direct and regular contact with the public. Seven institutions have found themselves on this list three years in a row : Air Canada, Canada Post, the Canada Border Services Agency, the Canada Revenue Agency, Service Canada (in 2005-2006, complaints against Service Canada were listed under Human Ressources and Skills Development Canada), National Defence and Public Works and Government Services Canada.
2007–2008 report cards

This is the fourth year that the Office of the Commissioner of Official Languages issues report cards to a number of federal institutions. This year, the report cards evaluate the strengths and weaknesses of 38 federal institutions in terms of their various obligations under the Official Languages Act. The following paragraphs provide an overview of the findings. For more detailed information, consult the report cards for each institution on the Office of the Commissioner’s Web site at www.officiallanguages.gc.ca.

Report card methodology and changes made in 2007–2008

The performance of each federal institution that is examined is measured against 13 criteria. These criteria fall under one of the following five factors related to official languages obligations: program management, service to the public, language of work, equitable participation and the development of official language communities and the promotion of linguistic duality. Each of the 13 criteria is assigned a relative weight that serves to calculate an overall rating for a given institution. A number of different methods were used to evaluate institutions according to these criteria, including interviews, documents provided by the institutions, observations made in person and over the telephone, a survey Statistics Canada conducted on behalf of the Office of the Commissioner, other statistical data obtained from the Canada Public Service Agency and consultations with employees at the Office of the Commissioner who carried out investigations and audits.

A few changes were made to the report cards in 2007–2008. One institution, Air Canada, was added to the list of those evaluated, in an effort to help the Commissioner understand some of the recurring compliance issues that make this institution the subject of a consistently large number of complaints. As with all the institutions that are evaluated, the Commissioner hopes this exercise will help Air Canada to identify the areas where improvement is needed, take action to achieve better overall results and, more generally, show stronger leadership regarding its official languages obligations.

The evaluation criteria used to assess the development of official language communities and the promotion of linguistic duality were modified slightly again this year to reflect the amendments made to the Act by Parliament in 2005. As was the case last year, the Commissioner decided to use different criteria to evaluate the performance of designated and non-designated institutions6 for Part VII. Out of the 38 institutions evaluated, the Commissioner set stricter standards for the 19 designated institutions than he did for the 19 non-designated institutions. Designated institutions are accustomed to submitting action plans and reporting on the progress made on Part VII to Canadian Heritage while non-designated institutions are not. The criteria used this year to evaluate the development of official language communities and the promotion of linguistic duality have nonetheless been reinforced for nondesignated institutions, taking into account that they have now had over two years to adjust to the new legislative requirements. For example, where last year the Commissioner called for non-designated institutions to start developing an action plan, this year he requires them to have developed this tool. The Commissioner will be re-evaluating whether to continue using different criteria for designated and non-designated institutions for future report cards.

Focus on official languages management

One of the factors that the Commissioner examines in the report card exercise is overall management of the official languages program within federal institutions—a key factor when looking at leadership.

A sound official languages program is one that encompasses all of an institution’s obligations and commitments, such as: providing bilingual services to the public; maintaining a bilingual workplace; supporting the development of official language minority communities and; the promotion of linguistic duality. This means, for example, having an accountability framework that sets out the roles and responsibilities of officials with regard to official languages, an official languages action plan, a highly visible official languages program and an effective mechanism for resolving complaints.

In the last three years, over threequarters of the federal institutions that are evaluated improved their ratings in this category, a result that demonstrates a higher degree of mobilization in favour of official languages. While the Commissioner sees this as a positive sign, he nonetheless notes that this improvement is not always reflected in concrete results when the official languages program is implemented. It is important to closely examine the institutions’ results in other categories to determine the effect that sound program management has on Canadians.

The detailed rating guide, which describes the methodology used to evaluate the institutions, can be found on the Office of the Commissioner’s Web site at www.officiallanguages.gc.ca.

Presentation of results

As in previous years, the institutions that were evaluated are grouped into three portfolios according to their general mandate: economy; transport and security; and social, cultural or other. The results are given as letters that correspond to the following scale:

A – Exemplary
B – Good
C – Fair
D – Poor
E – Very poor

As in the past, a subtotal rating is given for each factor that is evaluated, as well as an overall rating for performance.

When a specific problem has been identified in an institution following recommendations made by the Commissioner, a penalty may be applied to the relevant factor of that institution’s report card. In these cases, a penalty of 2% is applied if the problem is being solved, or a penalty of 5% is applied if the Commissioner believes that there is a lack of significant progress.

