September 1, 1905

Alberta and Saskatchewan join Confederation

Alberta becomes a province due in large part to the efforts of Sir Frederick William Alpin Gordon Haultain, a lawyer and member of the Council of the Northwest Territories and the Legislative Assembly of the Northwest Territories.

Sir Frederick’s original goal was to create a large western province called Buffalo. However, then prime minister Sir Wilfrid Laurier wanted to avoid giving too much power to Western Canada and therefore divided the West into two provinces: Alberta and Saskatchewan.