An Anglophone preserves his Acadian heritage un mot at a time

(NC)—Donald DesRoches had no idea his ancestors were deported from Canada during the Acadian expulsion until finding his family name at the Grand-Pré National Historic SiteExternal site in Nova Scotia, which commemorates the Acadian deportation.

Donald Desroches and his family

“Although some people spoke French in my family, I never thought of myself as Acadian. I saw myself as a non-ethnic Canadian who spoke French. When I read the list of Acadian families that were deported, my eyes froze on the name DesRoches. My God, it was like discovering who I was! That was a defining moment,” he remembers.

Since then, he and his wife, Lorna Burke, an anglophone from Prince Edward Island, have created as French an environment as possible for their family.

“Even though Lorna and I are two anglophones, the language we met in, and the language we communicate in, has always been French. There was never a question what language we’d raise our children in!” The couple has worked hard to promote French in their home in Charlottetown, Nova Scotia, with a French-speaking babysitter, French DVDs–even a computer that runs on French software. “We would like our children to be fluent in both languages. Lorna and I had to work hard to learn a second language, and we now want to give that language to our children,” he says.

2009 marks the 40th anniversary of the Official Languages Act, which came into effect in 1969. “Placing value on Canada's two official languages is an investment in the future, from a professional, personal and cultural perspective,” says Commissioner of Official Languages, Graham Fraser.

There is more information available about official languages on the Office of the Commissioner’s Web site at www.officiallanguages.gc.ca/html/index_e.php.

- News Canada
Word Count: 278

Un anglophone préserve son héritage acadien, un mot à la fois

Donald Desroches et sa famille

(EN)—Donald DesRoches ignorait que ses ancêtres avaient été expulsés du Canada, au cours de la « déportation des Acadiens », avant de découvrir son nom de famille au lieu historique national de Grand-PréSite externe, en Nouvelle-Écosse, où est commémorée la déportation des Acadiens.

« Même si quelques personnes parlent français dans ma famille, je n’avais jamais pensé être Acadien. Je me considérais comme un Canadien d’origine parlant français. C’est pendant que je parcourais la liste des familles acadiennes déportées que mes yeux se sont arrêtés subitement sur le nom DesRoches. Mon Dieu, j’ai eu l’impression de découvrir qui j’étais! Ça a été un moment marquant », se souvient il.

Depuis, Donald et son épouse, Lorna Burke, une anglophone de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard, tentent de créer pour leur famille un environnement des plus francophones.

« Lorna et moi sommes anglophones. Pourtant, nous nous sommes rencontrés en français, et c’est toujours dans cette langue que nous communiquons entre nous. Nous ne nous sommes jamais demandé dans quelle langue nous allions élever nos enfants! » Le couple a travaillé dur pour mettre le français à l’honneur chez lui, à Charlottetown (Nouvelle-Écosse) : il a embauché une gardienne francophone, acheté des DVD en français et s’est même doté d’un ordinateur utilisant des logiciels en français. « Nous aimerions que nos enfants maîtrisent les deux langues. Lorna et moi avons pris les grands moyens pour apprendre une langue seconde, et nous voulons maintenant que nos enfants soient, eux aussi, bilingues. »

L’année 2009 marque le 40e anniversaire de la Loi sur les langues officielles. « Reconnaître la valeur des deux langues officielles du Canada est un investissement dans l’avenir, d’un point de vue tant professionnel que personnel et culturel », déclare le commissaire aux langues officielles, Graham Fraser.

Vous trouverez plus d’information sur les langues officielles dans le site Web du Commissariat aux langues officielles, à http://www.ocol-clo.gc.ca/html/index_f.php

- L’édition Nouvelles
Nombre de mots : 313