The results of the 2007–2008 report card exercise are presented in the following tables.

Notes

5 A complaint is considered founded when the Commissioner determines that an infraction of the Act has occured.

6 “Designated institutions” refers to the federal departments and organizations named in the 1994 Accountability Framework regarding the implementation of sections 41 and 42 of the Act as being key institutions that have a significant impact on the development of official language minority communities. While non-designated institutions still have obligations under the Act, they do not have to report on their progress to Canadian Heritage. For a complete list of the 32 currently designated institutions, see www.pch.gc.ca/progs/lo-ol/ci-ic/inst_e.cfmGovernment site.



Previous Page | Table of Contents | Next Page

ARCHIVÉE - CHAPITRE IV - PARTIE 1 : SURVOL DE LA MISE EN ŒUVRE DE LA LOI SUR LES LANGUES OFFICIELLES

AvertissementLa Norme sur la facilité d'emploi des sites Web remplace ce contenu. Cette page Web a été archivée parce que les Normes sur la normalisation des sites Internet 2.0 ont étés annulées.

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Page 18 de 25

LES OUTILS D’ASSURANCE DE LA CONFORMITÉ À LA DISPOSITION DU COMMISSAIRE

Le commissaire a recours à divers moyens pour s’assurer de la conformité à la Loi sur les langues officielles, évaluer le rendement des institutions fédérales et répondre aux plaintes et aux questions du grand public au sujet des langues officielles. Les outils présentés dans cette section lui permettent d’avoir une vue d’ensemble de la façon dont les institutions fédérales remplissent – et comprennent – leurs obligations en matière de langues officielles. Ils servent également à cerner les domaines dans lesquels les administrateurs doivent faire preuve d’un plus grand leadership afin de pleinement respecter l’esprit et la lettre de la Loi. En outre, ces outils lui permettent d’obtenir l’information nécessaire pour décider s’il lui faut recourir à des interventions proactives, régler ou prévenir un problème spécifique, ou encore chercher à améliorer le rendement d’une institution.

Le commissaire intervient de façon préventive lorsqu’une institution doit adopter certaines mesures pour régler un problème systémique ou prévenir des situations de non-respect. Il peut aussi intervenir de son propre chef, avant le dépôt d’une plainte, lorsqu’il est mis au courant, par un citoyen ou un représentant des médias, d’une infraction possible. De plus, chaque année, le commissaire effectue des vérifications auprès d’un certain nombre d’institutions fédérales pour mieux comprendre les problèmes spécifiques reliés à la mise en œuvre de la Loi et obtenir des engagements publics de la part de leurs cadres supérieurs afin d’améliorer les domaines où des lacunes ont été décelées. Le commissaire examine le rendement d’institutions et prépare des bulletins de rendement annuels qui font état de la conformité des institutions fédérales aux éléments importants de la Loi. À titre d’ombudsman des langues officielles, le commissaire répond aux demandes d’information des Canadiens et des Canadiennes au sujet des langues officielles et enquête sur des plaintes relatives à la mise en œuvre de la Loi. En dernier lieu, lorsqu’une institution ne prend pas les mesures nécessaires pour donner suite aux recommandations du commissaire, ou dans d’autres circonstances jugées appropriées, celui-ci peut demander l’autorisation d’intervenir devant les tribunaux dans des recours intentés par un plaignant. Il exerce ce pouvoir lorsque la plupart des autres options ont été épuisées ou que l’affaire en cause soulève d’importantes questions de droit portant sur l’interprétation de la Loi.

L’information recueillie au moyen de cet ensemble d’interventions est analysée dans le but d’obtenir une vue globale de l’environnement des langues officielles et des problèmes de conformité pour une année précise. Elle permet aussi au commissaire de travailler de façon stratégique avec certaines institutions, dans un esprit de prévention et de collaboration.

UNE VUE D’ENSEMBLE EN 2007-2008

Les plaintes reçues en 2007-2008

Du 1er avril 2007 au 31 mars 2008, le Commissariat aux langues officielles a reçu du public 884 plaintes relatives à la mise en œuvre de la Loi sur les langues officielles. Suivant le processus actuel, lorsqu’une plainte est reçue, on procède d’abord à déterminer si elle est recevable ou non. Une plainte est recevable lorsqu’elle répond aux critères suivants : elle se rapporte à une obligation énoncée dans la Loi; elle met en cause une institution assujettie à la Loi, et elle concerne un incident précis. En 2007-2008, sur les 884 plaintes reçues, 634, soit 72 p. 100, ont été jugées recevables.

