The first federal parliamentary committee exclusively responsible for studying official languages issues is created

In 1980, this committee includes members of the Senate and the House of Commons.

Today, two separate parliamentary committees study official languages issues: the Standing Senate Committee on Official Languages and the House of Commons Standing Committee on Official Languages.