The Saskatchewan Act and the Alberta Act allow the limited use of French as a language of public instruction

Francophones of various origins settle in the newly created province of Saskatchewan, establishing numerous small villages.

French Canadians from the St. Lawrence River valley, many of whom had first settled in the United States, moved to the province under the direction of colonizing missionaries. In the new villages, they set up schools, parishes and businesses.

An almost equivalent number of Francophones from Europe (French, Belgian and Swiss) immigrated to Saskatchewan, joining the French Canadians or establishing their own villages.