Cette année, les 634 plaintes recevables examinées par le commissaire concernaient 86 institutions; plus de la moitié ne visaient que dix institutions.

Les enquêtes ayant pour but de déterminer si les plaintes étaient fondées5 n’ont pas toutes été menées à terme. Il n’en reste pas moins que le grand nombre de plaintes reçues pour si peu d’institutions met en relief celles qui doivent faire preuve d’un plus grand leadership au cours de la prochaine année en vue de mieux respecter la Loi. La plupart de ces institutions sont fréquemment en contact avec le grand public. En conséquence, elles doivent prêter une attention particulière à leurs obligations en vertu de la Loi et aux droits linguistiques du public qu’elles servent. Le commissaire s’attend à ce que ces institutions prennent des mesures pour corriger les principaux problèmes à la source d’un si grand nombre de plaintes.

TABLEAU 1
LES DIX INSTITUTIONS VISÉES PAR LE PLUS GRAND NOMBRE DE PLAINTES RECEVABLES EN 2007-2008
INSTITUTION NOMBRE DE PLAINTES RECEVABLES
Air Canada 86
Postes Canada 46
Service Canada 43
Agence du revenu du Canada 28
Défense nationale 28
Agence des services frontaliers du Canada 25
Administration canadienne de la sûreté du transport aérien 20
Gendarmerie royale du Canada 20
Citoyenneté et Immigration Canada 18
Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada 17
Total 331

La majorité des plaintes recevables en 2007-2008 ont été déposées par des francophones (91 p. 100), et plus de la moitié des infractions alléguées se sont produites dans la région de la capitale nationale (RCN) ou dans les provinces de l’Atlantique. Environ 13 p. 100 des plaintes déposées par des francophones concernaient des bureaux situés au Québec, mais à l’extérieur de la RCN.

Pour ce qui est de la nature des plaintes recevables cette année, plus des deux tiers (68 p. 100) touchaient la langue de service, 18 p. 100, la langue de travail, 6 p. 100, la promotion du français et de l’anglais, 6 p. 100, les exigences linguistiques des postes de la fonction publique fédérale, et 2 p. 100, la participation équitable. Les résultats d’une analyse plus poussée de certaines de ces catégories, y compris les tendances, figurent ci-après.

Le tableau 2 présente le nombre de plaintes recevables déposées en 2007-2008, réparties par province ou territoire et par catégorie.

TABLEAU 2
LE NOMBRE DE PLAINTES RECEVABLES EN 2007-2008, PAR PROVINCE OU TERRITOIREET PAR CATÉGORIE
PROVINCE
OU TERRITOIRE
PLAINTES
RECEVABLES
SERVICE
AU PUBLIC
LANGUE
DE TRAVAIL
PARTICIPATION
ÉQUITABLE
PROMOTION DU
FRANÇAIS ET
DE L’ANGLAIS
EXIGENCES
LINGUISTIQUES
AUTRES
Région de la capitale
nationale (Ontario)
167 105 37 4 10 10 1
Ontario  95 80 10 - 5 - -
Québec 90 56 25 4 4 1 -
Nouvelle-Écosse  58 40 4 1 1 11 1
Manitoba 50 34 2 1 12 1 -
Nouveau-Brunswick  49 19 15 1 1 13 -
Région de la capitale
nationale (Québec)
33 12 17 1 - 3 -
Alberta  27 27 - - - - -
Colombie-
Britannique
22 22 - - - - -
Île-du-Prince
Édouard
16  14 1 - 1 - -
Saskatchewan  7 7 - - - - -
À l’extérieur
du Canada
9 9 - - - - -
Terre-Neuve-et-
Labrador
5 4 1 - - - -
Yukon  3 2 - - 1 - -
Territoires du
Nord-Ouest
3 1 - - 1 - 1
Nunavut  - - - - - - -
TOTAL 634 432 112 12 36 39 3
Les tendances relatives aux plaintes recevables au cours des trois dernières années

Si l’aperçu des plaintes déposées durant l’année fournit de l’information importante sur les problèmes de conformité, un examen des tendances sur une période plus longue donne une vue d’ensemble – et parfois plus révélatrice – de la situation en ce qui a trait à la conformité. Le tableau 3 présente certaines tendances dans les plaintes recevables déposées au cours des trois dernières années, évaluées en fonction de divers indicateurs.

