New Brunswick marks a pivotal moment in the recognition of language rights

Under the leadership of Premier Louis Robichaud, the provincial government passes the Official Languages Act, making New Brunswick Canada’s first and only officially bilingual province.

The Act established English and French as the official languages of the legislature and government institutions of New Brunswick. It would be followed by numerous measures and other acts aimed at defining the province’s language policies.