The Department of the Secretary of State signs the first Canada-community agreement with the Fransaskois community

After Saskatchewan, other provinces and territories will also sign this type of agreement with the federal government.

The goal of these agreements was to encourage communities to manage their own development.

The agreements stipulated the funding that the Department of the Secretary of State would provide to enhance the development of the entire community and included mechanisms for distributing the funds among the various organizations based on specific community priorities.