TABLEAU 3
LES TENDANCES RELATIVES AUX PLAINTES RECEVABLES DÉPOSÉES AU COURSDES TROIS DERNIÈRES ANNÉES
INDICATEUR TENDANCE APERÇU
Nombre total de
plaintes recevables
Baisse Depuis trois ans, le nombre total de plaintes recevablesa diminué de 9 p. 100 pour atteindre le plus bas niveau de la dernière décennie. La baisse peut être attribuable, en partie, à l’impact des évaluations de rendement des institutions réalisées par le commissaire ainsi qu’à l’établissement de mécanismes de résolution des plaintes au sein des institutions fédérales. Le commissaire examinera en détail cette tendance au cours de la prochaine année.
Région où
a eu lieu
l’infraction alléguée
Certains
changements
Pour les trois dernières années, la région de la capitale nationale a été la région où a eu lieu le plus grand nombre d’infractions alléguées. S’il est intéressant de signaler une diminution de 31 p. 100 du nombre de plaintes provenant de la région de l’Atlantique pour la même période, cette baisse a été contrebalancée partiellement par une augmentation en Ontario et au Québec.
Catégorie de la plainte Aucun
changement
Le service au public a systématiquement fait l’objet du plus grand nombre de plaintes recevables au cours des trois dernières années, représentant en moyenne 62 p. 100 de toutes les plaintes recevables. La langue de travail vient en deuxième place, suivie des exigences linguistiques des postes de la fonction publique fédérale et de la promotion du français et de l’anglais.
Les dix institutions
visées par le plus
grand nombre de
plaintes recevables
Certains
changements
Ces trois dernières années, les dix institutions visées par le plus grand nombre de plaintes recevables tendent à être celles qui, en raison de leur mandat, sont directement et régulièrement en contact avec le public. Sept institutions se sont retrouvées sur cette liste trois années d’affilée : Air Canada, Postes Canada, l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada, l’Agence du revenu du Canada, Service Canada (en 2005-2006, les plaintes contre Service Canada étaient incluses dans les statistiques pour Ressources humaines et Développement des compétences Canada), la Défense nationale et Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada.
Les bulletins de rendement 2007-2008

Pour la quatrième année consécutive, le Commissariat aux langues officielles remet des bulletins de rendement à un certain nombre d’institutions fédérales. Cette année, les bulletins rendent compte des forces et des faiblesses de 38 institutions fédérales en ce qui concerne leurs diverses obligations en vertu de la Loi sur les langues officielles. Les paragraphes suivants donnent un aperçu des conclusions. Pour obtenir plus de précisions, veuillez consulter les bulletins de rendement de chaque institution sur le site Web du Commissariat, à www.languesofficielles.gc.ca.

La méthodologie utilisée pour produire les bulletins de rendement et les changements apportés en 2007-2008

Le rendement de chaque institution fédérale qui fait l’objet d’un examen est évalué en fonction de treize critères. Ces critères se rangent dans l’un des cinq facteurs suivants, liés aux obligations en matière de langues officielles : gestion du programme, service au public, langue de travail, participation équitable, et développement des communautés de langue officielle et promotion de la dualité linguistique. On attribue à chacun des critères une certaine valeur qui sert à calculer la note globale d’une institution. Plusieurs méthodes différentes ont été utilisées pour évaluer les institutions selon certains critères, notamment des entrevues, des documents fournis par les institutions, des observations faites sur place et au téléphone, une enquête effectuée par Statistique Canada au nom du Commissariat, des données statistiques provenant de l’Agence de la fonction publique du Canada et des consultations auprès des employés du Commissariat qui ont effectué des enquêtes et des vérifications.

Quelques changements ont été apportés aux bulletins de rendement 2007-2008. Entres autres, on a ajouté Air Canada à la liste des institutions évaluées dans le but d’aider le commissaire à comprendre certains des problèmes de conformité récurrents qui suscitent un grand nombre de plaintes. Comme pour toutes les institutions qui sont évaluées, le commissaire espère que cet exercice aidera Air Canada à cerner les domaines où il lui faut apporter des améliorations, à prendre des mesures pour obtenir un meilleur résultat global et, de façon plus générale, à renforcer son leadership à l’égard de ses obligations en matière de langues officielles.

