St. Boniface is incorporated into the City of Winnipeg

St. Boniface ceases to exist as an independent city and becomes a ward in the Manitoban capital.

The City of Winnipeg Act amalgamated 13 rural and urban municipalities in the Winnipeg metropolitan area. The law governing the new unified City of Winnipeg, also called “Unicity,” guaranteed bilingual services in some parts of St. Boniface and St. Vital and in certain City of Winnipeg offices.

Saint-Boniface City Hall, MSB 0007