February 22, 2016

More than 100 years after the passing of Regulation 17, the Government of Ontario apologizes to Franco-Ontarians

Ontario Premier Kathleen Wynne apologizes formally for this legislation.

Regulation 17 banned the use of French in Ontario schools from 1912 to 1927. The legislation had lasting impacts on the province’s French-speaking communities, whose rights were violated.

Denis Vaillancourt, President of the Assemblée de la francophonie de l’Ontario applauded the government’s apology, saying that that the gesture would help close the door on a black mark in Franco-Ontarian history.