Les critères utilisés pour évaluer l’appui au développement des communautés de langue officielle et la promotion de la dualité linguistique ont de nouveau été modifiés légèrement cette année pour tenir compte des modifications apportées à la Loi par le Parlement en 2005. Comme ce fut le cas l’an dernier, le commissaire a choisi d’utiliser des critères différents pour évaluer le rendement des institutions désignées et celui des institutions non désignées6 relativement à la partie VII. Des 38 institutions évaluées, le commissaire a fixé des normes plus strictes pour les 19 institutions désignées que pour les 19 institutions non désignées. Les institutions désignées sont habituées à soumettre à Patrimoine canadien des plans d’action et à lui rendre compte des progrès accomplis en ce qui concerne la partie VII, ce qui n’est pas le cas des institutions non désignées. Les critères utilisés cette année pour évaluer le développement des communautés de langue officielle et la promotion de la dualité linguistique ont quand même été renforcés pour les institutions non désignées étant donné qu’elles ont eu plus de deux ans pour s’adapter aux nouvelles exigences législatives.

Un regard sur la gestion des langues officielles

Un des facteurs qu’examine le commissaire dans l’exercise des bulletins de rendement est la gestion globale du Programme des langues officielles au sein des institutions fédérales – un facteur essentiel pour l’évaluation du leadership.

Un bon programme des langues officielles englobe l’ensemble des obligations et des engagements d’une institution, ce qui inclut la prestation de services bilingues au public, le maintien d’un milieu de travail bilingue ainsi que l’appui au développement des communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire et la promotion de la dualité linguistique. Cela signifie, par exemple, disposer d’un cadre de responsabilisation qui énonce les rôles et les responsabilités des autorités responsables des langues officielles, d’un plan d’action sur les langues officielles, d’un programme des langues officielles bien visible et d’un mécanisme efficace de résolution des plaintes.

Au cours des trois dernières années, plus des trois quarts des institutions fédérales évaluées ont amélioré leurs notes dans cette catégorie, un résultat qui révèle une meilleure mobilisation en faveur des langues officielles. Bien que le commissaire reconnaisse qu’il s’agit d’un signe positif, il souligne toutefois que cette amélioration ne se traduit pas toujours par des résultats concrets dans la mise en œuvre du Programme des langues officielles. C’est pourquoi il est important d’examiner attentivement les résultats des institutions dans d’autres catégories pour déterminer l’effet d’une saine gestion du Programme pour les Canadiens et les Canadiennes.

Par exemple, le commissaire a demandé l’an dernier aux institutions non désignées de commencer à élaborer un plan d’action; cette année, il exige que ce soit fait. Le commissaire réévaluera la nécessité d’utiliser des critères différents pour les institutions désignées et non désignées dans les futurs bulletins de rendement.

Le guide de notation détaillé, qui décrit la méthodologie utilisée pour évaluer les institutions, figure sur le site Web du Commissariat, à www.languesofficielles.gc.ca.

La présentation des résultats

Comme pour les années précédentes, les institutions qui ont été évaluées sont regroupées sous trois portefeuilles, selon leur mandat général : économie; transport et sécurité; et social, culturel et autre. Les résultats sont présentés au moyen de lettres, qui correspondent à l’échelle suivante :

A – Exemplaire

B – Bon

C – Moyen

D – Faible

E – Très faible

Comme par le passé, un sous-total est indiqué pour chaque facteur évalué et une note est attribuée pour le rendement global. Lorsqu’un problème particulier est identifié au sein d’une institution suite à des recommandations du commissaire, une pénalité peut être appliquée au facteur pertinent du bulletin de rendement de l’institution. Dans de telles situations, une pénalité de 2 p. 100 est appliquée si le problème est en voie de résolution, ou une pénalité de 5 p. 100 est appliquée si le commissaire constate qu’il y a absence de progrès significatifs.

Les résultats de l’exercice des bulletins de rendement en 2007-2008 sont présentés dans les tableaux suivants.

Notes

5 Une plainte est jugée fondée lorsque le commissaire détermine qu’une infraction à la Loi a été commise.

6 Le terme « institutions désignées » renvoie aux ministères et aux organismes fédéraux nommés dans le Cadre de responsabilisation de 1994 concernant la mise en œuvre des articles 41 et 42 de la Loi, et qui sont des institutions clés ayant une incidence importante sur le développement des communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire. Bien que les institutions non désignées aient toujours des obligations en vertu de la Loi, elles n’ont pas à rendre compte de leurs progrès à Patrimoine canadien. Pour obtenir la liste des 32 institutions actuellement désignées, voir www.pch.gc.ca/progs/lo-ol/ci-ic/inst_f.cfmSite du gouvernement.



Page précédente | Table des matières | Page suivante